We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good setting & good location.”
Review of Pineapple Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pineapple Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good setting & good location.”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Pineapple Inn is well located away from downtown Kihei. By that, I mean not on the main strip. It's just off the main road. This makes it easy to drive to Wailua or into Kihei without having to be in the fracas itself. The fridge is well stocked and grocery stores are easy to get to if you want to buy other fruit or perishables. We stayed on the upper floor. It had a nice view of the ocean and the Maui coastline. Personally, I'd choose one of the upper rooms because you won't have the pool traffic walking by your lanai. The grounds are beautifully manicured and the pool is lovely...as is the hot tub, especially at night to sit in and see the stars and coastline. Yes, noise from the road below is audible when sitting on the upper balconies, but for us it wasn't a distraction at all. Overall, this a good value for the money and has a boutique feel.
The location is good for getting to the beaches just north of Kihei, but before you get to Wailua. If you haven't already, get the Hawaii Revealed series of tour books...they're great for pointing out the sights and good beaches.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    41
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
53
241
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This BB is amazing! Located in South Kihei, near the beach and other good atractions of Maui (by car, but a car is necessary in Maui anyway). The room was very cozy and well-equipped, the fridge was full with breakfast items, such as juice, bread, muffins, yogurts...
They have a beautiful garden and a salt-water pool from where you can see the sunset.
In the hall there is a computer and a phone that can be used to make local calls. It was very helpfull to us to schedule our next activities in Maui.
A bonus is their cabinet in the garage where you can take beach items (chairs, umbrellas, snorkel, bodyboard).
Phoebe was so kind that we really felt like in home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Pineapple Inn Maui is by far the best place we stayed on Maui. The accommodations are that of a 5 star resort. I am so happy we found this place! We will never stay anywhere else on Maui!! The location is perfect! It is close to everything. When planning this trip, we decided to spend part of our stay in a resort in Kaanapali, part in Hana and part at the Pineapple Inn. We were afraid that staying in a smaller property, even though the reviews were good, might not live up to the hype. Nothing could be farther from the truth. Our room at the Pineapple Inn was 10 times better than the big money resort and they didn’t nickel and dime us for everything. The Pineapple Inn is so close to everything that we could have taken day trips to the other two places and we wouldn’t have had to waste our time packing, unpacking, checking in and checking out. We would have had more time enjoying the beautiful pool, gardens and nearby beaches. Not to mention all the money we would have saved! This was a great lesson learned! Next time on Maui, I will spend my whole time at this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely, comfortable, good location, everything you could need available, gorgeous grounds, I have nothing bad to say about this place, other than we were sad to leave and not stay longer. I am telling everybody thinking of going to Maui they need to check out the pINEAPPLE iNN!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Pineapple Inn. The room we stayed in was very comfy and clean and had a great view of the gardens. We enjoyed eating our breakfast on the lanai every morning, walking through the gardens, and taking a refreshing dip in the salt water pool. The location of the Pineapple Inn was perfect. It's located right by a beautiful beach. The owners are wonderful and very helpful. We would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Sasha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This B&B is wonderful and the rooms are immaculate and very comfortable with excellent air conditioning. The garden and swimming area/hot tub are gorgeous, there are many beautiful flowers which are very well kept. When we stayed the owners were on vacation and the B&B was under the care of friends. The fridge in our room was stocked with tons of lovely breakfast items.

The B&B is a short drive away from several lovely beaches and we made plenty use of the beach equipment that was available to borrow (beach mats, snorkels, ice coolers, chairs etc). I would say that the B&B is a perfect getaway for couples and we loved every moment of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gail_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We are experienced B&B guests but Maui novices. We hit it right on our first try! Believe what you read in the other reviews. Lush gardens, private pool & hot tub (well, okay, shared with the other guests, but with just 4 rooms & a cottage it's still truly private), convenient location, congenial service, perfect setting for sunset viewing. If you are expecting a full, sit-down breakfast shared with others in a New England-style B&B, this isn't for you. But if you are happy with all the other B&B amenities, do-it-yourself continental breakfast fixings, and you want to feel that you are relaxing on vacation in your private villa, this is the place. When we are lucky enough to return to Maui, you can bet that this will be our first destination.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have pool/garden and slight ocean views, with private lanai. Perfect for breakfast, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
25.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
933 reviews
0.5 mi away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Inn

Property: Pineapple Inn
Address: 3170 Akala Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9432
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an affordable, luxury rental property located near all of Maui's famous attractions and beaches. We feature incredibly clean rooms with luxurious bedding rivaling the most expensive resorts. All of our rooms are very private and feature private lanai's, bathrooms, kitchenettes, high speed internet and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pineapple Hotel Kihei
Pineapple Inn Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing