We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best on Maui!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice
Ranked #1 of 18 Dessert in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: All Shave Ice is Not Created Equal... We specialize in and are passionate about serving the BEST shave ice! Now open for 5 years, we have rapidly become recognized as the top shave ice shop in Maui and one of the top 3 shave ice shops in ALL of Hawaii! We are known for the softest ice (comparable to Waiola's on Oahu), the best tasting flavors (we make 100% of our flavors using premium fruit purees, fresh fruits (when available), extracts, and concentrates from Hawaii and all across the United States), and warm friendly service with true ALOHA spirit! We specialize in our tropical fruit flavors. Our mango, coconut, pineapple, lilikoi (passion fruit), and guava taste like biting into the fresh fruit itself. From the filtered water to the premium gourmet Roselani's Ice Cream to the homemade mochi and azuki add-ons, we have thought through every detail of the shave ice to provide the BEST tasting shave ice possible! Get rid of any preconceived notions of what a shave ice or snow cone is like.....this takes shave ice beyond the highest level imaginable!
ft worth
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best on Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great service, prices, flavors and the best on Maui! Packed with locals so you know it's good! They make their own syrups so the taste is fresh and pure. Very good consistency for shaved ice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    907
    97
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best shaved ice around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had never had a shaved ice with ice cream in the bottom. We loved this so much we went here everyday.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy Shave Ice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I flew into Maui today, and just about the first thing we did was head to Ululani's Shave Ice. We ended up getting there about 5 minutes until they closed. We had never been there before and weren't aware of the operating hours. As soon as we walked in the door, it was obvious that they were already cleaning up. I felt bad initially, because I am not one to show up at any restaurant establishment even within 30 minutes of closing. But despite us inconveniencing the girls working there, they were super friendly and were more than willing to serve us. The shave ice was SO good. I have been to Matsumato's on the northern shore of Oahu, and it is similar to that place. Both delicious. I had the coconut ice cream at the bottom, and mango and passion fruit flavors added. Yummy! We will be going back many times during our vacation here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kelikea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tried several shave ice places in Hawaii, this one is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had shave ice twice in Kauai, and once in Maui. Ululani's turned out to be the best. Their tropical flavors used real fruit in the syrup, not just the fake syrupy stuff that the other places used. We had coconut and pineapple, with a scoop of coconut on the bottom. It was really good. Their ice was also the finest texture of all that we tried. The other places put ice cream in the middle, which we didn't enjoy as much. Uluani's was the smallest and most expensive, but turned out to be our favorite.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheriinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shave ice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I think we went here every single day! Don't forget to ask for a frequency card on your first day! We got the micro size bc they were so big! My cuz only got lime, but I tried all kinds of favors and they were all good!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Igemdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing