We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, service and overall great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Worldmark Kihei

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Worldmark Kihei
Ranked #11 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Location, service and overall great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I. Location
- Great location centralized in Kihei. Literally across the street from the beach.

II. Check-in
- Staff was friendly and there were no issues upon check-in.

III. Room (2-bedroom, 2-bath)
- Spacious, clean (no bedbugs as I always perform a thorough check up) - although I would say you need to wear slippers or footwear as the floor is dirty, but that's every hotel I've ever been to.
- We did have an issue with the draining in the tub. They sent out a service guy to try and fix it, but I think it's an internal clog somewhere within the pipes and only a big fix would do the job. This was the only negative on our stay.
- Full kitchen as with most Worldmark rooms/properties. Kitchens are obviously fully stocked. This came in handy as in Maui it's expensive as hell!
- Beds were comfortable.
- No issues with the air conditioning units in the master, living or second bedroom.
- Washer and dryer were oversized not like the typical Worldmark stacked washer/dryers. We used them frequently.

IV. Service
- No issues so this rated excellent.

V. Activities
- They offered lei making, hula dancing lessons on one of the days and they even had a barbeque.
- They have an extensive DVD collection of up to date releases for the nights you need to keep the little ones occupied and/or a night in.

VI. Pool
- Great! Not that you need a heated pool, but it's nice. A large jacuzzi and a kids pool as well. We had a bunch of friends staying at the Maui Coast next door and every single one of them loved this pool better than theirs.
- Some people will say why go in the pool when you're across the street from the beach? Simple. Kids. The current is strong and they had an unusual hit of Portuguese man o' war on the south end beaches. These are smaller cousins of the jelly fish. They float on the surface and are typically blue and look like squared bubbles. Don't touch them. A friend's kid got stung by one. Not too bad, but inconvenient.

VII. Extra Info
- No wireless internet.
- The area restaurants are expensive. They have coupons located in the lobby for some area restaurants and activities. They help out a bit.
- There's a Safeway and Foodland a few miles away. Stock up on water and other snacks there. There's a Costco next to the airport. Definitely get your gas there as it's 20 - 30 cents cheaper than any other gas station on the island.
- About a half hour drive from the airport in Kahului.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kinimaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    87
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
77
61
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The WorldMark in Kihei is a great place to stay. We are here with our familiy and are having a great time. The staff are very helpful.

Highlights for us:
- We all learned to surf with the Maui Beach Boys lessons. It was super and just a short walk down the road.
- Watching the Turtles come up on to the beach for the evening at dusk was a huge hit. We ate an early dinner in Paia at the Paia Fish Market (YUM!) and then headed to Ho'okipa park. To find them, you go to Ho'okipa beach around 5pm. Park on the lower area by the beach and walk to the right (east) to the end of the beach. We saw about 24 large green sea turtles come up out of the water and crawl up the beach. We left around 6:30 and we all said it was a highlight! Important note: Stay back at least 50 feet and just watch. If you go too close it is disruptive to their activitity.
-Walking the Wailea Beach Trail was super! We started at the NW side at ULUA beach park. We found ample parking and the trail was right there. We enjoyed looking at the jam packed resorts which were stacked with bodies and then reflecting on how nice it is at the Worldmark. On this walk, we stopped in at the Starbucks at the Mariott. Just walk up the path, past the pool and take the elevator to the lobby and you won't miss the Starbucks. After the walk we drove in to Wailea the shops and had the $3 Appi Hour (3-4pm) at the CheeseBurger Land.
-Lastly we really enjoyed the view and surroundings when we drove up for a pizza lunch at the Kula Lodge on the Haleakala Hwy. Super enjoyable scenery as we sat out on the terraced tables.

The Frustration with Internet Connectivity
So back to the WorldMark in Kihei. I had a horrible time getting internet connections through the WorldMark's internet service with Telkonect. I paid for a year's internet service for $50. My laptop had to be wired to get internet. No wireless. Sadly, when I brought the ipad down poolside, got a connection, and was able to log in to the internet service but then it errored out saying I had too many connections. I emailed tech support from the room but they didn't reply for a couple of days. The reply was that they wanted me to call them. It was a kindly worded email and I suppose I should have called. I didn't want to be on a hold queue so I didn't bother.

I am a believer that interenet should be free in public places, especially in hotels. I don't think we should pay extra for electricity, air conditioning, cable TV or internet. If you look around the world, Smart Cities, and Smart Resorts are offering free, high quality, high speed internet. Yet at the Worldmark you get poor quality, slow speed internet that you have to buy. It would be great if all customers started to voice similar frustration. I am on vacation, but I live in a time when internet connectivity is very important to me. More important the having cable tv.

Thankfully, with many thanks to AT&T wifi, I was able to get a wonderful fast wifi connection from the Gold Coast Hotel next door to the WorldMark, in my room, for.....FREE. It is faster than the cable over AC modem that Worldmark provided! Thanks AT&T!

Room Tip: All rooms good. Internet, not so much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CheapyPants A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you want customer service come here! We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. It was clean and relaxing. Even though we were told we had no ocean view we ended up with a partial one.
They made us feel like family!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The condo was clean, stocked with all things, and nice floor plan. Convenient location to beach, stores, restaraunts, etc. amenities very nice: pool, fitness center, office, etc! Very pleased! Lovely glimpse of the ocean from balcony. Quiet area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skeelo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in a one-bedroom in Building 6 on Aug. 28-Sept. 4, 2012.

PROS:
Access to the Kamaole Beach was very quick, just one block and across a street with a traffic signal, so no problem there, and the beach is lovely - white sand, clean, well maintained, and not too crowded when we were there. Lots of families were boogie boarding and lying in the sun.
The unit was clean, well maintained, and comfortable enough for a brief stay, with a love seat and two padded chairs, a flat-screen TV, a Murphy bed, a small glass table with four wicker chairs, and two bar stools at the small kitchen counter. There were no chairs in the bedroom but each side of the bed had a bedside stand with drawers, and there was a small dresser in the bedroom (four small drawers) with a flat-screen TV on top.
The king-sized bed was fine (we have a .Tempurpedic at home), I never heard a complaint from my husband, who has back problems.
The small washer-dryer set worked great, and they supply small packets of detergent (no softener).
The kitchen was equipped with the basics; we could have cooked most things if we had wanted to (appliances were a four-burner stove & oven, microwave, fridge with top freezer, garbage disposal, blender, mixer, and toaster). Take your own pizza cutter!
The bathroom had one sink and enough counter space on either side for each of us to spread out our toiletries, and there was a combined shower/bathtub.
The location was convenient - about a 3-minute walk from the main parking lot, across the lawn, through the center of another complex, to the elevator, and around the corner to our suite.
The balcony (lanai) view was pleasant enough - our "no view" room looked down on a parking lot and flowering trees, and across to another building, so there was no privacy on our balcony, but we still spent time out there (it was shaded most of the day).
Access to the pool was convenient from Building 6: down the stairs or elevator, around the corner, and through a gate, passing by the picnic table and 3-4 gas grills.
The resort location was centrally located in Kihei, with small shops, restaurants, coffee, souvenir stops, gas, and food supermarkets from one block to half a mile away or more. The only things we considered in "walking distance" were the ABC/gas station (about a block) and the beach (a block). People who enjoy walking further will find more options. We drove to coffee each morning at Lava Java, about half a mile north on the beach road.
They supply hard soap (bring your own liquid soap for the bathroom), dish soap, dishwasher detergent, coffee (yuck), coffee filters (flattened by humidity), salt & pepper, some basic spices, and paper towels, and if you need more, you can ask at the front desk or call housekeeping.
Each bedroom and the main living area has its own AC unit that work great, but they are noisy.
CONS:
They push you HARD to hear an owner update, even if you've already done one on the phone (as we had), but in our experience, it was worth it. The presentation lasted 45 minutes and wasn't such a hard sell that we couldn't resist (they are pushing TravelShare), and what we got out of it was a decent cold breakfast of fruits, sandwiches, and yogurt (get there early, or it will be gone), plus $75 off our Expedia excursions.
They push you to buy your excursions from Expedia, and the Expedia agents don't necessarily know what the pros and cons of the excursions are. Example: We bought a trip on the Road to Hana, and they put us on Polynesian Adventures, which has such cramped seating that we were miserable for the entire 10-hour trip. They were surprised by our feedback. Valley Isle apparently has only 12 people in the same-sized bus we had 20 in!
The pool area, although lovely, can be overrun with kids in the main pool AND the spa. They do limit the late evening hours to adults, but any other time, you'll probably be sharing the hot tub (which is quite large) with children.
The lights were on over the sidewalk outside our bedroom all night, so even if we had the light-blocking drapes pulled (the only way to have bedroom privacy), we still saw light coming in. If this will bother you, take eye shades.
Parking can be hard to find right in front of the units, and we never did spot any handicapped parking spaces - at least none that were anywhere near our building. Also, the parking spots are quite narrow, so there were times when hubby had to pull out in order for me to get in.
Groceries are horrendously expensive, but of course that's just Hawaii (especially Maui). I put a cube of butter in my checked luggage and was glad I didn't have to buy it there - same with jam, peanut butter, whatever your family normally snacks on and you have room/weight to pack and will use up while there.
Noise: The AC units in the bedroom(s) and main living area are NOISY. They work fine to cool, but the humidity will remain HIGH. If noise is an issue for sleeping, bring ear plugs. We were fortunate to not have noisy upstairs neighbors, but a few thumps overhead told us we would have heard them.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Kihei Worldmark and definitely would stay there again, because what we got for the owner price was far superior to what we could have afforded in a hotel room or suite both in amenities and location. It's not right on the beach, but it's so close it might as well be. It definitely isn't a luxury suite, but it was good enough for us to sleep in and spend the occasional hour or two reading on the balcony.

Room Tip: We liked Building 6, but I don't think they will give you a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JMertes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've stayed here multiple times growing up - about once a year with my family through grade /high school. We love this place because it is so convenient and affordable. We are Worldmark members and have not been disappointed yet. It is a large complex, friendly staff, and has everything you need. It is not luxurious but it is across the street from the ocean and has everything you need for an affordable stay in the islands. Close to the airport, 15 min from a Costco and Walmart, 5 min from up-scale shopping center and snorkel/boating activities. Resort has several rooms with a view, kids activities around the site, available beach rental gear (snorkel, boogie boards, chairs) for the week which is very convenient, full kitchens and utensils in units, available outdoor bbq grills, clean pool, small gym, and helpful activity planners to help you figure out what to do during your stay. This resort also accommodates larger groups - for example I've stayed here with a group of 8 in a 3 bedroom/2 bath suite with living room and full kitchen. I would not hesitate to recommend this location. Only reason Room service/spa is rated poorly is because there is no room service and spa services are limited to massages poolside. I'm already looking forward to my next trip out here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank renaeadrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Now, if you want luxury and pampering and sprawling grounds with plenty of shops and play areas then this isn't your place. We are worldmark members so I will write it from that perspective. It is great for our purposes - the rooms are clean and spacious enough. It has a full kitchen and king size bed (we had the 2 bedroom) and a small lanai for sitting. The views for the ocean are not that great so don't really go for that (no view vs. limited view not that different) but the beach is right across the street literally (you just cross the road at the light and you are there). The location is good for us as well because we like to go down to Makena and the activities we do go out of the Kihei boat ramp about 1 mile away

The place does have a pool and hot tub (and kiddie pool) - these are nice too but we are really beach people so we don't spend a lot of time at the pool. The staff is nice enough and the parking is easy (although the spaces seem small). We don't really do the activities they have planned at the resort but the activity planners can help if you need to book stuff off the resort (we did the luau and some rafting and the prices were competitive with other places).

Overall, it is a great place for us with the kitchen and location. Again, if you want luxury then you would probably be in Wailea or Kaanapali but otherwise this is a very good place to vacation.

Room Tip: Again, the view is not spectacular so don't break your back to get a view room - the higher numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nimbus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#8 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worldmark Kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldmark Kihei

Property: Worldmark Kihei
Address: 75 Alanui Kealii Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8586
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Worldmark Hotel Kihei
Worldmark Kihei Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing