We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A-roi!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Thai Bistro

Maui Thai Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Maui Thai Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary, Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic yet contemporary Thai Dining in a clean, relaxed environment.
bbcbearuk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A-roi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We went to this venue under the old owners on previous trips and had actually stopped going because the food was uninteresting and quite frankly had been hybridised somewhat to allow for local, i.e. mainland US tastes.

So, the decor is very minimalist, cosy is not the word but it's comfortable and there is plenty of room between tables. It could get a bit noisy because there are lots of hard surfaces, but that is a minor niggle.

The food was very very good. My partner is veggie ( no fish ) and had still plenty to choose from. I also got the impression that if we wanted to tweak any meat/fish dishes it wouldn't have been a problem. Orders are taken via a tablet, so if you want to know what a dish looks like, there are pictures available.

It is a BYOB establishment and the manager not only brought chilled glasses to an adjoining table, but also supplied a cool bag full of ice to keep things cold. Now that makes a change from an ice bucket!

We went on a Saturday and there was a constant flow of customers; a team of five upfront kept it all running smoothly. I would not hesitate to either return or recommend and hope that there is enough of a market for them to keep the food as authentic and tasty as it is.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bbcbearuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    174
    52
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kihei
Level Contributor
161 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“New Ownership”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

New owners, new décor, new menu...all positive changes. The menu is limited, but offers a nice variety of food. We started our meal with the vegetarian summer rolls - yum. My husband had the Drunken Shrimp which he enjoyed, I had the Green Curry with spareribs (as suggested by the waitress). This too was nice and spicy. Portions seemed a bit smaller and yet pricier than the previous owners. Will return - just not a frequently as before due to the increased prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Solid Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I believe this place has recently gone through a redesign, both with the menu and interior. It has a modern feel now. Waiters take your order down on a smart phone, modern, trendy silverware, etc. In any event, the food is good, they have an interesting menu. It may not be the best Thai I have have ever had, but I only have good things to say about it, so five stars. The service was attentive. Their ice water was chilled, in addition to having ice cubes. Small details that you wouldn't expect in a relatively laid back place in Maui. Entrees are about 15 dollars each. They have curries, rice and noodle dishes. I would recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAHAINA MAUI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food on Maui, new name and owner Maui Thai Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Met friends here for dinner, stopped at the Kihei Discount Liquor (in the same shopping center) since this is a BYOB place for now. The decor seemed a little sparse, but it was really clean and at least it wasn't cluttered. I am a big girl and the seats didn't look inviting, but surprisingly they were very comfortable. Now for the important part, the food! We decided to order 4 dishes and eat family style. We ordered the papaya salad, Tom Kai soup, pad Thai, and braised short ribs. We got everything med to mild for the spice level, since we wanted to taste the food and not just the heat. OMG, sooo good! I will be craving this place! There was not a single thing I would have changed! I have never eaten green papaya salad, won't be my last time. Sweet with a little spice. Braised ribs were done prefect. Pad Thai was balanced and not over cooked....and the soup! We licked the bowl! Grace did a great job of serving us. One complaint, they were out of the Mango sticky rice...bummer

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KATHYBEGOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The food here was delicious there isn't a large variety around the area so a Thai restaurant was a welcome change. The staff was helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S_moham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Thai Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Maui Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing