We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 17, 2006

This was our first trip to Maui. This is a great location off the ocean (less than 5 minutes) for viewing the ocean and having peace and quiet on any trip to Maui. Tom and Denise were very gracious and helpful hosts. They were very helpful when it came to sights to see, places to eat, beaches for snorkeling, snorkeling tips, and providing resources with more information. They provided snorkeling gear and boogie boards. We rented a car and were readily able to get anywhere on the island. Breakfast was great with wonderful homemade baked goods. The Ocean Suite room was neat and clean with a refrigerator, big closet, king-size bed, and patio. There is also an outdoor kitchen for use and a birdhouse with a koi pond. The main room with the large screen for movies and television was a wonderful place to relax and reminisce about one day and plan the next. It was also wonderful to be able to check email and do laundry. Look forward to our return trip. Valerie & Ken

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jonesil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 102 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Sikeston, Missouri
16
Reviewed June 15, 2006

My wife and I stayed April 24-28 in the Ocean Suite at dreams come true. We loved it. It was our first visit to Maui, and we would highly recommend staying here. We rented a car, and had total freedom staying here. Our hosts were wonderful. The homemade breakfasts were filling and very tasty. They'll let you borrow beach gear to take with you, which comes in very handy. It is located in a quiet residential neighborhood. It's not hard to get around Maui at all from here. We highly recommend it. Feel free to email me for more details.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2006

This was our first trip to Maui and we are so glad we picked Tom & Denise's B&B to stay
at. They are wonderful hosts. The cottage we stayed at had everything we needed.
The cottage has 2 huge picture windows in the living room that gives you an ocean view
at all times, & sitting out on the wrap around porch at sunset was perfect. The cottage
is very well furnished & the queen bed very comfortable. We had shaded parking, our
own barbque girll & washer & dryer. The cottage was spick & span. Tom & Denise gave
us all the information and directions to the best snorkeling spots, great resturants, and
whatever else we wanted to know. We stayed in the cottage for 1 week & we needed
1extra night & Tom put us in the Ocean Room in the main B&B & it was beautiful. The
next morning Denise set our breakfast out for us, wonderful homemade breads & fresh
fruit. Their entire property if just beautiful and very convenient to Kihei & the best beaches. Thank's to Tom & Denise's hospitality we had a wonderful stay. We definitely be back.
Mike & Carol

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mahalo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2006

We stayed in the Ocean Suite for a week in February. It was our second visit to Maui and staying here was a great choice!

The neighborhood was quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of Kihei while being close enough to anything we wanted to do. The B&B itself was wonderful! You get a great view of the ocean from the deck, the room was spacious and quiet, the grounds kept up and everything clean. There were people in the room next to us and we never heard them. The sunsets over the ocean from the deck and the sun/moon rising over Haleakala from our patio made for great pictures. The "community" room was wonderful and we enjoyed using the computer to email our kids at home. They have a library of books to read for leisure and tourist books for around the island. Tom even had a cassette for in the car on our drive to Hana that was very informative.

Breakfast was wonderful. The fresh fruit was awesome and everything presented in a special way. Having it delivered on a tray gave us the opportunity to take our breakfast out to the deck, over by the koi pond and birds, out on our patio or to eat in our room.

Tom and Denise were wonderful hosts. I was impressed with Tom already last year when we made our reservations and communicated by email. In person, Tom is very hospitable and always available to listen, help us with any problems (like locking ourselves out of our room), answer questions and give advice. He has a wealth of information about the island, where to go and what to do. The aqauarium was a highlight of our trip and well worth the hike! We especially enjoyed our evenings with them in the tv room spent reminiscing about our day and watching the Olympics.

They provide a host of things that help to make your stay complete. We used the snorkel equipment and boogie boards. The beach towels and chairs made us comfortable at the beach. We used our refrigerator for food and had a picnic lunch using the cooler and ice packs almost every day. Because we were in Hawaii for so long, the washer and dryer also came in handy.

Dreams Come True helped make our dreams for a relaxing, romatic vacation come true. Thanks Tom and Denise for everything. We hope to come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Takingabreak24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fredericksburg, VA
15
Reviewed February 6, 2006

Although this was our first visit to Maui, we have been to Oahu and the big island of Hawaii before. We spent over seven years in Europe with the US military, and have traveled extensively in Europe, often staying in B&Bs and Paradors in Spain and that is why we initially chose “Dreams Come True on Maui.”

We liked the idea of a B&B in Maui, especially since our daughter and son-in-law had spent their honeymoon in the Cottage, just eight months earlier, and had highly recommended it.. What a lucky break for us to find this gem on Kihei!

We feel that the eight days we spent in Maui this year to be one of the most enjoyable vacations we have ever had, primarily due to our B&B hosts Tom Croley and Denise McKinnon and what they offered. From the moment we arrived, Tom was extremely helpful in his suggestions on how to enjoy Maui to the fullest, including good restaurants, best beaches, and hassle-free shopping. All of his suggestions proved to be right on target. Tom certainly had “been there, done that.”

We were very impressed with Denise’s welcome breakfasts with delicious fruit juices, freshly baked breads and muffins, fresh fruit, and flower-bedecked trays. Who needs ham and eggs when you can have the fresh fruits of a paradise such as Maui? We can still taste the pineapple!

The Rainforest Suite, in which we stayed, was very clean, quiet, and cheery and offered all the amenities we desired. The bed was quite comfy and the mattress was very back-friendly. We were also very pleased with the personal computer in the main living room, to which we had access for keeping up on our email correspondence. This would be a great convenience to those visiting from Europe who wanted access to the “folks at home.”

The location of the B&B could not have been better, with quick access to beautiful public beaches, some located next to luxurious resorts. Beach equipment: snorkeling gear with fins, boogie boards, beach chairs, picnic cooler, drink containers, duffle beach bag , sun umbrella, and oversized beach towels were available, free of charge. Where and when has a high-end resort ever done that for their guests for no additional cost?

Our private deck was beautiful with tropical flowers and trees shading us as we sat outside for dining, reading or just relaxing, listening to the calls of the birds. The bird house with its koi pond was therapeutic in its sound of rushing water over a small waterfall. A special added attraction was being serenaded with the parrots’ whistling rendition of the theme song from “The Andy Griffith Show.” Try NOT to hear that in your head, now! That was a special moment to behold. We arrived as strangers to “Dreams Come True on Maui” and left as friends.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kirkland, WA
18
Reviewed January 28, 2006

I think that the biggest issue of staying here is that walls seem to have little insulation and the rooms tend to be very small. I mean really small. And if somebody says sthg aloud in the next room - you will hear it in yours.

The hosts never do housekeeping in your room when you are staying with them. So you are really expected to take out the trash yourself. I actually have not seen many B&Bs do that.

The upside is that the view from the deck is very nice. The neighborhood is also very nice - some nice houses are near this B&B. It is also a very quiet location in itself - so far from major roads.

I would like to stay in a different B&B in the future but in a similar location near Wailea - this is probably the nicest area of Maui.

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2005

My partner & I stayed in the Ocean Suite for 5 nights and have no complaints. The place is clean, in a convenient location & a GREAT value! We slept well, the bed was comfortable and we had a decent amount of privacy. We paid for a/c and barely used it, it was not necessary at night. We paid for a mid stay cleaning which was enough. The property is very well maintained inside & out. Having the snorkel equipment, boogie boards & other beach accessories available was a major convenience. Tom made an extra effort to be helpful and offer assistance.

On the down side, for good or bad, you do feel as if you are staying in someone else's house. We did not have any privacy issues, but felt obligated to be a little more quiet than we would have elsewhere. Maybe I got this vibe from reading one of the negative reviews. Also, the gushing from some of the other reviews is total BS! We paid slightly over $100 per night & it was a GREAT deal. But, it wasn't paradise & you can't expect paradise in Maui at that price. The breakfast was decent, BUT, the photos recently posted are not representative of what you get! I was satisfied with breakfast but whoever carried on about the fresh made breads every morning stayed someplace else.

We were very satisfied & would stay again. For around $100 per night, the place can't be beat!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NJBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
1.9 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
1 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#17 of 60 in Kihei
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast
5.1 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3259 Akala Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range: $129 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Come True on Maui is the perfect vacation hideaway. A tropically landscaped 1/2 acre estate offering a one-bedroom ocean view vacation cottage and two Bed and Breakfast suites. Just around the corner from Maui's finest beaches yet away from the busy strip of hotels and condos. Fully Permitted Bed and Breakfast Maui County Bed and Breakfast Permit number BB2009/006 State of Hawaii Transient Accommodation Tax License ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Come True On Maui b&b
Dreams Come True On Maui Hotel Kihei
Dreams Come True On Maui Bed And Breakfast Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing