We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lunch specials”
Review of Chez Meme - CLOSED

Chez Meme
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Midway, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb lunch specials”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We recently ate at this newly opened restaurant. I enjoyed one of the best mahi mahi sandwiches I have experienced accompanied with a very flavorful homemade potato soup. My wife enjoyed the special, a pork chop, fries, and a salad at a very reasonable $7.95 (a real bargain in this town). In speaking with the owner, a special is run daily Tuesday-Friday (Closed on Monday). True, as one person mentioned, since the food is prepared per request, the wait time is longer. This is not fast-food place. If you understand that, you won't mind the wait. Currently, the restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Again, based on my conversation with the owner and his commitment to making the place a success, I believe this new dining place will be a fine, long term, addition to the Kihei food scene. We plan to return this week to try out the breakfast option, which is available anytime during Chez's open hours.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poeticalbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    51
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paia, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoy your food with the fly's!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excited about trying a new restaurant.....and really let down! Service a big let down, people came in after us and were served before us, asked for a refill on coffee and water and the busboy wasn't quit sure what to do so he just brought us a new waters and a new coffees, which was cold every serving! Food way over priced for the value, a beef sandwich for $14.95.... And if you say you have soup make sure it's ready! Very loud and noisy inside with kids running around the restaurant talking about doo-doo! I don't care who you are control your kids in public!! The worst was the fly's, everywhere we looked, we had a hard time eating, finally asked for to- go container!! We learned the hard way!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaiaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikole M, Owner at Chez Meme, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Aloha, Thank you so much for your feedback! As long time residents of Maui, it is important to us that we hear from our local "ohana" about our new establishment. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had. We work very hard to ensure our coffee and food is always fresh. Our goal is that our service makes you feel as if you are being served in our own home and we apologize that you didn't have that experience. We work hard to ensure all of our guests enjoy their meal from start to finish and if it is less than perfect, we fix it right away. Although we are an open air restaurant, we routinely adjust the shutters to minimize the wind and flies. If you do decide to visit us again, please be sure to let us know how we can make your experience wonderfully amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New Hidden French Restaurant”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We ate at a new restaurant in Kihei. We were delighted with quality of the food. We had the french toast and the "Bourguignon" (boneless beef short ribs, caramelized onions, and horseradish). The French toast was very tasty. The baguette was very crispy. The garden decor made for a very relaxing meal. We are looking forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duckboy831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great food, service iffy”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I saw a flyer for this restaurant in my condo and liked the look of the menu (breakfast, lunch and take-out only). We decided to try some of their baguette sandwiches as take out, which we would save for a light supper. The items we ordered by phone were their "Jarret" (lamb shanks, roasted garlic jam, and grainy Dijon) "Nordique" (smoked salmon, red onions, cucumbers, and lemon dill cream cheese) and "Bourguignon" (boneless beef short ribs, caramelized onions, and horseradish). When my spouse went to pick them up, they had substituted a different sandwich for the "Bourguignon". The owner first said the "Bourguignon" wasn't available on Sunday (no mention of that on the menu or on the phone) then offered to prepare one if my spouse was willing to wait. (Not happening.) In the end, he accepted the substitute sandwich and the owner provided two caramel buns as a bonus. So this service error was not a good start.
When we actually ate the food, our mood mellowed considerably. The sandwiches were all served in baguettes (short french breads), which were all well-filled. Each came with a side of fries. These were delicious, even when reheated supper-time (and, I must admit, even when tasted cold before re-heating). All three sandwiches were great. I particularly liked the "Jarret". My spouse favored the substitute sandwich ("Jambon-Brie" - Black Forest ham, brie cheese, and Dijon mustard). A piece of the "Nordique" also worked very well for breakfast. (We couldn't quite finish all three sandwiches at supper). The caramel buns were very good, but not quite in the same class as the sandwiches and fries. Perhaps they should have been eaten a little sooner and/or warmed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ekela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Meme also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing