We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish tacos delight!”
Review of Maui Tacos

Maui Tacos
Ranked #38 of 180 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: At Maui's Tacos, we've taken the best flavors of Mexico and fused them with the flavors of Aloha! A favorite for locals and tourists alike, Maui's Tacos serves Mexican cuisine with a Hawaiian twist. Join us for our famous fish tacos and our salsa bar.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fish tacos delight!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We hit up Maui Tacos because it was recommend by Zaget and Frommer's and it did not disappoint.

The basic fish taco is around 4" with cabbage and white fish. The sauce is tangy and spicy without being excessive or over done.

The Baja fish taco comes with black beans or pinto beans, and is equally big as the Basic.

The prices are reasonable, around 5.00 & 5.50 for the two types of tacos.

The side order if chips is huge, but the chips are a little dry compared to what I am use to.
Overall, a great, great place for lunch or a mid-day snack.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeatriceKiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiTacosHawaii, Owner at Maui Tacos, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Mahalo for the Great Review you left....We take great pride in the Fish Tacos we serve and look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo
Anthony Kern
anthonyk@mauitacos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    233
    121
    48
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Decent Food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Its kind of "chain like" but the food is several steps above what you would get at a chain. The employees didnt seem to excited to have a customer, as I came at a slow time. They all just kind of stared at me until someone finally came over and helped me out. Food was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jarod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiTacosHawaii, General Manager at Maui Tacos, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Mahalo for the Review you left....We take great pride in the product we serve and look forward to your next visit!

Sorry for the lack of excitement in the staff....we will take a look as to who was working on the 9th....do you happen to know about what time you visited?

Mahalo
Anthony Kern
anthonyk@mauitacos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were looking for a simple, affordable, and really good fish tacos. This place fit the bill. Didn't look like much, but seating was outside and the tacos were great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abbey0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good, Inexpensive Lunch Spot”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went to Maui Taco's Kihei location for lunch and really enjoyed it. The setting is cramped and disheveled, and the staff are borderline disinterested. But the food was good, and my family of 3 only spent $18. I'll gladly come here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freutmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liptovsky Mikulas, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good taco”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had here Fish and maui taco, which was trest especially with several spicy sauces. Worth to go for quick meal and for hot spicy meal lovers

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jozi_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiTacosHawaii, Owner at Maui Tacos, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Jozi_trip,

Mahalo for the great review. We are proud that we were able to serve you such a good taco. We look forward to your next visit to the Islands.

Mahalo,
Anthony Kern
anthonyk@mauitacos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing