We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back fo sho!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Ranked #7 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This is a perfect hotel alternative!
This place is right on the beach, and has a bbq/dining area facing the ocean! Can't beat eating freshly caught grilled fish, drinking a few brews, and watching the sunset!
Our room was cute and had everything we needed while staying here including wifi!
Managers were super helpful, and had impeccable dining recommendations!
Will be back hopefully sooner then later!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMaxG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

I've stayed at the Kihei Kai several times, and was disappointed and disgusted this time. Lowlights include:

* The office was open for about 30 minutes in the morning on maybe 5 days during our two week stay
*The dishes in the cupboards had dried food on them! I had to soak them before I could clean the food off (not just on one or two dishes - all the bowls, plates, pans, silverware, and the cutting board!)
* The managers (who are supposed to live on the grounds in a condo above the office) have moved to a different location. They left their two adorable cats at the condo. There was a guy who came to feed them every other night, but we saw several other cats as well as birds eating their food.
*The woman in the office was very snotty when we asked her about the internet connection (and raised her voice to talk over us - RUDE!)
*The pool wasn't clean

The next time I'm in Maui, I'll be staying elsewhere - probably right next door.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SenoraDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

This is a quaint 22 unit complex. Only two condos are ocean front; the remainder have somewhat limited views. My wife and I enjoyed the small community atmosphere and stayed at these condos for many of the last 20 years. Unfortunately management has changed and for the worse. Some examples:
The managers no longer live at the complex. The office is open about an hour in the morning if they feel like coming in at all.

The pool was cleaned only once during our two week stay. At one point you couldn't even see the turtle mosaic in three feet of water.

The condo offers internet access. When I tried to connect there was no signal. I traced the problem to a frayed ethernet cable. When I went to the office (the next morning of course), I was told that the internet wasn't the manager's responsibility and I would have to call the cable company and wait for them to repair the issue. I bought an ethernet cable myself and solved the problem.

Our living room had six dead two-inch cockroaches in front of the slider when we checked in.

The lawnchairs were left in whatever position the guests or wind left them. They were never cleaned or tidied.

The bbq ran out of propane, but since the managers are no longer on site they had no way of knowing.

For about $20 a night more, you can have a stay in a complex with clean units and resident managers. We will not be back until these managers leave and I have evidence of real improvement!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilltheFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

My wife and I have stayed here 7 times. It is right on the beach and some units have water views. A/C in all the bedrooms and some units have in family room too. I'd recommend a 2nd floor unit. The complex is an older one; some units are remodeled, some are not, ask when making a reservation. We like to do lots of activities on various parts of the island. Kihei Kai's central location is ideal for this. Rates are very reasonable and having a kitchen makes eating in, easy and economical - there are also 2 gas grills by the beach. Everyone has always been very friendly and many that stay there have been doing so for years.
It's right on the beach and I have had ants in the kitchen on some stays. It wasn't a huge problem and was always promptly taken care of by the managers (husband and wife that live in one of the units). If you want a decent condo, with a kitchen, right on the beach, centrally located, I recommend it. We've stayed there 7 times and will continue to go back.
The beach is good for kids - small waves and a shallow grade. There is a pool, but it's quite small - of course the ocean is right there, and it's plenty big :).
Wi-fi from neighboring places is sometimes usable. On our last visit (Dec '08), all units had wired internet - I brought an Airport express and family members in 2 other units were able to use the wi-fi too.
If this sounds like what you are looking for, you'll be happy with Kihei Kai.
If you need a high end, nice hotel experience, Kihei Kai is not for you.
If you like to sit on the beach all day with a drink and get waited on, I'd recommend a nice beachfront hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EU-JDLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

The Kihei Kai is a older wooden structure that is well past it's prime. My condo was full of ants and bugs every moment I was there. The condo I was in reminded me of a cheap motel room that you might rent in the middle of the night when your dead tired and have to get off the road. The condo only had air in the bedroom and it was so loud I turned it off. The furniture was cheap, the rugs were old and wrinkled, jeez what a mess. They have a small pool that is unheated and thus, very unused. Some of the old time guests told me that about 25% of the condo's were for sale, so what that means if anything is unclear. Most of the other guests were very old and though friendly were very cliche. Only two of the condo's are truly ocean view, the rest are peekabos with very, very limited ocean view. The beach is a decent walking beach, but can get very windy swirling the sand around. Finally if you are just looking for some cheap dump to stay in in Maui, this might be your place, but if staying in a place that reminds you of the beauty of Hawaii is important, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank yonoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Ataying at Kihei Kai is like staying at my own island paradise. It is a small intimate complex of only 24 units. Located right on the beach it was nice to go for morning walks on the beach and still be able to get a lounge chair in the sun for afternoon reading. All of the people there made you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onhawaiitime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank JossTerence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
4.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
5 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
5.6 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
5.2 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 60 in Kihei
967 reviews
2 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#5 of 60 in Kihei
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos

Address: 61 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $169 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kihei Kai Condominiums are on Sugar Beach. Enjoy comfortable and completely furnished one bedroom condos that can accommodate up to four people. Oceanfront, Ocean View, Partial Ocean View and Garden views Condos. The resort is a nonsmoking facility with designated smoking areas. All condos have fully equipped electric kitchens (complete with microwave and full size appliances), air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, highspeed cable internet and phone. On site laundry facilities and parking are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing