We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding out of the way restaurant!”
Review of Chez Meme - CLOSED

Chez Meme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: French, American, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Outstanding out of the way restaurant!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This little out of the way restaurant has the best breakfast meals and lunch sandwhiches in Kihei. Located on a small side street in Kihei, it has an open air environment that makes dining a very pleasant experience. All meals/sandwhiches are madse to order and prepared with local products. If you are on Maui, this is one restaurant you have to try. Only open for breakfast and lunch, but really a great place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJackson47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    51
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, delicate food - an out of the way find”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We found Chez Meme on our recent trip to Maui and liked it so much we went there twice for breakfast/brunch. Think of it as a French bistro experience. Simple, delicious traditional things done really well.
The owner is very hands on, and I really like his attention to the experience. I had an omelette both times with some great toasted french bread. Pay special attention to the jams: they're homemade and unforgettable. Seriously. It makes a difference.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had breakfast there one morning and we liked it so much that she had to have the beef bourguignon on a baguette and she lived it. All in the same day. We were here for two week and this is the only place that we ate at more than once. We would highly recommend this place. I think if they had a better location they would possibly be rated in the top 5.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unkunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality food and delicous”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place is going to be a hit. The food was wonderful and the staff knows the menu well . Try the ratatouille sandwich as it has the absolute best flavors. Clean, quiet and a great menu. Who sells coffee and tea at .95 cents? These guys! Enjoy ! Cannot wait to come back for the eggs benedict. Only suggestion would be for the wait staff to dress a little classier.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shoresofmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb lunch specials”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We recently ate at this newly opened restaurant. I enjoyed one of the best mahi mahi sandwiches I have experienced accompanied with a very flavorful homemade potato soup. My wife enjoyed the special, a pork chop, fries, and a salad at a very reasonable $7.95 (a real bargain in this town). In speaking with the owner, a special is run daily Tuesday-Friday (Closed on Monday). True, as one person mentioned, since the food is prepared per request, the wait time is longer. This is not fast-food place. If you understand that, you won't mind the wait. Currently, the restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Again, based on my conversation with the owner and his commitment to making the place a success, I believe this new dining place will be a fine, long term, addition to the Kihei food scene. We plan to return this week to try out the breakfast option, which is available anytime during Chez's open hours.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poeticalbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing