We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hole in the wall, but great sushi!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi Paradise

Sushi Paradise
Ranked #68 of 172 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall, but great sushi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were a little uneasy about the looks of this place when we first drove up. It looks like a laundry mat in a strip mall. However, we decided to give it a go. We were pleasantly surprised to find out the sushi was delicious. You could really see that the sushi chef took great care in preparing each dish. The sashimi had huge pieces of fish and all very, very fresh. The atmosphere and server (she was so grumpy and a bit scary) left a lot to be desired; but do try it for the food. It was not that expensive as you have to remember that you are on Maui. Everything is higher priced then home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun_Fun_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    23
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“sushi place close by”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

i liked the local tuna sushi but i thought it was overpriced. I wanted to try the local tuna after watching that tuna fishing show but being from the west coast we have the best sushi and prices around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ritchieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Maybe we're spoiled in Vancouver”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We tried this place on our last night in Kihei. The sushi was fresh and nicely presented but not too much different than I've seen at many other sushi places. I really didn't like the miso soup...had a strange flavour. Tried sea urchin for the first time and it was really fresh. There is really only noodles and sushi on the menu. Service was not particularly polite....I think the server wanted us gone as there was a table of 8 Japanese patrons who she would rather serve. They can only handle about a dozen people at once. In a strip mall. Reservations are a must.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JazzieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Chef Watanabe Is an incredible Artist/Chef. Always fresh cuisine and made with Aloha, truly . Have been dining here for 15 years and cannot get enough ! I brought my Mother here last year and she fell in love with everything

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
149 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fresh, Fresh, Fresh!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Wait your turn, relax, have a beer or some saki and wait for the best sushi on the island. There is only one great chef at work and he's worth the wait! Don't miss the tastiest sushi on Maui

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonLynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Paradise also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing