We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing Gem on Maui!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pineapple Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pineapple Inn
Save
You added Pineapple Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 17 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Gem on Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at a The Pineapple Inn from June 7 - 11, 2014, and found this hidden gem to be the best B&B we have ever stayed at in our travels . The owners, Mark and Steve, were away but we were hosted by Phoebe who made sure we were welcomed and had everything needed during our stay.

The grounds here are amazing and make you feel like you are in your own tropical paradise(which you are!). Our upstairs room had a beautiful view of the ocean and West Maui as well as the lush grounds below. Drinking coffee from our own private lanai was a relaxing start to each day we were there.

Often times photos on websites make places appear better than they really are . Most travelers have likely experienced disappointment when arriving at some place they have booked when it is not as they imagined. I can assure you this is NOT the case with The Pineapple Inn! Our only regret is that we did not stay here the entire time during our Hawaiian vacation .

We hope to return to Maui someday and will definitely stay at The Pineapple Inn!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JCC7474 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    38
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
210
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is the probably best place we have been to during our Hawaii trip so far! Really wonderful room with new furnitures, a small kitchen, a modern bath - all decorated nicely. The breakfast was always provided and truly sufficient. The inn is also located quite well with close access to the beaches by car (3 min) both for swimming and for having a dinner picknick; the road is near, so you hear something, yet acceptable. We would come here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheetah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Initially we were planning to visit Maui in February but PI didn't have availability for the whole two weeks so we changed our plans to go in April, just so we could stay here the entire time! We love the privacy, the beauty of the grounds, the wonderful pool which we usually have to ourselves and our own lanai to enjoy breakfast as we please. Each time we revisit we feel like we're returning to our own little piece of paradise. Everything is well thought out and easy here...arriving, parking, relaxing, laundry, beach items to borrow, use of computer/telephone.
For us the location is perfect, quick to beaches and restaurants but not far to drive and sightsee all over the island.
Mark and Steve are fun and friendly hosts who are most helpful and make us feel like friends!
We have to mention cute little Indie, such a well behaved dog.
Honestly, when we're planning a trip to Maui Pineapple Inn has to be included :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bonnie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We read about the Pineapple Inn before booking and found when we arrived that all was as described. The gardens with flowers, trees, bushes, birds, geckos, the pool, the patio area , we saw nothing more beautiful on the island. Our family was in other rooms and the cottage, and in other places in Keihei. The Pineapple Inn owners were kind and helpful with pre wedding get togethers on the patio, a perfect place for such things. The rooms and cottage were perfect too. The breakfast food provided was fine for us. Watching a sunset from the hot tub was a good thing!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Marian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Steve and Mark have really thought of everything for their guests. From the stocked fridge to the chairs and coolers for the beach. Two great hosts who are always their if you need help or more of something for your room. The location is is perfect on the South side of Kihei, we really could not have asked for more. And oh yeah, the views from the balcony were awesome. I have no reservations whatsoever recommending the Pinapple Inn Maui and Steve and Mark, definitely your best choice in Maui.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wailea and it was perfect for two with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank dfolstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was a great little find: a b&b that felt like home. The room was spacious with a large balcony that was great for sitting down to breakfast around, with a great sunset view in the evening. With a microwave, fridge, sink and utensils (plus grill by the pool) you could cook if you wanted to (we did one evening, but there are numerous food options nearby). A bonus was that you did not feel hassled in any way. You also have access to beach equipment (chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards etc) and coolers for day trips - we took advantage of all of these and welcomed them being available. In comparison, a four and a half star resort hotel down the road (we stayed at one night) tried to charge $10 an hour for a beach umbrella to its guests! The breakfast was 'ok': nothing to get excited over, but a mix of bagels, oranges, apples, yoghurts was fine for us. If you want more, then go to the local shops!

The only downside had to be the airconditioning - the room was hot on our return from days out, and the aircon did not seem to do much to solve that issue (and looked like it needed more of a clean). Instead, we slept with the balcony door open (screen closed) to get fresh air in. The downside is the road noise from the nearby highway - not too loud, but still there.

All in, a good experience, a great setting, and a relaxing stay. We would recommend it to others who want to stay in the area, but baulk at the inflated resort prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank neiluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have stayed all over Maui in previous trips, but the Pineapple Inn is by far the best we have found. It had so many five star reviews, I thought it must be a mistake. Our nine days there proved the other reviews were accurate. Cleverly designed with numerous plantings and located in a residential neighborhood, you never know but what you are in a lush tropical paradise. Although not directly on the beach, the ocean is clearly visible and the sunsets from the lanai were glorious. If you are looking for quiet and privacy to relieve the stress in your life, this is the place. Mark and Steve have thought of every detail for what a Maui visitor may want or need. For example, oversized showers with a shower head that's above your head, not at chest level. A spacious closet with enough hangers to hang up ALL of your clothes. Wonderful muffins, orange juice, yoghurt, coffee, so you can enjoy starting your morning on your lanai. High quality beach gear to use for free instead of having to rent. And on and on. To sum up, this place is THE BEST and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have more traffic noise (didn't bother us), but also have better views of ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ironstoneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
25.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Inn

Property: Pineapple Inn
Address: 3170 Akala Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9432
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an affordable, luxury rental property located near all of Maui's famous attractions and beaches. We feature incredibly clean rooms with luxurious bedding rivaling the most expensive resorts. All of our rooms are very private and feature private lanai's, bathrooms, kitchenettes, high speed internet and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pineapple Hotel Kihei
Pineapple Inn Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing