We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and customer service”
Review of Kihei Caffe

Kihei Caffe
Ranked #13 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food and customer service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

CASH ONLY place. They do have an ATM there if you need to get money.
Pros:
-Awesome food: I had the Kalua Pork Loco Moco with Pork Fried Rice. It was heavenly.
-Great service: It's a counter service then sit down but there are waitresses that help you find seats and get you whatever you need. Very friendly and helpful.

Cons:
-Get there early. The line gets long quick. When we got there (around 7) the line was inside the shop. When we left there (around 9) was at least 10 people outside the shop including the line inside the shop.
-Can't save seats. However, we did not have any trouble finding a table for 5 of us quickly. It all comes down to timing and how long the line is.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HMoney08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,499
    712
    186
    75
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
155 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Must for a Great Breakfast”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Kihei Cafe is one of those local restaurants that is always crowded because of the great food and prices, but the wait is worth it! Large portions, unfortunately it is only open for breakfast. One little known fact is that you can BYOB. So bring along some Bloody Marys or champagne to make the meal special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeF592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Missed dining here by 7 minutes because they close at 2:00 pm. ??”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were VERY surprised that a cafe in the busy, touristy part of Kihei would close at 2:00 in the afternoon!! We got there at 2:07 pm and were told they were closed for the rest of the day. Makes no sense to me to be in a prime location where so many tourists are there shopping or coming from the beach across the street looking for lunch only to find them closed. I'm sure the other cafes and restaurants close by appreciate them sending over all their afternoon would be customers though! :P

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loco Moco!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I do not know how this has never caught on in the mainland. They do a great loco, and it's not overly huge and is reasonably priced. Wait was pretty long for a Thursday morning (20 minutes at about 11:00), so be prepared.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank abartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
398 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Bring Cash and Your Appetite!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We're only halfway through our stay in Wailea and have eaten breakfast here twice already. We arrived just after 0700 and the line was nearly out the door, but it moved quickly. Upon arrival, you go inside to place your order. The coffee and water are self-service. Seating is outdoors and if you have trouble finding a place to sit, a member of staff will assist you. You give your name when you order and when orders are ready a member of staff comes out with the food calling names.

One morning when we ate here the cash registers went down. So as not to hold up the line, orders were taken by hand. We were served our food and then a member of staff came out with printouts and collected payment. They accept cash only and have a "generic" ATM on premises.

Food portions were very large. My husband had the "number one" which included eggs, potatoes, a large piece of ham, and a biscuit. He added gravy to the biscuit for $1. The second morning he had a huge cream cheese sweet roll. I had loco moco both mornings and could not finish it either day! We saw orders of pancakes, burritos, and omelets that were all huge. They even have whale-shaped pancakes for the kids!

Food was very good and service was friendly. We'll be back on our next visit, and might even go again on this trip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UOtterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kihei Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Kihei Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing