We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 201 is AWESOME!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hale Hui Kai Condominium
Ranked #24 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Carbondale, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unit 201 is AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay in this perfect condo for more than a week. We could not find one thing that was wrong with our stay in this unit. We have stayed in many units in the Hale Hui Kai, but this stands as one of our favorites if not THE favorite. It has more of a modern Hawaiian feel rather than the old style furniture and any time we needed anything in the kitchen (i.e. bowls, utensils, etc.) it was there. The other HUGE benefit was that we had plenty of beach toys, chairs, snorkeling gear, and more for our 3 year old who used them all. Our friendly rental manager Martha was always there for anything we needed as well such as finding activities, restaurants, and to answer any questions about the grounds. We HIGHLY recommend this unit and have already booked for next year!

Room Tip: Be sure to use Martha at www.beachbreeze.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCampise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    19
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
48
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Location cannot be beat - right on the water at Keawakapu beach, one of the loveliest beaches, wonderful if you have small kids and don't want to have to pack up the car everytime you go to the beach or pool. Would stay here again just for that, but not in 106. Nice little pool, good for a dip when you don't want to get sandy, or if the kids are wanting to play in the water a bit more and are smaller (waves can be big at the beach, our son loved rolling in the sand which got a bit tiresome!).
We found it incredibly quiet at night - I literally never heard a sound from the other units, slept really well, could just hear wind and waves. The sound concerns others spoke about due to the bedrooms facing the courtyard was not an issue at night or even frankly during the day when our kids napped - everyone is very quiet and respectful.
Staff were very nice and helpful - lent us a pack and play for our baby to sleep in free of charge.
OUr unit looked fine online - standard Hawaiian furniture, not recently renovated but simple and tidy. However, it has not been well maintained and I would not stay in it again. Have stayed in 3 other condos in Maui over the years, none of them fancy or expensive, and this was the only one I have ever felt was dirty. Rugs need replacing, furniture seems grotty and needs cleaning. Patio furniture was filthy - not the wipe off the table dirty (standard in this dusty sandy windy climate) but sticky with spills and guck kind of dirty. Light switches grimy. Box of beach goodies on the lanai (which every condo seems to have, with stuff from other visitors, etc) was completely disgusting and needed a clean out. Bathrooms etc really need a reno and mildew smell in one of the bedrooms (but not the other - weird) was really bad. Dishwasher is cheap and doesn't clean dishes properly. Doors don't close properly, one was all damaged and rotted on the bottom couldn't get one closet door to close. Saw some little "friends" of the cockroach variety - in bathrooms, I think because of the poor condition of the bathrooms, they seek out damp areas. They are harmless and apparently common, but I have never seen them in any other of the condos I have stayed in - I put it down to the condition of this suite. Some of this might be the fault of the property management housekeeping, but most of it I put down to inattention from owners - no pride here. Most of the other places I have stayed have had a guest book, have been immaculately maintained - not so this one. Also, laundry in not in suite, which was not clear from the online description - it's down the hall and you have to pay.
Saw some other suites and spoke to other guests and would stay in another suite, but never in 106 again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lulugirlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

The virtue of this property is its location, which is literally steps from the best beach in Maui. I tried to book this property again for next year (UNIT 309), had the deposit sent, contract signed/received and then the owner found a better deal. She canceled the contract with no warning saying she forgot that family would be there, leaving me totally speechless. This owner wants HALF down in advance with no contract. I initially refused (as did most people) so she eventually contracted with a realtor to do the booking. I booked through the realtor, sent my deposit, felt better that I had a contract and planned the rest of my trip. Contracts mean nothing to this owner, she is based in greed, and canceled our agreement willy nilly. Beware! A lot goes into planning a trip to Maui and having the condo ripped out from under me has cost me time, money and frustration.

Because of one terrible owner, I will not stay here again. One must have confidence in their agreements, especially when you're spending thousands of dollars!

Older building, no real walls (only slats) so that noise travels but location is great. Too many other choices in South Maui to bother with this building ever again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank sscavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We were 6 people: parents, grandparents, and 2 preschoolers. Our top priority was to be directly on a good beach (no roads to cross), and to find a reasonably priced 2 bed, 2 bath unit. This was our first visit to Maui. The Hale Hui Kui ("House by the Ocean") suited us perfectly. It really is just a few steps to the sand - no shoes required - and Keawapu is a lovely beach - sunset views, clean sand, uncrowded - and you can walk for literally miles, from bay to bay, right down into the fancy area of Wailiea, or north to the Kamaole beaches. The surf was high on the first few days, big waves, due to a storm out in the Pacific, but later in the week we had lovely gentle waves breaking close to shore, & we all boogie- and paddleboarded. Location is great: it's next door to a larger resort that has a convenience store and also rents equipment. Very handy. We were impressed by the tropical feel of the Hale Hui Kai. As you walk into the building along the central corridor, you feel like you are in a lush garden, and directly in front of you is the shady atrium - and the glittering ocean. There's a nice little pool, but it isn't used a lot because the beach is so nice. We liked the midweek pastry and coffee party, and we thought that Cindy and all the cleaning crew did a great job. The building is around 35 years old, and it is designed to stay cool without air conditioning.( I think you might need a/c if you are on the third floor. We were on the 2nd and it was fine with just the ceiling fans.) Our first condo was #210. It hasn't been renovated yet (I believe it is scheduled to be done this spring.) and has a great view from the lanai! Fantastic vista out over the ocean, waves pounding in, humpback whales giving birth, sea turtles bobbing along.There is a sofabed in the living room, so we didn't need an air mattress to sleep 6. The condo was well equipped. But - the bedroom walls are completely louvered for ventilation on the corridor side - charming, but so noisy! It was very hard to sleep. One memorable night, we were awakened by people returning home after midnight and holding a conversation in the corridor - you hear every word. And then at 5:30am someone conducted a long telephone interview outside our room! And then at 6:30 someone took a crying baby out for a beach walk... you get the picture. I understand that when renovated, the louvers will be closed up and windows installed, so that should help with the noise. Then we moved to #205, which was a little cheaper. Very nice, newly renovated with granite and stainless steel. Much quieter - we slept well. However, no view - lanai very private, screened by beautiful plants. No sofabed. The blow up mattress isn't very comfy. But we liked both units and hope that we can return next year. For the view, we will try to rent a third floor unit, or 210 again, as it really was spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmumirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

The other reviews really capture the essence of Hale Hui Kai. It's the best on-beach value on Maui, on one of the best & quietest beaches. The condo is at the north end of the beach, which is primarily fronted by expensive & empty beach homes, with the exception of Hale Hui Kai and the neighboring hotel.

This condo is occupied by senior citizens and families with young children. If you are looking for nightlife, go somewhere else. Quiet hours start at 10pm!

Any units with views are phenomenal. We saw a whale being born about 100 yards from our balcony in 210. This unit is about to undergo modernization & privacy upgrades, which really help with the ambient noise from the hallway (they say 'noise from your bedroom can be heard in all neighboring units' and they mean it!). 205 had a view of the hedge, but had been upgraded, and was superbly quiet. Ask if the unit you want to book has been upgraded.

Note that there is no air conditioning, and the 1st and 2nd floors really don't need it. We heard that the top floor can get a bit warmer in the summer.

We were only in the pool a few times because the kids (4 & almost 6) were so thrilled with the huge, beautiful, clean, swimmable beach right outside the condo. There are rules about 'no horseplay' in the pool, which we sort of ignored - they're little kids!! - and a few older vacationers gave us the evil eye. Didn't put us off, though.

Everything was very clean, and they are a little obsessive about rinsing off sand. We were told off a few times for not cleaning our beach toys, although we really were trying! Certainly felt like we had used up all the drinking water on Maui just to clean off our boogie boards. Everything else in Hawaii is carefully conserved so this was weird.

No BBQs allowed on porches due to fire concerns. Bummer, but understandable. The local park (next beach up) has charcoal grills if you are so inclined.

Staff was terrific. Brought us an extra air mattress (since we had two parents, two kids, and two grandparents in a 2BR/2B unit) and made sure we had all our linens. Some of the units don't have a full complement of dishes, but we made do. Units all seem to have beach chairs/towels/toys for visitors to borrow.

Upgraded units are beautiful. Price is right. Location is terrific (best beaches, and within 45 minutes of all kinds of other activities). Whale-watching from this beach is unbelievable. Being on the beach is priceless. You can stay across the road for half the price, but with little kids, it is SO worthwhile to be able to run up to the room for potty/lunch/extra sunscreen. The condo complex on the other side would have taken 10 minutes of navigating and road crossing and safety every time we realize we'd forgotten something.

Oh, also, the hotel next door has super cheap boogie board, lifejacket and paddleboard rentals. There is also an overpriced convenience store which we used for emergencies (ran out of Cheerios!), and beer.

Definitely more our style than a more sterile all-inclusive resort, which we couldn't afford anyways.

Will we go back? Again and again and again...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LR_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Stayed in 305 with two teenagers, very nicely furnished, clean. Full kitchen perfect for traveling with family and teenagers. We loved walking on the beach, you walk down the stairs and are right on the beach. Also, has a beachside pool that the kids liked as well as restaurants within walking distance. Would highly recommend this condo.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lauren3seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

The oceanfront condos are FABULOUS!! Other people mentioned noise but the only noise we heard was the ocean. Small and cozy complex, very private, awesome location. One morning they had coffee and muffins. Management was very friendly and helpful. We were right next to the restaurant and didn't hear any noise but the smells were mouth-watering!! We hope we can visit again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Hui Kai Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Hui Kai Condominium

Property: Hale Hui Kai Condominium
Address: 2994 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hale Hui Kai Condominium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Hui Kai Condominium Hotel Kihei
Hale Hui Kai Condominium Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing