We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Realy awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Kitchen

Da Kitchen
Ranked #21 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $6
Cuisines: Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Realy awesome”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

great food, nice staff, good choice of different meal to choose from with some kind of special plates that is realy cool

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank docoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    459
    172
    49
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Caldwell, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value on Maui!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Food here was unusually inexpensive for Maui. This place was recommended by friends who had recently stayed down the road from Kihei and their review was spot on. If you go with two people, consider sharing a three meat local plate - it seriously is enough food for possible three people.

Be advised - it's not fancy. What they lack in style points they do make up in taste. Plenty of free parking. Go here - you won't be disappointed.

I'd recommend skipping breakfast and having an early lunch here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee on Delaware, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You have to go here!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The food was outstanding. We kept going back. A definate on the list of places to go. My son had a fish burger, and I had a beef dish that was out of this world.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank triple007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food was average but service was very slow”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner on Tuesday as Fred's taco tuesday had an hour wait. We did not have to wait to take our order but waited 50 minutes for our food. Wish we would have stayed at Fred's and waited. The pulled pork was not very good and chicken was a little dry. We were not the only ones thinking the food was taking along time- a couple guys went up to complain it took do long. Probably will not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ballyloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Want to eat like a local?”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

You want to eat like a local? Eat at Da Kitchen. Located on the same building as Cafe O'Lei, just on the side. I was lazy to drive all the way to Kahului so we're fortunate that this place is only 2+ miles away from our hotel.

why not 5 stars? They don't have spam masubi!!! :( We were just planning on getting spam masubi and sharing a plate. A lunch plate can sustain an african tribe for days! It's that big! We decided to try the Mahi Mahi tempura and chicken katsu with gravy.

The tempura was crazy good! Crunchy on the outside and super soft flaky fish meat on the inside. Good batter, great seasoning. Loved it to death!

The chicken katsu was 3 feet tall! I only managed to eat the first layer, the side of gravy was a good touch, kept dipping the chicken in it. Very tasty and good as well. It's a "Hawaiian soul food".

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Da Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing