We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had safety concerns and equipment issues too”

Makena Coast Dive Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maui Scuba Diving, Scuba Boat Charters, Kihei, Wailea, Lahaina, Molokini, Humpback Whales, Dolphins, Underwater Photography & Video classes PADI Daily from Kihei Small Boat Harbor
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had safety concerns and equipment issues too”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We are not super experienced divers, but had been diving with other companies on Maui (and in other countries). The first thing that was noticed was that the equipment didn't look like it was in great shape in comparison to other places we have been diving at. There were two separate problems with O rings as well. When one diver signaled to the dive master that there was a problem with the regulator, he motioned to continue the dive, rather than going to the surface and addressing the issue. As in other reviews, Steve seemed very interested in taking pictures and not in being sure that the dive was safe and enjoyable for everyone. The whole experience just left us feeling uneasy and we would not dive with this company again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JayWanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCaptain, Owner at Makena Coast Dive Charters, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We apologize for the o-ring problems, however o-rings do fail and that is why it is taught by certifying agencies and stated in our dive briefing that divers needed to check their equipment for leaks before entering the water. It is easy for us to replace or repair something before someone enters the water. We can assure them that a serious issue would be handled on the surface. Yes Steve does take pictures, as do many Dive Masters, however after close to 40 years of diving without a fatality or serious injury it seems the record speaks for it self. The other reviews are not referring to Steve, it was another dive leader that also takes photos. We again apologize for your not feeling safe, however we do feel a buddy team of trained certified divers should be confident and comfortable as a buddy team. We would like to offer each of them a free dive trip and free training on o-ring inspection and show them a better day of diving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    19
    2
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kempner, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best diving experience out of several different dive ops on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Dove with 2 other shops on the island and while they were good, this was my favorite dive boat. As an experienced diver who has travelled extensively I found that this boat was well operated, the divemaster knowledgeable, the surface interval not rushed and the diving superb. We had a mix of skills on the boat but they handled it well and the more experienced divers dove our computers/tanks and had a great time. Only issue I had is that this op doesn't rent computers so I had to rent a computer from a separate dive shop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alysson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCaptain, Owner at Makena Coast Dive Charters, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you again for diving with Makena Coast Dive Charters, Aloha and hope to see next trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First dive in 3 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I had done my open water certificate 3 years ago but not done any diving since. They guys were great getting me up to speed with a quick refresh on the way out to the dive site. The first dive was at Molokini, great stuff. The guy leading the dive is also a world class underwater photographer and was very knowledgeable about all the under sea life.

The second dive was much close to shore, saw turtles, went through a small cave. It has given me the diving bug again, can't wait to get back into it!

Also saw a bunch of whales on the way out to the first dive!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joiejojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great dives, knowledgeable crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were very satisfied with this dive company for a number of reasons and would certainly recommend it to anyone. The dive masters / crew were engaging and very knowledgeable of both the sport and the region's dive sites and were able to provide us an excellent experience. We were taken to the back side of Molikini for a drift dive and then to 5 Cave ("Graves") where we saw numerous shark, turtles, eels etc. It was great to be served up the muffins, fruit and drinks throughout. Great price and the equipment was decent enough.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“awesome dives, great crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Three friends and I visited Maui for a long weekend and thought about diving while we were there. We live on Oahu and had heard that the diving in Maui was really great. The folks we were staying with recommended Makena Coast Dive Charters, so we looked into it... glad we did. The dives were awesome. Joe was our DM and Steve was the skipper. Both were totally friendly and very knowledgable about the diving around Maui. They took us to some excellent dive sites, the first being Molokini Marine Reserve. Steve told us the vis would be around 100-200 ft and he wasn't kidding! The dive was amazing. We spotted 3 white tipped reef sharks, a free swimming moray, and lots of cool critters along the way. Between dives, during the surface interval, classic hawaiian snacks like fresh pineapple and fruit juice were provided which was a nice touch. Both Joe and Steve briefed both dives thoroughly, especially Joe who explained all the various things we would see along each dive. He was also very good about pointing things out underwater that may have otherwise gone unseen. My friends and I are all Navy Divers and very proficient underwater and the couple that was also on the charter seemed to have a decent amount of recreational dives under their belt. I would never say that Joe and Steve were lax as a result of this, quite the contrary, safety was paramount, but Joe was a great DM in that he trusted the divers' abilities, making the dives more enjoyable. Overall it was a great experience and we're glad it was a part of our trip to Maui. I would absolutely recommend Makena Coast Dive Charters to anyone going to dive in Maui and will definitely look them up when I go back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makena Coast Dive Charters also viewed

 

Been to Makena Coast Dive Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing