We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maui Sugar Beach Inn
Ranked #12 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
kihei HI
1 review
“home away from home”
Reviewed April 7, 2009

My fiance and I actually live in Kihei. We stayed for about 3 days while our home was under construction and ended up liking the Inn better than our own home! Nice quiet and private rooms. My fiance is a chef and we really liked being able to stay somewhere paying the same price as a hotel and being able to have our own kitchen. We have stayed in a lot of places on the island and we have really enjoyed the quiet and privacy the Sugar Beach Inn provides.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
13
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

W.hat great hospitality. Our flight arrived later than expected. We did not have a room for the night. We thought it would be easier to secure a room than it was. Thank God for Mary. No other hotels even answered the phone. She gave us directions and met us at the gate. The room felt like a cozy little apartment, had plenty of room and was quiet. This part of the island is beautiful and the inn is close to town, the beach and a Starbucks. We would recommend this to friends.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — not right on the beach
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SweetnDandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed 8 days . We had the penthouse which was very roomy and clean. The pictures on line are acuate and informative. We had the place to our selves for the whole 8 days.. very close to sugar beach- nice beach for walking and swimming.It was very quiet and restful neighborhood. I could hear the surf from my bedroom. The pool was very small.. We spent most of our time outside on the patio which had 2 big tables and chairsets and 2 bar-b-ques. Excellent place for my group of 8 adults who are over 50 to 80 years old.We enjoyed the quiet.

  • Liked — clean room and quiet neiborhood
  • Disliked — no ocean view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pony1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2008

We were having a family reunion in Hawaii and that included small children and babies. Mary, at the Sugar Beach Inn was super about helping us (pac 'n plays, high chairs, beach toys, washing machine that we could use) and welcoming us instead of being dismayed. The Sugar Beach Inn has smaller units on the ground floor (one bedroom, kitchen, bathroom, livingroom with pull out couch) and then the big unit upstairs that has a large living area and three bedrooms with two bathrooms and a well stocked kitchen and dining area. Besides the roomy insides, there is a gorgeous deck (lani) with tables and a couch and a grill. All units have private lanis as well as access to a beautifully landscaped pool area and private parking places that are tucked back away from the road. Just across the road is a beach that is great for walking or taking in the beauty. The really great plus for us was how welcoming Mary was to us about our larger group getting together at the Sugar Beach Inn. We weren't all able to obtain rooms from her (already booked) but it was a great place to congregate. There were rules about noise and pool use that made the place restful and pleasant and not so many units as to feel like a big hotel. Light, airy and clean, the large unit was a dream to stay in!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank KingsdaughterMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2008

We have been guests of Maui Sugar Beach Inn for 2 months. Since we are almost at the end of our stay, we wanted to post our thoughts on this remarkable little hidden gem of Maui.

Upon reviewing some of the previous reviews we know the travellers have been referring to Maui Sugar Beach Resort rather than this small comfortable inn. This building only contains 6 units and it is 2 storeys high with only 2 units upstairs.

There were no robberies here. The units are exceptionally clean and they are very inviting.! The backyard contains a wonderful paradise of Hawaiian landscaping with a pool barbeque and tiki torches. Mary,the new manager is so accomodating and her warm personality and charming ways makes everyone very happy!!.

We are extremely happy with our stay here and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

We would recommend this inn to anyone as long as there is room for us to return next year. It's hard to give away a great secret!

Mardi and Fred

  • Liked — the Hawaiian Pradise back yard and the hospitable inviting manager Mary and Vanessa
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinadryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Our vacation was extended when on our last day my wife was hospitalized. As it was during the high season, few rentals were available and in a pinch i called the Inn. Not only was Mary very accomodating, she made every effort to make sure I did not have any worries while my wife was in hospital. While I expected less from a small hotel I was very suprised at how nice the Inn was. The suite was clean and very well appointed, This is a very nice boutique hotel and I would stay there again. This place definately has the "Aloha" spirit. Thanks again,
Stephen Compan

  • Liked — The wonderful staff.
  • Disliked — I really can't think of anything negative other than I could not stay there longer
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Idreamofmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

You can find much better places that are cheaper in the Kihei area. The customer service is terrible. From the managment staff to the phone service reps. They are just plain rude. Don't ever plan to have a good trip if you stay here.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank big123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mini001, owner at Maui Sugar Beach Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2007
A note to all readers. This person is an unknown and has no record of staying here. We often receive inquiries from the local Maui residents/public who are not people we want to do business with for whatever reason. We have no problem ONLY catering to the guests we believe are compatible to our property. We do not waste our time on inquiries we feel are people who will not be a compliment to this property or to our existing guests.

Tracy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
3.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
6.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#9 of 62 in Kihei
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.2 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#16 of 62 in Kihei
162 reviews
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sugar Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sugar Beach Inn

Property: Maui Sugar Beach Inn
Address: 26 Wailana Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9054
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Maui Sugar Beach Hotel Kihei
Maui Sugar Beach Inn Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing