We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place and Best Value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kai's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2007

We spent 10 days at Kai's Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the Garden Cottage the entire time. We did a lot of reserch before we decided on a place to stay and found that this was the best value and best location. The cottage was perfect and it was a bonus to be able to have access to all of the beach equipment, coolers, snorkeling gear, etc. We would not have minded visiting with Rob and Patty a little more, but if we needed them for a quick question, etc, they were available. Otherwise, it felt like we had our own place the whole time. We also felt safe (we liked that they had a gate at the entrance) and it was a quiet neighborhood. The location was great as well; a very central location with a short distance to the beach. The foliage was also an added bonus. We would highly recommend staying at Kai's Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nickeldate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 24 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
CA
13
Reviewed January 10, 2006

We stayed in 4 different bed and breakfasts in Maui and Kauai and Kai's was by far the worse. We stayed in one of the rooms in the main house and the one little fan they provided was completely insufficient. The room was unbearably hot. Mosquitos in the room was a huge problem. The refrigerator was loud and didn't work very well. I would definitely recommend you stay somewhere else.

Stayed: May 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, Canada
14
Reviewed October 28, 2005

We've spent five vacations at Kai's B&B, staying in the studio or the cottage, and plan to return again. The studio is a neat little one-room self-contained apartment, with everything we needed to be comfortable. The two-bedroom cottage has its own washer and dryer, a well-appointed kitchen, a delightful lanai where we enjoyed dining, and everything we needed for a great vacation. Nicest of all are the hosts, Rob and Patty, who made us feel like part of the family.
PS: In all the time we spent there, we've never heard the dog bark!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2005

My husband and I have stayed several times at Kai's B&B over the past few years and have been in the cottage as well as the main house and found it to be "our home on Maui". The rooms are very affordable for Maui, clean and comfortable; like at home there are some things that show some wear, but everything is functional. The location is in a residential neighborhood, with neighbors that have kids and pets and there is some street noise, but the grounds are tropical with lots of foilage so you don't see much and we really like the extra security and privacy the gate provides. (If you read your booking sheet before you arrive there are simple instructions as to how to open the gate and which parking spot is yours)

Depending if you are in the main house B&B rooms, you get a basket with lots of goodies (continental breakfast) that you can eat on your own schedule....no waiting on other for breakfast if you are up early. We usually ended up taking some of the snack food in our bag to the beach as we are not big breakfast eaters anyway. The kitchen in the cottage is well stocked for cooking your own meals or just heating up left overs from eating out. You can walk to several nice places within 1/2 mile.

The owners of the B&B are friendly but not intrusive. They have boogie boards, bikes, beach towels, chairs, umbrellas and snorkeling equipment free for use. We really feel at home and can stay on the island for twice as long as compared to staying at the big hotels. (If your high maintance type people you might perfer the big hotels) Rent your car from Kihei Rent a Car, they rent late model cars and jeeps, you will blend right in with thoses who live in Maui.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wannabeinpuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2005

We stayed in the Papaya Studio for 3 nights and enjoyed it as an alternative to a pricey hotel. The unit is on the ground floor with an entrance adjacent to the main house entrance. The room is nicely furnished with a poster bed and french country decor. The room was pretty clean, though it did show a few signs of aging and the bathroom could have used a fresh coat of paint. We had a few issues with mosquitos which would fly in if we left the door open for more than a second, but I think mosquitos are an issue everywhere in that area (we got bitten just as much eating outside at the Four Seasons).
We loved being able to use the equipment there. Being able to borrow snorkel equipment, boogie boards, beach umbrellas, bikes, mats, etc. was very convenient and saved us both time and money.
Patty and Rob were courteous, though a bit rigid and direct on the "rules". We didn't see much of them, though they were accessible by phone when we had questions and were helpful when we reached out.
The Papaya Studio is a nice alternative as a place to stay if you don't require a 4 star resort experience/service.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wanderlust77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2004

The B and B is well located, about 2 miles from some great beaches, less than a mile to a grocery store and big drugstore.

Although it was 85F or 30C, the fan was sufficient for cooling purposes. We were in the Pineapple Room. The refrigerator did not work well and made a lot of noise. The balcony was great and the room was very large. There was some traffic noise at night -- a nearby freeway and ambulances. Also, you could hear other guests taking showers and flusing toilets. They have towels, boogie boards, and snorkels to use. They do not clean the room during your stay. (or the 5 nights we were there.) The washer and dryer were great and you could do your own linens and towels if you wanted.

The breakfasts had a lot of cookie and candy stuff in them and sweet juices with added sugar. We did not like the breakfasts. Buy your own bread, butter, and honey, if you are health concious or (like me) have diabetes. They provide a drip coffee maker and toaster, as well as a microwave.

The parking is not a problem unless there are 3 large vehicles -- then someone would have to park up the street on the other side.

The female owner was somewhat direct in giving orders about what to do, but Wisconsinites are rather direct. Graciousness was not her strong suit. Sometimes they are not there.

It is hot and dry in Kihei. If you don't appreciate this -- think of Kula -- cooler but far from the beach.

P.S. Be sure to pack your own food and drink for trips to Hana and the Crater!

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carrieae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2004

We stayed in the garden cottage in September 2004 and very much enjoyed our stay there. We wouldn't hestitate to stay there again.
We found the cottage to be clean (and I am fussy !) and very comfortable. The bed was comfortable (maybe it has been changed since the last review ?) and yes the air conditioner was on a timer but that was no problem as it was extremely efficient and could be re-set after 60 minutes if necessary.
We were not at all bothered by having to open the gate, and this added to the secluded, private feeling of the whole property. The lighting at night wasn't bright but it was enough to easily find our way over the few paving slabs to the cottage.
The cottage is extremely quiet and situated in a garden full of lush plants and trees, and numerous birds. It was extremely well stocked with everything you could need, and there were plenty of boogie boards, snorkels and two bikes available for use free of charge.
For the less than $100 a night, it was a great find.

5  Thank TXChuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
1.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,174 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#15 of 61 in Kihei
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 61 in Kihei
538 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
1.7 mi away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#28 of 61 in Kihei
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kai's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kai's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 80 E Welakahao Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8027
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range: $40 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Kai's Bed And Breakfast Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing