We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little coffee house!”

Lava Java Coffee Roasters
Ranked #2 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little coffee house!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We are staying within walking distance from this little café. We go in almost every morning for a latte and are never disappointed. Our kids love their frozen slushy POG drink as well. I tried the peaberry latte, which was interesting to try but not my favourite. Still it's nice to try different things. They have lots of coffee beans for sale as a great gift for people back home. Make sure to get a frequent coffee card if you are going to go more than once.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    33
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Skip altogether”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

First, their claim is frozen mocha samples. I tried it, and it is sickningly sweet!! Second, when we were the the owner decided he needed to tell everyone that his coffee is the best, with a very know-it-all attitude. Shouting about peaberry beans and how it is impossible to buy the coffee at his prices ($14 package). Then he goes on about how expensive it is to have an independent biz on Maui - then went on to divulge his utility prices (3 or 4 times mainland average), he works 8-10 hrs in the shop then goes homes and puts labels on the packages for another 2-3 hours each night. Jeez, man, lighten up...we are on vacation, we are not here for charity or to hear your business woes. That's a bad owner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AOneWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best frozen mocha!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had their frozen mocha drink which was the most wonderful frozen mocha I ever tasted. My husband doesn't normally like these types of drinks loved it also!! Owner very nice and their coffee is outstanding also. Bought some to take home of us and to give as gifts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NLS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect place for your morning coffee : very good Hawaiian iced and hot coffee”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We walked by this place and out of curiosity we went in. We were offered a sample of iced kona coffee which was very refreshing and tasty.

There's a very large selection of blends, iced and hot coffees. You can ask for various kind of milk for your latte (regular, fat-free, almonds, soy, etc.).

We asked to try some local blend and the owners were very helpful.

We ordered one local blend americano coffee and an iced latte coffee with almond milk instead.

Both were very good : perfect place for your morning coffee!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Undyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Coffee Shop and Breakfast.”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Lava Java has great out door seating and atmosphere. The coffee was delicious with breakfast and on the go. The staff was friendly and service was quick but not rushed. A great place to people watch and see paddle boarders. They have fresh bakery treats, omelets and other traditional breakfast meals. They only have one restroom and waiting in line is a little awkward since it's in the kitchen area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthHamramova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Java Coffee Roasters also viewed

 

Been to Lava Java Coffee Roasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing