We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FISH TACOS”
Review of Horhitos Taqueria

Horhitos Taqueria
Ranked #47 of 179 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FISH TACOS”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were sent here by Tall Kyle (Maui Beach Boys) what a great find! Thanks Kyle the fish tacos, the wrap sandwich and the quesadillas were quality I seldom expect from a restaurant let alone a mobile food unit. We made the trip here 4 times in a week. I have and will continue to spread the word about this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    49
    15
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hood River, OR
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Shrimp Taco!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Ate here twice on our last trip and the entire family loved it. $3 shrimp taco or $4 fish taco of either mahi mahi or Ono, your choice. Tortilla is soft and almost doughy with tender shrimp, sauce, veggies and cheese. The fish tacos were great (the Ono was very mild) but the shrimp stole the show as the stand out! Not huge portions, but get a couple and add wonderfully fresh Mac salad for $2 and you got yourself a great hot meal for around $10. Hard to beat and open late. Right across from "the cove" where people surf in Kihei. Walk across the street and take in the sunset from cove park.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueC0llar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best cheap tacos in Kihei”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The locals love this place the shrimp taco is incredible $3 chicken, beef, pork $2 I love this place too and recommend it to everyone quality food at cheap prices hard to find on Maui

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shrimp Taco's From God”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I LOVE this place! I would eat there every day of our vacation if my family would let me. They liked it to but they wanted to go and "Do stuff" in other places, like there is something else to do on Maui other than eat shrimp tacos.

Some tips

* Can get busy so try to time your visit outside of regular lunch and dinner
* Be prepared to stand, seating is at a premium
* Share a table with others and have a great conversation
* Quite economical if you avoid soda or other $$ drinks
* 3 Tacos was a perfect light lunch

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LVToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MUST TRY !!! Fantastic !”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

You MUST try Horhitos if you are anywhere near Kihei. We stayed just up the street and ate here several times. Fish tacos are fantastic, and the kids liked the chicken tacos too ($2 for excellent chicken taco - how can you lose ?). Made fresh to order, with a nice shaded seating area out front. I tried one of each seafood taco (Mahimahi, Shrimp, Ono and Whitefish - that's 4 tacos if your counting !) and all were great, although Mahimahi was best. Friendly staff as well. HIGHLY RECOMMEND !!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horhitos Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Horhitos Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing