We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Maui Eco Tours
from $91.40
More Info
from $120.43
More Info
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
139
16
9
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
139
16
9
4
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 174 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

What a great time! Garrett was a great tour guide. He knew what we needed to know to be safe as well as lots of info about the surrounding islands. We had an amazing time swimming with the turtles! I would recommend this trip to everyone! So amazing!

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Jimmie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2015 via mobile

Two friends and myself did a kayaking trip yesterday, May 13th, that included a newly married couple from Michigan. The three of us, to use a euphemism, are women of a certain age but are all in very good condition. The launch location was changed late afternoon on the 12th which we agreed to. Additionally, I asked if it would be possible to start at 8 instead of 7:30 as we had just arrived in Maui the afternoon before and were still tired. What we also didn't realize was that the driving time went from 10 minutes to an hour which caused us to arrive 15 minutes late. Something Garrett made sure to comment on.

From the time we were in our kayaks, our guide rarely spoke to us, rather almost exclusively to the other kayakers, therefore we heard next to nothing about any of the issues he was expounding on which was the very reason we paid to go on the excursion.

I may be incorrect but it seems to me that we paid the same amount as the married couple paid. Mr Garrett needs to be taken aside and refreshed on who his customers are, not just younger people but older ones as well.

In closing, you have lost three good customers and I personally would be hard put to recommend this company and hope you consider this in your next recommendation.

Robin Strong

3  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiEcoTours, Manager at Maui Eco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2015

Aloha,

Thank you for your candid feedback - we appreciate your comments and take to heart concerns from our guests. My name is Roger and I have been working with Maui Eco Tours for about 15 years.

Your trip was relocated due to the strong & gusty winds in that area during the time you were scheduled. We complied with your request to delay the start time as we wanted to be as accommodating as possible.

We take safety very seriously and watch weather conditions closely to minimize the negative impact they may have on your adventure with us. Our aim is to provide the best possible experience for you and sometimes this involves relocating our departure points / activity area.

A guides job is to manage the tour and ensure customers safety and enjoyment. Sometimes managing this is difficult when guests have a variety of skills, personalities, expectations. Guides do their best to mitigate any conflicts and try to involve all guests with all aspects of the tour but does not force guests to be "interested" and allows those to enjoy in their own way. There is no test at the end so attention to the guide is not mandatory.

Garret is one of our top guides and has been providing great customer service with us for about 3 years now. We apologize that you interpreted that he was not paying attention to you and providing the the contact you were expecting. Our guides primary concerns include safety, and guests experience and they work hard to provide each guest with a memorable experience. May I ask if you spoke with Garret about this during the tour? Dealing with so many people / personalities day to day, they sometimes unintentionally miss queues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2015

Had a great excursion with Fitz! Our group consisted of two children (ages 7 & 9), their parents, and grandparents. We had the benefit of relatively calm waters and beautiful weather. Besides waking the kids up at 5:45a, the trickiest part of the trip was launching the kayak in and out of the water due to the waves but all things considered, we all managed it quite well. Fitz knew right where the whales were so we happened upon them almost immediately. We had to do very little paddling since the whales were right off shore. The kayaking to Turtle Town took a bit more effort but that was likely due to a child in my kayak who would rather stare at the ocean than paddle. :) Snorkeling was just OK. A large boat arrived shortly after we did and it become crowded very quickly. The water was also a bit cold so wear a swim shirt or wetsuit if you have it. Also, bring a waterproof camera. The scenery is amazing!

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank 4mntravelers2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2015

Awesome trip with Rusty!! The morning was extremely calm. Rusty made it easy for my wife and I to handle the Kayak with ease and was always right there to assist. We kayaked straight out to whale watch and were fortunate enough to see several. We then headed toward the reef and spent a great time seeing all the reef had to offer. Turtles, eels, anemone, urchins, loads of a variety of fish. Truly an awesome time and a highlight of our trip. Thanks very much to Rusty for putting us at ease and the friendly atmosphere.

Chuck & Lori

Date of experience: February 2015
1  Thank 551chuckc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2014

We had not kayaked in Maui but had seen lots of folks out and about in the morning, so decided to try it. What a fun trip. Just us and a father and son and our guide, Dan. Saw lots of turtles and learned the places that they like to hang out. The day was not too windy early which made for a nice kayak trip.

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews