We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, But the Food...?”
Review of Antonio's

Antonio's
Ranked #86 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Woodinville,WA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Service, But the Food...?”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were looking forward to a great Italian dinner, but unfortunately were disappointed. Hubby ordered chicken parmesan which came with a side of pasta(same marinara). I ordered the veal scallopini(sp?), which was covered with a batter, then deep fried., also with a side of the same heavy marinara sauce, which didn't offer a fresh tomato flavor. We both felt wre were given a Chinese version of Italian cooking. BUT the server was delightful, cheerful, and we just couldn't complain, as she could not have been nicer! Needless to say, we won't return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvgr8trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    62
    23
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
200 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Risotto is good ...”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Location is not it's best feature but this place does a good risotto. Very small, so be prepared to wait.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KiheiSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place for pasta”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

On our vacation, the oldest grandboy got to pick a restaurant and wanted pasta. We found Antonio's in a strip mall & went in, not expecting much. The spaghetti & meatballs was average, although they had large portions.The grandboys both had fettucine alfredo and while they liked it, the adults found it bland. My wife had the pasta with artichokes/mushrooms which was good. The atmosphere was great! Only 2 wait women but they were hustling, laughing with the customers, and drew everyone else in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Detta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Faaaaaantastic”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I really don't understand the negative reviews. The food was delicious. Someone said there was no atmosphere but I'm telling you the place oozes with back in time ambience. The kitchen is in full view. Nothing is pretentious. The service awesome and the cleanliness impeccable.The tomato based sauces and soups are incredible.

To the detractors, this restaurants makes no claims of being "fine" dining so if that's what you're looking for good luck on Maui. For us it was laid back Maui style, relaxing and tasty. Kinda felt like home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The BEST Italian in S. Maui”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was extremely impressed with the level of service and food at Antonio's considering it was for dinner after our wedding at Secret Beach on Maui. It felt like family upon walking in, and the entire evening. If you ever want excellent Italian food, at great prices for Maui, and extremely fast and friendly service, this is the place. Bellissimo!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monkelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio's also viewed

 

Been to Antonio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing