We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Oceanfront Condos”
Review of Kihei Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kihei Beach
Ranked #22 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice Oceanfront Condos”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in Unit # 407. The property is quiet and located oceanfront on Sugar Beach. Sugar Beach ia a great beach to enjoy peaceful long walks. I love to collect sea glass and I was able to find a handful of glass everyday. The water was nice, but had strong shore breaks. As previously mentioned, the canoe club is right next door. We enjoyed watching the outrigger canoes on the water everyday. The property is clean and well maintained. A property manager is on duty everyday. She was able to give us good tips on local places to eat and sights to see. Our unit was not updated, but we knew that when we booked. We rented our unit through Ali'i Resorts and could not have been happier with their customer service. An agent meets you at the property and inspects the unit with you. Our agent was not happy with the condition of the carpet. She told us to call the office if we decided to have the carpet cleaned. The unit did have an odor, so we called the next day and our carpets were cleaned. A previous posting mentioned ants. Yes, we also had ants initially. I hear this is a common problem. I made sure to clean and dry all surfaces as recommended. I also kept food in containers and took any garbage that would attract ants out daily. No further ants were found. We chose this place for it's location and price. Kihei is a great central location if you plan to explore the entire island. When we visited other parts of the island, it was often cloudy or raining. It was always sunny and warm back in Kihei! There is plenty of parking available. There is a small pool on site, but we did not use it. It never seemed crowded at the pool. Across the street is a small farmers market and an ABC Store. We were able to pick up a few groceries and gift items there. The best Hawaiian Shave Ice is also right across the street. UluLanis Shave Ice became a daily must stop for us! We would love to come back here in the winter when the humpback whales come to visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IWork2TravelUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    34
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
28
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a very positive experience with Kihei Beach Resort. The customer service provided by Daniel, who we worked with to book our stay, was excellent. Our extended family stayed in condos in this resort for a reunion and everyone loved it! The ocean view from the lenais was gorgeous. The beach was just a short walk across the lawn. The condos were set up perfectly with everything needed for many memorable nights of family dinners. Thank you Kihei Beach Resort for your excellent support and customer service.

Room Tip: Unit #408 is recently renovated, includeds a kitchen, washer & dryer, and a stunning view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KeriFirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The condos have different owners so all are not the same. Stay in #205. Well equipped with all the essentials and so many things you need for a long stay. This is not like under condos where you can spend hundreds of dollars on some of the essentials. The condo was clean enough to eat off the floor! It was well furnished with comfortable furniture. It has many amentities such as dishwasher, free wi-fi, quality lanai furniture, and quality linens. The view from the condo was amazing and we enjoyed many sunrises and sunsets. The condo has a pool and easy access to the beach. The grounds are well manicured and plenty of available lounge chairs. Parking is easy and the condo is in a great location to everything in Kehei or a quick jump back on the highway to Lahaina or Kahului.

Helpful?
8 Thank Just_Got_Back_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This condo building has an excellent location, directly on the beachfront. We have been staying at Kihei Beach Resort since the early 1990s. All the units are owned independently, so the decor and equipment can vary considerably. All of the units we have stayed in over the years tend to be be "Island casual." The pool is quite small but useful if you are uncomfortable going in the ocean. Don't worry, no sharks, just whales. In January 2012 we stayed in #205 and it was very nice, clean and up to date. A good price as well. The #x05 units tend to be a little less bright in the bedroom because the elevator shaft blocks some of the light entering the window. The beach (Sugar Beach) runs miles to the north of KBR and may be the best one on Maui. This end of Kihei tends to be quiet and you need to have a car or take a bus (or cab) to go out for dinner.

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views and lanais.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank protravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I loved this place. We didn't want to stay in a hotel and this place (off-season) was much cheaper than one. The only thing I have complaints about was the cleanliness; there were ants everywhere. In the kitchen, overflowing out of the garbage, in the bathroom sink, ... everywhere. Not a big deal, but still a little gross.

Location was great, and centrally located on the island. It never took more than 30-40 minutes to get places, certainly much less to get to Wailea or Lahaina. There's a farmer's market across the street, but it's *very* small and limited. Still, we were able to get fresh fruits for breakfast. The ABC shop is also next to the market...it's basically a convenience store.

The beach was nice to walk down, although the water was very choppy and cold. Much better beaches are further south. The condos had a pool which is where I did most of my swimming.

The view was amazing (on the 5th floor for us). I keep joking around, but one of the best parts of our trip was having the doors open to the lanai with a beautiful view, and watching the Stanley Cup Playoffs. :-D

No smoking on the lanai was a bit of a bummer, since I wanted to bring cigars, but not a huge problem.

Noise was absolutely no issue, unless you hate the sound of waves on the shore.

The bed was monstrous! It's hard to get used to our normal bed again...so comfortable though.

Free internet, and fast. Much better than you'd get at a hotel room.

My only other complaint was the lack of, how should I say... young people? At times I felt like I was at a retirement resort. There was nobody our age in the entire complex (28 years old). It wasn't a problem, but it just made the KBR seem very sterile and boring at times.

I'd definitely stay here again if I came back to Maui. For an on-the-beach location, this is really hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoCoastPunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

It was nice to walk around, just across the street plenty of food outlets - tacos and other stuff.
Nice afternoon time.

Helpful?
1 Thank keepwalking29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Just returned from a 15 day stay in Maui. We booked a condo (#503) and we were wowed by this property. KBR is clean well maintained and directly on the beach. There is a daily Farmer's market just across the street.Fresh Maui veggies,warm banana bread! Some folks have written about the noisy road,but this was a non-issue for us. KBR is centrally located on Maui, with major roads 1 block away. This was our 3rd time to Maui and our 1st visit to KBR. Even in high season, we only paid $175 a night for this 1 bedroom condo. This property is a winner.

Room Tip: All condos are beachfront. Go in Dec,Jan or Feb and watch the Humpback wales breech in front of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Billycarl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
4.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#11 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
1.9 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#7 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#15 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Beach

Property: Kihei Beach
Address: 36 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8825
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four night minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kihei Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Beach Hotel Kihei
Kihei Beach Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing