We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Maui Eco Tours
from $91.40
More Info
from $120.43
More Info
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
139
16
9
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
139
16
9
4
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 174 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2017

We had a great outing (about 4 hrs) We did the 4.5 mile South Maui kayak/snorkel trip. Our guide Garret (I think) was great. He was a wealth of info on the area. We kayaked out from Makena Landing, past 5 Caves then out a mile or so to watch for whales. We did see a number of whales in the distance. There was a lot of tail slapping easily visible. We went back to a "turtle cleaning" area and saw a good number of turtles. We had a really good time. Would recommend that people are fit enough to do the trip especially if the wind comes up as it did on our outing. Guide provided water/juice and granola type bars.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016

We went out out of Makena and kayaked to two different snorkeling spots. Cory was very informative. We saw many types of fish, a handful of turtles, a spotted eagle ray and a manta ray! Cory was great to help our party member safely back to shore when sea sickness set in. We had a great trip and learned a ton about the sea life and surrounding area.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank loc195
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2016

We had a great time kayaking and snorkeling in West Maui with Maui Eco Tours. It was our second time kayaking in Maui, so we went to a different spot than last time. We didn't get to see as many sea turtles as we did the first time since the tide was a little murky but Jake, our guide did show us some awesome fish and a really cool coral. I would definitely recommend!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank shannonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

We left from Makena Beach in Maui. Our guide, Jake, though young, was clearly experienced and knowledgeable. ( plus he was damned funny and entertaining! ). He really helped the couple on our trip who had never kayaked- and when they had such a hard time, he made it funny and we laughed so much! God, it was fun!
We kayaked in the ocean- exhilarating!- and snorkeled twice in 2 locations. Jake would free dive to the bottom and pluck some ocean creature- like a red pencil urchin- tell us all about it, let us hold it and feel it "breathing", then dive back down and carefully replace it where he had gotten it. Very cool and very respectful.
We saw manta rays and honu and many colorful fish. So much fun! We had beverages and snack bars.
We had the premier package, so after our tour, Jake directed us to a nearby food truck where our lunches were paid for and we had some great food! We were pretty happy with Jawz food truck.
It was a great experience and we couldn't have been more pleased. And we had a BLAST!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank torikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2016

My husband, daughter (13), and son (11) did the kayak trip which included whale watching and snorkeling. Our tour started out with Garrett, our instructor, leading us out to where we could spot some of the whales. We saw a few in the distance and could hear them blowing and making all different noises as if they were right next to us. Garrett was fantastic and explained about the history of the islands around us, told us about the various marine life, and other interesting facts about Maui. I was so impressed with his knowledge and learned so many unique things. We paddled over after about an hour to a reef where there was the best snorkeling I have ever done. Garrett pointed out things that I would have never seen such as a large eel camouflaged in the rocks. There were so many turtles and one had about 12 fish eating the algae off its back - it was so incredible swimming next to all the turtles and the beautiful colored fish!! I would highly recommend this trip and ask for Garrett!

Date of experience: February 2016
2  Thank lrrdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews