We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Makena Kayak & Tours, Inc.
Placentia, California
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Went with Bryce on the kayak/snorkling tour and had a great time. He spends the time necessary to make sure you are well instructed and outfitted with everything you need. If your capable he takes you to a snorkling area that is outstanding. A ton of life including turtles, octopus and a wide variety of fish that you could only see if you were inside an aquarium. He isnt worried about the time per se his only concern is the changing weather conditions. The price was well worth it and we will book another tour next time we visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    4
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We did the kayaking tour and it was awesome! Bryce was awesome and made the whole thing a blast. Not only does he have a great attitude but he was so knowledgable about the sea life, the island, and many other odds and ends. He was really prepared. He had everything from sunscreen to snacks. He even got out of the boat to snorkel with us and show us things we might have been missing. The price was great and worth every penny. I recommned this tour to anyone interested in seeing Maui from a kayak. We went away from a spot that 3 other tours went and avoided the crowds. Bryce was not concerned about the 2.5 hour timeline and seemed much more interested in the group having a good time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Kayak/Snorkel Trip”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Don't miss this one!! Bryce is awesome! We went on the 2.5 hour kayak/snorkel trip and had an awesome time. Bryce made sure everyone was comfortable, well-outfitted, and well informed before starting out kayaking to a great snorkel site with almost no one else around. It felt like we had it all to ourselves (there were only 5 people in our group). The snorkeling spot was great with tons of colorful fish and sea turtles. Everything was relaxed and Bryce didn't seem to be concerned about time, or speeding along in the kayaks (we went at a comfortable pace for everyone and stopped often to look at different things); everyone was relaxed the whole time. Bryce knows a ton about the ocean and the island in general and really personalizes the trip based on what the group is interested in; ask him anything! He also gave us some great recommendations for good restaurants on the island. All in all an excellent trip and well worth the money. We can't imagine a better kayaking experience and are totally satisfied with the trip. Would choose this again over a bigger tour any day of the week!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank averyrose101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth every penny, and then some!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked our 2.5 hour kayak tour the afternoon before we went. You can't hope for a better guide than Bryce. He's a great instructor - making sure everyone is comfortable before the enter the kayaks - and then he takes you to the day's best spot for snorkeling. He's knowledgable about the ocean, the reef and Maui itself. Can't recommend these folks enough. Their professionalism, friendliness and their reasonable pricing (in a sea of unreasonable pricing!) makes Makena Kayaks a 10+.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JDCharlottesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I didn't believe a company could have all five star reviews until I went kayaking with Makena Kayak. Great experience and well worth the money. I wasn't very comfortable with being in a tiny boat in the ocean but by the time our trip was over I was ready to jump right in and go again. Had a great time and learned a lot about the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kenr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makena Kayak & Tours, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Makena Kayak & Tours, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing