We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff needs more training, owner needs a valium”
Review of Guava, Gouda, and Caviar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Guava, Gouda, and Caviar
Cuisines: Contemporary
Description: Cheese, Wine, and Charcuterie Shop and Wine Tasting Bar
Restaurant details
Description: Cheese, Wine, and Charcuterie Shop and Wine Tasting Bar
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Staff needs more training, owner needs a valium”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

While I appreciate small wine shops with cheese offerings, I feel like if you don't have a well educated staff that can help you, you need to rework your business plan. The guy helping us was handsome, friendly, but not that into the cheese. He had no suggestions and let us know he had not tasted many of the cheeses. When he finally wrapped our selections, he couldn't get the register to work (computer) and had to interrupt the owner next store for help. She was quite condescending to him when she came over and didn't try to hide the fact she was annoyed by his ignorance. I asked him (prior to her arrival) about buying a bottle of bubbly water and he showed me the display on top of a 6ft book shelf. It was too tall for me to reach, he could see that and didn't offer to help me get it. Another waiting customer got it down for me (they had a big line by now ). Then the owner said, don't you want a cold bottle? Of course, why would you have your display grab and go 6ft up? I barely noticed it. I say, you have a great place, but you need to have some serious training for your staff if you want to make it on Maui. Wailea wines blows this place away!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ericamcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“#1favorite place in Maui”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Yearly visitors to Maui and we can't wait to come here, it has to be the first stop. Very friendly staff that don't seem to mind spending time with customers that want to sample a few items. Incredible variety of cheeses, REAL caviar, many other unique food and liquor items.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yUmmy”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

CHEESE.it is great and they have a sample plater to try.A bit pricey for cheese.I likes the tripple threat soft cheese great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PuasFada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stuey’s Wine Cellar”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Next door to Guava, Gouda and Caviar is a quaint place to taste wine. Great locals running this spot who know their stuff about wine and make great recommendations around the island. Highly recommend stopping in as you wait for a reservation or table at Monkeypod.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank days32110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Finally we found a great wine and cheese shop!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had spent a week or so on Maui in the Wailea area and were commenting that a high end wine/cheese shop was in order. We spend most of our vacation time on Kauai and the Big Island where a shop of this type is easy to find. On Maui, we lucked out and found Guava, Gouda and Caviar by accident when we went for lunch to the Monkey Pod Kitchen. We were delighted! They have a really nice selection of cheeses - many from France - along with proscuitto and salamis. They had some good mini-baguettes as well that made for a complete snack. The wine selection isn't huge but they have some really nice ones. There were some nice gift items as well. We made a lovely casual meal of our purchases back at our Wailea condo. Glad we have found this little gem - we'll be back there before the end of our trip!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cedar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing