We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Diving Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prodiver Maui

Prodiver Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Diving Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Matt (Dive Master) and Bryan (Cap'n) led a fantastic (New Year's Day) dive for our family (4) and one other diver (shout out to Dave!). They were attentive to our desires and abilities and we came away from the dive feeling positive about Prodiver, jazzed about diving and ready for more. The dives were relaxed and yet we extended our comfort zone. Great explanations of observed whale behaviors during surface interval enhanced the experience. Pre/post-dive briefs were outstanding. In-water "spotting" was spectacular. Juvi WhiteTips, Day Octopus, Eagle Rays (4 in "formation"), sponge crab, many eels, Black Coral and just tons of reef life.

The small group experience was so nice. Good conversation with crew and other diver. We, as have others, came based upon billing in "Maui Revealed."

Thanks (again) to Matt and Brian (and the staff back at Prodiver Maui) that helped to make this a fabulous dive experience for the entire family.

Happy New Year!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gblockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    5
    3
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent dive again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We dove with Pro Divers again and enjoyed ourselves as much this time as our first time a year ago. This time we dove with Liz (divemaster) and Paul our captain. We first dove with this company last year (2011). They are highly qualified and knowledgeable. They know Molokini and the surrounding area, and know where to dive based on the conditions. We received an excellent pre-dive safety briefing from Paul on his boat, and divemaster Liz gave an excellent briefing on what we would be doing, and conditions we could expect. They are extremely helpful getting equipment ready before the dive, and assisting divers in water entry. Likewise, they are helpful on exiting the water, especially with smaller divers that need help with heavy equipment. I first found these guys based on a recommendation from a travel book, Maui Revealed, and found them to be every bit as good this time as the last. As far as I'm concerned, we will stick with them on return trips, probably the best outfit we've found, regardless of location!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Prodiver is simply great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had planned on doing 3 2-tank diver starting on November 24th. I was so impressed I added a 4th dive. Prodiver runs a small boat with a very experienced staff. 3 to 7 divers with their very experienced dive masters. I dived with both Matt and Liz while captain Paul manned the boat. These are DM's with thousands of dives who obviously know the area and love what they are doing. Great Scubapro equipment. I will definitely dive with Prodiver again. The best dives of my life so far.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DiverTX1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant dive operation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Went diving yesterday with Matt and Brian and they were just the best,so professional,happy,knowledgeable and nice. Its great only going out with 6 people on a boat, you are never on top of each other underwater, plus we got to just go at our own pace,exploring what we wanted to,going up when we wanted to not having to go up when someone was low but there was no compromise on safety at all,Matt always kept an eye on us all whilst pointing out interesting things. The dives were beautiful,molokini had amazing visibility and great sea life and red hill was just teeming with turtles,we spent the whole time hanging out with them around the sea grass didn't even go to the main dive area as there was so many turtles to swim with,it was great that he let us do that as we were all happy to hang out there and not move on.plenty of snacks and drinks always available, nothing was too much trouble,never felt rushed. They took care of all my equipment,setting it up,disassembling it and even washing it for me. Great guys all round. Thank you so so much

Helpful?
Thank lucy r
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Even using Tripadvisor it's sometimes hard to figure out with whom I wanted to dive with. Boy did I make the right choice with Prodiver out of Kehei, Maui. I don't know that anyone really wants or enjoys an overly crowded "cattle car" dive boat, but I guess many end up there because they don't know any better. Prodiver is a small, very professional dive company. Paul (Boat Captain) and Matt ( Instructor/Divemaster/ dive guide) were absolutely terrific. By the time we were done with two dives, Molokini Crater and Five Graves, These guys could have become my new "Best Friends". Safety, Knowledgeable, Fun, Interesting, are just a few of the adjectives one could use to describe this Very Professional Outfit. As a tourist destination, I just get the feeling that not everyone is as good as this operation. I also had the pleasure of meeting and chatting with the owner Gary who was very concerned that all was "good"...IT WAS!!! We stayed at Lahaina which was about a 45 minute drive from Kehei so,....to make a 6:00am start, I got up at about 4:15 so I could leave by 5:00 or 5:15, etc, etc, etc. As this was a vacation with my wife who doesn't dive, this was, unfortunately, the only dives I did with them. The balance of my diving was done with a recommended company up in Lahaina. That's another review. In the Kehei/Molokini Crater area, if you like Small, Professional, Safe, Knowledgeable I highly recommend PRODIVER MAUI.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank stevenreichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prodiver Maui also viewed

 

Been to Prodiver Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing