We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and price and atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kihei Caffe

Kihei Caffe
Ranked #13 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eagle River, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and price and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

After a long flight and short drive from the Maui airport, the Kihei Caffe was a very welcome place to relax and eat and get into the Maui spirit. Great fresh food and the service was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Curt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,417
    681
    179
    73
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Whats all the fuss about?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I don't get why this place gets such great reviews. I used to live on Maui and the Kihei Caffe I knew back then (in a different location) was really nice, great food and great value. NOT the case at all now. First off, it is pretty expensive for what you get. You go in and order from a counter then you find a seat and then someone brings your food. The cashier was hardly friendly, kind of rude actually. The tables were not clean and you sit outside right next busy S. Kihei Rd. (I don't mind that but some people might) If you need to go to the restroom, you have to walk down the street a half a block to a crosswalk and go across the street to the beach/park bathroom. As for the food, it was just OK... not great, not close to great. Actually, I think Denny's has better breakfasts. The kids meals are cheap so that is nice but the regular menu items fairly expensive. The portions are large however, so that is nice. You will be fighting with the birds to eat your meal. Don't get up till you are done or the birds will be all over your table having a little breakfast. I think the Kihei Caffe could do a lot better.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SWV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, ab
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

so cute, and just low maintenance. we only went out for breakfast once while we were in maui, and we're glad we did. the breakfast burrito is massive. i ate about a third of it. it was great and fresh. the iced/blended coffees? were so good! worth the calorie splurge. go for it. just don't think about it. do it. so good. i loved it so much, i wanted another one! but, i refrained! definitely check it out while you're there. also, super affordable. i wanted to try more menu items! it was hard to choose!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mandysmear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Macadamia nut & banana waffles sooo tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

this place never doesnt deliver tasty food. when you look around and there is hardly ever food left on a plate, and the portions are generous, you know it's all good!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sherpajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best breaskfast in Kihei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

WOW! Super big portions for great value. My husband and I had the veggie scramble & breakfast burrito and the kids had the whale pancake and teddybear pancake. We thought we might be waiting awhile as there was a big line up when we went to breakfast at 8:15. This place has a great flow and we barely had to wait to place our order. We found a table and had only been sitting about 10mins when our breakfast was served.. Delicious!!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kihei Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Kihei Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing