We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay on Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Tom's direction were great-drove right to the place from the airport. He showed us around and we went for a bite to eat. The surroundings were very nice. You could see the ocean from the living room. We used the gas grill several nights. We stayed at the cottage. I don't know how it could have been better/close to the beaches and Kihei town.
I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geno002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 101 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2009

We are a young french couple and we spent one week of holidays @ Dreams Comes True during one week. Before going there, we looked for the best price we could have in Maui, as every hotel and guest house are very expensive there. As being travel agent (airline staff), it was impossible for us to find a room in a correct hotel less than 110 / 120 $ by night ...
Then we found this adress on trip advisor and we saw most people were satisfied.

The house and the garden are nice, beautiful and ... very quiet. Tom and his wife had during all the week a lot of discretion and that was exactly what we wanted to have.

We used to go in 4/5 stars hotels (we have discounts there), then we can say that the room was ok, clean, and enough big (we were at ocean suite). We appreciated to be able to make our own cook outside the room. The breakfeast was also ok. Tom was also helpful regarding what we have in mind to do.

Of course, Dreams Comes True is not like a five star hotels, but regarding the price, we recommend to stay there, it is a very good quality price rate.

There was another couple in the other suite during two nights, we were not at all disturbed in our intimity as others may say. We did not see the rainforest suite that some people in tripadvisor find too small, we have no opinion about that.

We'll certainly come again at that place if we come back to Maui : when we saw all the hotels and resorts with all the people there, we did not regret our choice to take a guest house.

If we have really to find something negative to say, we would just say that we moderatly appreciated to have to pay all the nights before we arrived as we travel standby and we can not be 100 % sure to arrive at the good time ! But this time everything was ok we arrived at the good time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dams40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

We stayed here for 1 week and had a fabulous time. This place is in a very, very nice neighbourhood. We stayed in the rainforest room and it was bigger than anticipated. It was very clean, nice bathroom and reminded us of home. We cooked in our toaster oven almost every night and also used the outdoor kitchen which was stocked with everything we needed. Our patio had a privacy screen we could pull down in case other guests were coming by. Everything we could think of needing, they had for us. For breakfast you get a choice of 4 items from a little menu selection they have for you. You check off what you want and put it outside your door. In the morning your food is waiting for you. I love this because you don't have to eat at a certain time and can get it whenever you want. Perfect for my tastes. Every morning the food was great and enough to keep us full. It was thoughtfully prepared and Denise's homemade breads and muffins were WONDERFUL!

I think what I loved about this place was everything. Staying at other B&B's made me appreciate the privacy here. If you need anything Tom is more than willing to help and go the extra mile for you. (He even taped a show for my husband that we could later watch in our room...didn't have to ask, he just knew after talking to him.) However, if you don't want to see anyone you don't have to. Eating at our own pace, not having to get up early and dressed for breakfast was great. We could stay in our room or patio in our pj's or bathing suits and not have to see anyone. If you are super social and enjoy meeting other people all the time you can do that here but it is more of a private place.

I really can't sing the praises enough of Tom and Denise's B&B. They are wonderfully helpful and had JUST what we needed.

Thank you so much you guys! You made our stay so wonderful and after your place other so called "top rated" places did not even match up to yours.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beach724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

The purpose of our trip to Maui was that we had never seen it before. Being one of the most popular of the islands, we had a strong desire to go.

One of the things that concerned us was the hoopla and pressure to stay in one of the big, fancy beach resorts. Personally we like the smaller, boutique hotels, or bed and breakfasts as a chance to get to see more how the real people live. It took quite a bit of searching for me to locate Dreams Come True on Maui, however, the reviews were all very good, and we decided to take a chance. I spoke on the phone with Tom, the proprieter, and he was quite friendly yet professional to book the room.

When we arrived we were greeted and shown the Rain Forest suite. Past reviewers have criticized it for being small, but maybe because I've lived in New York City too long -- we did not feel it was small at all. It was impeccably clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Some people have been put off by being charged to use the air conditioner, but we found the room cooled off beautiully at night with a wonderful ceiling doing the trick of keeping us comfortable. We never used the air conditioner the entire stay.

There was a very nice gift basket left in the room with macadamia nuts and chocolates and island beverages to welcome us. The shower and even the towels were super. The breakfast each morning with Denise's homemade muffins or healthy cereals and fruits was a great way to start the day. For beach goers there was ample snorkel gear, towels, beachmats and coolers available.

Tom had extensive knowledge about the island and lent us a wonderful Maui guidebook which came in quite handy as we toured the island. We were able to save money by going to a local supermarket and using the barbecue grill on the patio. It was very quiet and resful -- the only noise that broke the silence was the tropical birds chirping in the morning. Both Tom and Denise were highly hospitable hosts who obviously take great pride in their home in welcoming guests. This would definitely be our choice of accomodation for a return trip to Maui.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank citybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

We stayed at Dreams Come True on September 9-17 and loved every minute of it. Where else on Maui can you get a nice, cozy room, breakfast, personal attention, and all the amenities you'll need for your stay all at a reasonable price? Our Ocean Suite had a king bed, refrigerator, toaster oven, dishes and ware, ceiling fan, and A/C. Denise's fresh breads and fruit every morning got things started off right for the day. Then there's the amenties: movies, books, board games, BBQ, washer and dryer, boogie boards, snorkel gear, beach towels and chairs, umbrellas, a cooler with ice packs, to-go coffee mugs, and Tom's excellent advice on where to eat and play. All is included in your stay and easily accessible. You can't get a better deal on Maui. I highly recommend Dreams Come True. Thanks again to Tom and Denise!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Love2Travel6778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at Dreams Come True on Maui for the week of August 2nd through August 9th, 2008. We were visiting Maui for a wedding, and we really enjoyed our stay there. We stayed in the Rainforest Suite, and it was small, but it was really nice to have a kitchenette, the lanai for eating breakfast, and a little vanity separate from the bathroom for getting ready.
We really enjoyed the room and the stay, but one of things that just really made our stay was Tom's helpfulness and availability, and all of the stuff they let us borrow. They have a cooler so you can pack lunch, all kinds of beach gear to borrow (snorkels, boogie boards, fins, etc.), and a lot of advice that was really helpful. I injured myself on vacation, and Tom helped us find a chiropractor in the area, and gave me ice packs to use for my back. He also gave us a lot of good advice on the trip to Hana, driving around the West part of the island, and just general recommendations for the area. Our trip really wouldn't have been the same without staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Slobina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We had an enjoyable stay at Dreams Come True on Maui. The room was clean and bright and Tom and Denise were very helpful and accommodating hosts. There was plenty of beach/snorkel equipment for us to borrow for our day trips. It was in a great location to get to downtown Kihei and there were plenty of beaches, shops and restaurants to enjoy down there. It was also in a great location to get to other activities across the whole island. Denise's homemade breads for breakfast were delicious and the small kitchenette was very useful. There were coolers and ice packs for our use to go to the beach and bring drinks and snacks. Overall, we had a great stay at Dreams Come True and we recommend it for people looking for a good home base.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank decarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.9 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,172 reviews
23.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
5.2 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#14 of 61 in Kihei
171 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3259 Akala Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range: $121 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Come True on Maui is the perfect vacation hideaway. A tropically landscaped 1/2 acre estate offering a one-bedroom ocean view vacation cottage and two Bed and Breakfast suites. Just around the corner from Maui's finest beaches yet away from the busy strip of hotels and condos. Fully Permitted Bed and Breakfast Maui County Bed and Breakfast Permit number BB2009/006 State of Hawaii Transient Accommodation Tax License ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Come True On Maui b&b
Dreams Come True On Maui Hotel Kihei
Dreams Come True On Maui Bed And Breakfast Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing