We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome trip!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waiohuli Beach Hale
Ranked #37 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed November 30, 2007

We stayed at the Waiohuli Beach Hale in Kihei Maui from Nov. 5th to the 12th 2007. The unit we rented was #110. We reserved the unit through AA Oceanfront Condo Rentals in Kihei, which we've used before.
Note, all of the units are individually owned, so this review is for this unit only.
This is a very quiet complex. I believe a lot of the units are owner occupied. I did not see any children in the complex while I was there, which was nice. There were a lot of older couples.
This was one of the cleanest, nicest units! Everything looks as if it's been remodeled. The entire unit has new tile, and the kitchen is completely remodeled with a nice arch and beautiful blue tile. It was stocked with towels, linnens, everything you'd need in the kitchen too as far as applicances and dishes/cookware.
The bathrooms were nice and clean. There are AC units in the front room and both bedrooms that work very well. They even have remotes. There is a TV, CD/DVD player in the front room. The only complaint was that the beds were pretty hard.

As far as the grounds, they are very well taken care of. There is an onside manager who is always working on something. He's out there every morning rinsing the pool area and bbq area down so it's nice and clean. The pool is fabulous. It's dark blue tile, so it stays nice and warm. It's huge too! There is a BBQ area with lots of benches and 3 BBQ's. (There is a grocery store within walking distance) There's also a shuffleboard setup. The whole property is so well taken care of. The yard is HUGE! The grass is so thick and soft.

All in all, the place is amazing. I'd stay there over and over.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 65 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2007

Stayed at Waiohuli Beach Hale in Unit A101. The moment we arrived we feel in love with the place and the condo. The owner did a great job in remodeling the condo. The color scheme through out the unit is great. And the decor is beautiful. The kitchen was well equip with every thing you could imagine. We just love the king size bed in the master and there were 2 double beds in the guest bedroom instead of the usual single beds. That was awesome. We love sitting out on the lanai and watching the sunset every evening. We found the grounds to be well taken cared of. I would recommend this place and unit to anyone. The grocery store was close by where you can just walk to it. The best part is if you have a late flight out they won't charge you extra for a late check out like some other places. We would like to thank the owner for a wonderful place to stay. It's all we were looking for a much, much more.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kepola05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2007

Waiohuli is an incredible spot. Stayed there many times. However stay only in the "Courtyard" area around the pool area and away from the street. The advertised #202 is in a really bad location. The advertised mountain view out your front door is actually the parking lot to main road. The roar of the industrial cooler from the market just across the street will keep you awake at night unless you close all your windows. No curtains in living area and sun will blast you out even with the cheesy air conditioner in the room. This particular condo is a rip-off and is not as advertised! Beware!!!!!!! Don't risk this one!

9  Thank jwmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2006

We stayed in unit 118 -- ground floor in Building D in the middle of the building. Second floor might be quieter as the bedroom backed onto the walkway. I am an early riser so it wasn't a huge issue. I agree with the previous reviews: the unit needs a little updating, it is clean, serviceable but tired. Not the most comfortable bed for a 210 lb guy and his 145 lb wife. Tried out the sofa bed but it was even more uncomfortable. Got used to the bed after a few nights. TV with lots of cable channels but no video or DVD. I am not a fan of wall to wall carpet in the tropics. No A/C but fans in living room and bedroom. It was fine when we were there. Nice cross ventilation. THe kitchen had many dishes and utensils but not a lot of staples such as oil, sugar, etc. It was clean, quiet and the grounds were well tended. I forgot about the fake ducks until we got there -- ha! My husband thought the fountains would look neater (less cluttered) without them. Pool was great! shallow (max. 4.5 ft) but very nice. On the sunny days, it was very warm in the afternoons but never too warm. It's solar heated, so it was apparently cold during the rainy spell. It was lovely to fry on the deck chairs and then take a dip in the pool. Very nice, friendly older crowd both the visitors and the permanent residents. Some families with children. Was on the beach, not across from the beach like in south Kihei. Centrally located for grocery, shopping, ice cream, restaurants, bars, beaches and everything else on the island especially if you use the money you save on accommodation to get a rental car -- ~$150/week. We would definitely stay again. It was excellent value for the price but not for you if you want room service, maid service or any other service. It reminded me of the motels with kitchens we used to stay at on road trip holidays with my family. Good times!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank vancouverlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2005

Overall an average condo on some nice property. My wife and I stayed in unit 208 from December 25th through the 28th. Unfortunately unit 208 should not be on the top of anyone's list at this condo. It is right next to the parking lot and in close range to the garbage cans, so when the truck would come at 7 AM we would be awoken. It also didn't have a view of much other than the man made pond with fake ducks:) If you have any choice ask for one of the 4 units FACING the ocean or any of them that are closer to the ocean.

The actual units were pretty outdated and in serious need of remodeling, the bathrooms were probably clean but just had that old feeling. Our family was with us so we looked at their rooms, 207 and 216, both of which were equally outdated. The bed was comfortable and all the condo necessities were provided, and there is a grocery store across the side street.

The location of the property is pretty nice but Kihei is not a great swimming beach, much better suited for walking. It LOOKS great but in actuality it has many large rocks about 15 feet in so if you want to go in I would suggest booties of some sort. The pool, barbeque area, and shuffleboard were great though! The pool was jump-right-in warm, the barbeques were brand new, and one of the two shuffleboard courts were in fine condition. I didn't know shuffleboard could be so much fun:)

If you are looking for a nice beach and snorkeling area I would recommend the south side of the west island area. There is a long stretch of area where you can park and go in so it is not very busy. The coral is not bad for a beach entry and there is a break about 100 yards out so it is pretty smooth.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
21  Thank Eric And Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fresno, CA
216
Reviewed July 6, 2004

We stayed here June 22-29 based on recommendations from friends. Your basic Maui condo! It was clean, quiet, well-located in Kihei, and had nicely groomed gardens. The building is older but pretty well kept up, and the other guests were friendly. The supermarket is across the street. Our room faced the ocean but no beach (not a good area for swimming) although awesome beaches were just 5 mins away.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, WA
16
Reviewed April 21, 2004

This condo complex is great - beautifully maintained, quiet - and within walking distance of just about anything you might need. We used our rental car for site-seeing around the island, but next time we'll probably just take a taxi from the airport and rent a car for a couple of days.

The condo unit was just great! Very clean, recently remodelled and at a reasonable price. Very nice furnishings and decorating, the kitchen was well-equiped and the linens seemed brand new. Their is no dishwasher in the unit.

The view is wonderful too. You can see that these owners really take care of their unit. Share this unit with another couple and it's really a bargain! We are going to book it for next year!!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.0 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#27 of 62 in Kihei
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hale Kai O'kihei
Hale Kai O'kihei
#29 of 62 in Kihei
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Luana Kai Resort
Luana Kai Resort
#18 of 62 in Kihei
173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
0.7 mi away
Leinaala
Leinaala
#50 of 62 in Kihei
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiohuli Beach Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiohuli Beach Hale

Address: 2463 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7285
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Waiohuli Beach Hale Hotel Kihei
Waiohuli Beach Hale Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing