We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As close to the ocean as you can get !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphins Point Maui

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphins Point Maui
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“As close to the ocean as you can get !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We hopped around the island, stayed on the north side (Huelo Point and Hana) for 6 nights, and then came over to Dolphin's Point for relaxation and "doing nothing".
We are so pleased with our selection! Not being people who like high rise hotels or condos, we found our ideal spot with Dolphin's Point, staying 5 nights at the Hibiscus Suite: our bedroom window was practically right at the beach.
Stepping out of our unit, it took us about 50 feet to be in the ocean - no getting out of elevators, crossing the street, having a view of a parking lot, all these things you could easily find with other accommodations . I don't think you'll find any other place on the Kihei side to provide you with that kind of beach front luxury as Dolphin's Point does!
My feeling is that the Hibiscus Suite is "the best" of the three suites offered: ceilings are rather low, so there is some darkness in the rooms, more towards the back, but not worth getting aggrieved about.
The Ginger is the furthest back from the ocean, just has a tiny sitting area in front of their unit, then comes Plumeria, with a large sitting area, then Hibiscus with medium sized sitting area. Being the last in the row of three gives you the most privacy, about people walking by to get to their unit. We were perfectly happy with our pick!
Well equipped kitchen, though it would be super great to have real stone ware instead of corning ware dishes, and a few more mixing bowls, skillets, just little things, really - but everything you need is definitely there.
The bed is more on the soft side, but still, it worked very well for us.
Plenty of towels, and all the beach equipment you can only think of, is there to take out for the day.
The overall vibe was VERY friendly and relaxing , 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I've been coming to Hawaii since 1970; Kiehi for MANY years! The first stay at Dolphin Point was when my son finished 8th grade, 2001; his 1st Hawaii trip & couldn't have been better. Great area to learn surfing; safe for a novice! It was different owners then (wonderful people). I've watched the transition of Dolphin Point, since Jackie & Larry have taken over; it only gets BETTER. I love being at their "home", more than any other accomodation.....and always will. There is no hotel that will ever provide more than what you will experience at Dolphin Point. When I come to Kiehi (almost yearly), it's the ONLY time that I feel like I've truly been on vacation.....beach outside your door; peaceful environment; perfect hosts. It's always hard to leave! :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We just returned from Dolphins Point. Our visit was outstanding! This was our 50th Anniversary and we rented all the units for our family of 10. I can not say enough about the service we received from both Jackie and Larry. They are wonderful people and went out of their way to make our stay an extremely memorable experience. All units were well appointed and very clean. This is an ideal location, you simply "walkout" to the beach. We have stayed on Maui on several occassions and always stay in the Kihei area. In fact, the last time we were there, we stayed just up the street. Our stay with Jackie & Larry was better and in the long run cheaper!! We will be back to Maui in the near future. There is no question that we will stay at Dolphin Point! Mahalo Jackie & Larry-- Ron

Room Tip: Book early!! Don't worry about renting a thing-- they have all the "toys" you will n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, Ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. It was well located with the beach just steps away. All of the beach equipment you could ever want was provided. Jackie and Larry, the landlords, could not have been better.
Whether it was about the history of the island, where to go or what to see, they couldn't have been more helpful. Our family had all 3 suites and with a great outdoor area, we had plenty of room to eat together and to gather.
We will definitely stay there again the next time we go to Maui.

Room Tip: These units can easily handle more than the minimum aamount of people. Two units have hide-a-beds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We couldn't be happier with our decision to stay here. The owners made everything easy and were very nice. The room couldn't have been better. Ideal location on a great beach and perfectly located to explore the entire island. The grill was perfect as we're the other supplies provided. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austinlounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a wonderful property ideally located for all activities on Maui. You could not ask for better access to the beach and there is all the beach gear you could possibly need provided on property. The owners, Jackie and Larry, are wonderful people who are there to help you and also leave you alone to relax and enjoy their amazing home and grounds. The units provide you with all you could possibly need for a wonderful vacation including access to a washer and dryer. We slept every night listening to the ocean. For the price Dolphin's Point is truly an amazing find and we will stay there again on a return trip to Maui!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JulieBugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

My husband and I just spent a month in Hawaii and one of the stops on our trek of three of the Islands was Dolphins Point on Maui. We stayed in the Hibiscus Suite for 6 days and in hindsight would have booked for longer. Our hosts were very accomodating and the suite is amptly appointed with everything you need for a comfortable stay...King size bed with a beautiful view, full size kitchen with all the ammendies, modern bath with a tiled shower, plus everything you need for your day on the beach, which is literally steps away from your private lanai. The place comes fully equipped with snorkel gear, boogie boards and beach chairs and towels. The deck area with loungers and a BBQ is a shared area but we never had any issues with avaiablity of either and we went at Christmas, the busiest time of the year. The sunsets are phenomenal and you do see whales right off the beach in front of the resort! There is also a corner store and several restaurants within walking distance. This is a fantastic location for a Hawaiian get-away!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TripTip0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.4 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#2 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#10 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins Point Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins Point Maui

Property: Dolphins Point Maui
Address: 2274 S Kihei Rd, Kihei/Wailea, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphins Point Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphins Point Maui is a privately owned, oceanfront, gated property with three beautifully furnished and fully equipped suites. A truly unique Hawaiian vacation experience. Located on the white sands of Kamaole I Beach in Kihei/Wailea on the sunny side of Maui. Step back in time to the romance of the islands. No hustle and bustle, no high-rise condos, no crossing the street - its just you, the ocean and the sunsets! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphins Point Maui Hotel Kihei
Dolphins Point Maui Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing