We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem”

Kinaole Grill Food Truck
Ranked #4 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Serving up "ALOHA," all day long. We pride ourselves with preparing our meals fresh everyday, homemade sauces, organic farm to table salads, in house roasted macadamia nuts and your order cooked individually for you while you wait. Just a 100 yds away from Kamaole One Beach Park, with ocean view tables for your dining experience. "Kinaole" - means to do the right thing at the right time for the right reason the first time... moving forward with "ALOHA"
Restaurant details
Description: Serving up "ALOHA," all day long. We pride ourselves with preparing our meals fresh everyday, homemade sauces, organic farm to table salads, in house roasted macadamia nuts and your order cooked individually for you while you wait. Just a 100 yds away from Kamaole One Beach Park, with ocean view tables for your dining experience. "Kinaole" - means to do the right thing at the right time for the right reason the first time... moving forward with "ALOHA"
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Before we came to Maui this year we reviewed many of the restaurants. Since this place was one we had never heard of and ranked so high, I clicked to find out more. I saw the pictures and soon realized it was right on the street next to our Worldmark condo. How sweet it is to have a quality food vendor so close. It's our first day of our trip so after spending the morning at the pool we decided to try it. It was WAY more than we expected. The coconut shrimp were fresh and out of this world. The sides were excellent and the portions were generous. We actually split an order and it was plenty of food. We have three plus weeks here and we will definitely be back to try some of the other wonderful sounding entrees.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank islandchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    107
    26
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty food from a Truck”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had heard good things about this food truck from friends who go to Maui every year. We were not disappointed. I had the coconut shrimp and my wife had the Mahi Mahi and both were delicious. The meal included macaroni salad, rice, island coleslaw and 4 large coconut shrimp. There was almost more food than I could eat. We took the meals back to our condo and ate on the lanai. We enjoyed our meals so much we came back and ate again later in the week. This time we had the calamari, and it was also delicious. The coconut shrimp we got from the food truck was better and bigger by far than the coconut shrimp we had in one of the sit down restaurants in Kihei. If you overlook getting your food in a Styrofoam container and just enjoy the tasty treat inside, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FatncrankyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just plain good food”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had three different things, coconut shrimp, mahi mahi, and calamari. Can't tell you which was best as all were great. Nice macaroni salad and slaw. All priced at $12 bucks and really worth it. Will definitely eat there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Have been in Maui for one week, this is by far the worst meal , had the pulled pork sliders, what disgusting slop, it was so bad I threw it out & ate a gas station hot dog instead, which tasted like a Gordon Ramsey gourmet meal in comparison! Avoid this slop wagon at all costs!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Glad we followed Tripadvisor reviews”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is definitely an upscale food truck, easy to locate and very near the beach. Our group of four ate here twice because we wanted to sample most of the items shown on the menu. Panko mahi mahi, calamari, garlic shrimp were favorites. We brought lunch back to our patio for our dining enjoyment. The owners have a great system, working in an enclosed area and taking orders with a smile and friendly attitude.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southbaytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinaole Grill Food Truck also viewed

 

Been to Kinaole Grill Food Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing