We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dives awesome crew!”

Makena Coast Dive Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maui Scuba Diving, Scuba Boat Charters, Kihei, Wailea, Lahaina, Molokini, Humpback Whales, Dolphins, Underwater Photography & Video classes PADI Daily from Kihei Small Boat Harbor
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

These where our first dives on Molokini we both have a lot of dives in the Caribbean these where really nice dives cold and overcast day but the crew were in good sprits. We dove with a group but where allowed to dive to our exp level.

Early meet up/check in times but this is the norm with good reason.

Lots of whales at the captain was great at stopping the boat and letting us watch.

Thank 1_T_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCaptain, Owner at Makena Coast Dive Charters, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thanks again from Makena Coast Dive Charters, hope to dive with you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 169 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We are not super experienced divers, but had been diving with other companies on Maui (and in other countries). The first thing that was noticed was that the equipment didn't look like it was in great shape in comparison to other places we have been diving at. There were two separate problems with O rings as well. When one diver signaled to the dive master that there was a problem with the regulator, he motioned to continue the dive, rather than going to the surface and addressing the issue. As in other reviews, Steve seemed very interested in taking pictures and not in being sure that the dive was safe and enjoyable for everyone. The whole experience just left us feeling uneasy and we would not dive with this company again.

Thank JayWanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCaptain, Owner at Makena Coast Dive Charters, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

We apologize for the o-ring problems, however o-rings do fail and that is why it is taught by certifying agencies and stated in our dive briefing that divers needed to check their equipment for leaks before entering the water. It is easy for us to replace or repair something before someone enters the water. We can assure them that a serious issue would be handled on the surface. Yes Steve does take pictures, as do many Dive Masters, however after close to 40 years of diving without a fatality or serious injury it seems the record speaks for it self. The other reviews are not referring to Steve, it was another dive leader that also takes photos. We again apologize for your not feeling safe, however we do feel a buddy team of trained certified divers should be confident and comfortable as a buddy team. We would like to offer each of them a free dive trip and free training on o-ring inspection and show them a better day of diving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Dove with 2 other shops on the island and while they were good, this was my favorite dive boat. As an experienced diver who has travelled extensively I found that this boat was well operated, the divemaster knowledgeable, the surface interval not rushed and the diving superb. We had a mix of skills on the boat but they handled it well and the more experienced divers dove our computers/tanks and had a great time. Only issue I had is that this op doesn't rent computers so I had to rent a computer from a separate dive shop.

Thank Alysson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCaptain, Owner at Makena Coast Dive Charters, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you again for diving with Makena Coast Dive Charters, Aloha and hope to see next trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I had done my open water certificate 3 years ago but not done any diving since. They guys were great getting me up to speed with a quick refresh on the way out to the dive site. The first dive was at Molokini, great stuff. The guy leading the dive is also a world class underwater photographer and was very knowledgeable about all the under sea life.

The second dive was much close to shore, saw turtles, went through a small cave. It has given me the diving bug again, can't wait to get back into it!

Also saw a bunch of whales on the way out to the first dive!

Thank Joiejojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were very satisfied with this dive company for a number of reasons and would certainly recommend it to anyone. The dive masters / crew were engaging and very knowledgeable of both the sport and the region's dive sites and were able to provide us an excellent experience. We were taken to the back side of Molikini for a drift dive and then to 5 Cave ("Graves") where we saw numerous shark, turtles, eels etc. It was great to be served up the muffins, fruit and drinks throughout. Great price and the equipment was decent enough.

Thank CLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makena Coast Dive Charters also viewed

 

Been to Makena Coast Dive Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing