We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shave Ice”

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice
Ranked #1 of 37 Quick Bites in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Description: All Shave Ice is Not Created Equal... We specialize in and are passionate about serving the BEST shave ice! Now open for 5 years, we have rapidly become recognized as the top shave ice shop in Maui and one of the top 3 shave ice shops in ALL of Hawaii! We are known for the softest ice (comparable to Waiola's on Oahu), the best tasting flavors (we make 100% of our flavors using premium fruit purees, fresh fruits (when available), extracts, and concentrates from Hawaii and all across the United States), and warm friendly service with true ALOHA spirit! We specialize in our tropical fruit flavors. Our mango, coconut, pineapple, lilikoi (passion fruit), and guava taste like biting into the fresh fruit itself. From the filtered water to the premium gourmet Roselani's Ice Cream to the homemade mochi and azuki add-ons, we have thought through every detail of the shave ice to provide the BEST tasting shave ice possible! Get rid of any preconceived notions of what a shave ice or snow cone is like.....this takes shave ice beyond the highest level imaginable!
Restaurant details
Description: All Shave Ice is Not Created Equal... We specialize in and are passionate about serving the BEST shave ice! Now open for 5 years, we have rapidly become recognized as the top shave ice shop in Maui and one of the top 3 shave ice shops in ALL of Hawaii! We are known for the softest ice (comparable to Waiola's on Oahu), the best tasting flavors (we make 100% of our flavors using premium fruit purees, fresh fruits (when available), extracts, and concentrates from Hawaii and all across the United States), and warm friendly service with true ALOHA spirit! We specialize in our tropical fruit flavors. Our mango, coconut, pineapple, lilikoi (passion fruit), and guava taste like biting into the fresh fruit itself. From the filtered water to the premium gourmet Roselani's Ice Cream to the homemade mochi and azuki add-ons, we have thought through every detail of the shave ice to provide the BEST tasting shave ice possible! Get rid of any preconceived notions of what a shave ice or snow cone is like.....this takes shave ice beyond the highest level imaginable!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best Shave Ice! No where can beat this company- their ice is finer shaved and thus smoother. Their flavors are better, we tried a few other places that just tasted like sugar water, but Ululani’s flavors are delightful! Highly recommend the macadamia nut ice cream addition- makes for an amazing treat!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank lovealwayslisa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Y, Owner at Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha Lisa, Mahalo for your awesome and thoughtful 5-star review! It's extremely gratifying to know that we hit our mark with you. Hope to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I never knew what the big deal was with shave ice until we went here! OMG it’s the best treat ever! I crave this now, they use real fruit juice in their shave ice, and ice cream at the bottom that is to die for! I’ve never tasted anything so good in my life! Now I get it and will always come back for more!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank judyj752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Y, Owner at Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

WOW, Judy! Thank you for the awesome review! You have no idea how much we appreciate hearing everything that you conveyed. It is what we strive for. Mahalo and much Aloha...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

This place is worth visiting for a cool treat. I'm very fussy about my sweets and hate anything artificial. Our shave ice was cool, refreshing and oh so yummy. You can taste that the syrups used are not garbage, overly sugary and artificial. My only complaint is that they use food colouring, not necessary.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MontrealNancy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Y, Owner at Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nancy, Thank you for your "Refreshing" 5-star review and all of the positives that you conveyed! In the future, please ask for our "All Natural" flavors. I am sure we will fulfill your tastebuds and concerns when you try them. Aloha...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

We went three times on our trip to Maui. It was the best ice of anywhere we tried (and we tried a lot)! I liked the Mango-Habenero flavor with sweet cream topping.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jmaycock9091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Y, Owner at Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Jmaycock9091, Thank you for your 5-star review and for coming to our shop three times during your trip! I'm glad that you were able to try our Mango-Habenero flavor. It's great for someone that can handle the "heat" and loves exotic flavors (of which we have quite a few of). Hope to see you back. Aloha...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

The line of locals and tourists tells you that you're in the right place. So many fun flavors and all of them natural based. They said there were coming to LA....I hope it's true!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Y, Owner at Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mahalo for your review and 5-star rating, David! It is true, we are opening our first franchise on the continental US in Hollywood, CA. We hope you are one of the first to try our shave ice on the "mainland". Aloha...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing