We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What kind of pizza place doesn't serve beer?”
Review of Maui Brick Oven

Maui Brick Oven
Ranked #35 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: This restaurant is 100% Gluten Free! We serve pizza, pasta , salads, fish & chips and more. Open for dinner 6 days a week. No worries about cross contamination if you have gluten issues.Good food for everyone, even if you don't have to eat gluten free!
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What kind of pizza place doesn't serve beer?”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I should have known when I walked in and overheard the owner trying to justify to a skeptical customer when there was no coffee being served (kept having to throw out pots of coffee) and the background music was religious-country.

We were seated in the back of the restaurant, right by the restroom door, the restaurant back door and the kitchen door (traffic...).

They don't serve alcohol (at a pizza place?!?), but charge a per bottle fee if you want to bring your own.

We decided to get the order to go. The pepperoni was good, the Mediterranean-style was awful - we ended up throwing it away.

I'm not a hater. I admire their passion and belief in their product; they are serving a niche and it is doubtless working for them. But I felt a pious, self-righteous vibe to let me know that if I didn't fit in, I better get out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rjake007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Owner at Maui Brick Oven, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
As being one of the owners, I would like to clarify a few things...

We serve coffee in a French press, which means that each customer gets fresh coffee. This takes a little longer to serve. That is what I was explaining to the other customer. By using the French press, we don't have coffee sitting around all day.

This is a small restaurant. You must have had a larger group, so you were seated at the large table in the back. We do not have our liquor license, it is difficult to get here in Maui. We DO offer BYOB (bring your own beer or wine). This is posted on the front window and on the menu. It is very typical for the fee to be charged. Our fee is nominal, most restaurants charge $20 corkage fee. I can't think of any restaurant that lets you bring in your own beverage and not be charged for it. Maui Brick Oven is not just a pizza place, we serve a wide variety of gluten free food. It is not our priority to be known as a bar with food. We want a people to know that if they have gluten issues, this is a safe place for them to be able to order anything off the menu. There are many people without gluten issues that have loved the food.

I'm sorry you didn't like the Mediterranean pizza. That is one of our most popular pizzas. Many regulars order it routinely.

I am not sure where you got the pious, self-righteous attitude from. We feel honored that we are being used to provide this kind of food that is desperately needed. We are not "haters" either. We welcome everyone to come and experience what Maui Brick Oven is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    69
    27
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were in Maui on holiday and found this place. My wife can't eat gluten so we are always looking for restaurants that at least have some gluten free items (unfortunately she prefers vegetarian as well which further complicates the search.) This place is totally gluten free which was a real treat for her. She was able to have deep fried mozzarella sticks and fish and chips without fear of cross contamination in the oil. She also took a pizza to go for the next day. I tried the teriyaki skewers and the fish and chips. Very good by any comparison.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Big C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place is fantastic. I am not required to eat a gluten free diet but I love good food and supporting local businesses so I checked these guys out. Everything I have ever eaten here is delicious. I've had pizzas, salads and my personal fav.... Fish n chips. Plus the fact that they offer a 100% gluten free dining experience for those that prefer/require such a menu is totally awesome. I highly recommend this place for lunch and dinner. Oh yeah, and it's BYOB. Aloha.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HisPhredness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Passionate owners”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good pie for a gluten free option. The owners and family were super friendly and passionate about their product. The pizza didn't sit too well with anyone we ate with that night. Too bad, next pizza we'll have will probably have gluten.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Owner at Maui Brick Oven, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Gluten Free dough is a bit different from the regular, white flour dough. This pizza can only come in thin crust, doesn't rise like normal white flour dough. Thank you for trying it. Maybe next time you can try our Fish & Chips, we've been told by many that they are the best on island, gluten free or not!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“100% Gluten Free”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is gluten free heaven. It's not just pizza, it is all of the food you which you could have but can't because of gluten. We have the pizza, mozza stick, spaghetti and chicken parm, all of which where delicious. It's a BYOB so stop by Long's next door to pick up a bottle of wine.

This is a family fun business and they are so incredibly nice. They even gave us tips for other gluten free options to check out on the island.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Brick Oven also viewed

 

Been to Maui Brick Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing