We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent personalized experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloha Kayaks Maui

Aloha Kayaks Maui
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
South Maui Kayak and Snorkel Tour with Turtles
Ranked #3 of 79 Tours in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Have you ever dreamed of snorkeling with a Hawaiian Green Sea Turtle or paddling among North Pacific Humpback Whales during calving season? Well look no further as Aloha Kayaks Maui can turn your dreams into realities. We offer kayaking trips for all ages and abilities that lead you to some of the hidden jewels of Maui, all the while creating a minimal impact on our oceans. Years of experience and 5 star service is what you get when you book a trip with Aloha Kayaks Maui.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent personalized experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Peter from Aloha Kayaks took my girlfriend and I out off Makena Landing for a kayak/snorkel adventure.

Peter brought us to several key spots with lots of turtles and various fish that he personalized throughout the trip. We were even lucky enough to encounter a pod of dolphins that were travelling north/south along the shoreline. All along the Peter provided knowledgeable information about the sea life as well as the history of the island.

I'm fairly new to snorkelling (in fact this was my second time out) and I gained a huge amount of confidence and never felt uncomfortable getting in and out of the boat at land and at sea.

Long after the other tours (that had started at the same time as us) had packed up and gone home, Peter was still happy to show us around another potential snorkel site. He really took his time to let us experience the wonders of the coast.

Wonderful value, friendly, personalized experience; I would recommend Aloha Kayaks to anybody interested in a healthy and active ocean adventure . I can't say enough nice things about Peter's service. We will definitely go back there the next time we are in Maui.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TGunderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Aloha Kayaks Maui, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Mahalo for your review! We did really score with dolphins that day! Looking forward to paddling with you guys again on your next trip to Maui!

Aloha,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Kayak Company on Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We always include a kayak tour as part of any vacation in Maui, and I have enjoyed them all. However, after a friend recommended Aloha, I thought we'd give them a try. We had such a wonderful trip that I had to write a review before I got on the plane back to the mainland. Before starting Aloha, Pete and Griff worked for many years for other outfitters and are very knowledgeable about the island, marine life, and the best places to snorkel, see turtles, etc.

This is true of other guides, of course, but what sets Aloha apart is their enthusiasm and friendliness, as well as the personalization of the trip. You feel as if you've met a new local friend who just happens to kayak and that no one else has ever had the same experience they are sharing with you.

For example, when we arrived at Makena Landing, a corporate group of 50 was just getting off a bus. Pete assured us we'd adjust our itinerary (just 3 of us in our group) to find quiet places away from the crowd. We also had the great fortune to set out just as a pod of about 40 spinner dolphins was cavorting close to shore. We paddled right out to them (keeping an appropriate wildlife-friendly distance) and spent quite a while among them--just because it was so cool. Our tour ended up being half an hour longer--again, just because we were all having fun and weren't ready to get off the water.

This was in striking contrast to the corporate group who came with another outfitter. They followed some sort of pre-planned trip, regardless of what was going on around them--even though the dolphins were close and obvious to every other person in the bay, they didn't deviate from their course the 100 feet necessary to paddle among the dolphins.

So if you want the best of all possible worlds--guides who have plenty of experience but still get a child-like joy out of being on the water and sharing the beauty of Maui with others--then please check them out! You'll have a great day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MandySue1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Aloha Kayaks Maui, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thanks so much for your review! Dolphins always make for a memorable experience and I'm glad you guys had such a great time with us! Let's do it again on your next vacation to Maui!

Aloha,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun experience with a fantastic guide.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Peter (one of two owner/operators) took our family group of 8 for a morning kayak/snorkeling trip near Lahaina and we had a blast! As promised, we saw plenty of sea turtles and various other sea creatures. Peter was very knowledgeable about the creatures under water along with offering up plenty of fun facts about the islands along the way. His laid back, easy going personality made everyone comfortable right from the get go and all-in-all we had a great time!

Helpful?
Thank JJKAZ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Aloha Kayaks Maui, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Mahalo for your review! You guys were a lot of fun and I'm so glad we were able to show you our office! Can't wait to do it all over again!

Aloha,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience, you won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Peter was our guide and took great care in making sure we had the best time. Very knowledgable of all things Maui. Provided us a great experience and fun time. Obviously the turtles were the highlight of the trip. We got the picture package so we didn't have to worry about taking photos and were able to just have fun and take it all in. I highly recommend going that route, a day later we had over 125 photos of our trip, including our time with the turtles!
Griff took care of the registration and provided electronic directions and information we needed for our morning with them.
Great job guys, we will be back again on our next visit to Maui.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve30392016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Aloha Kayaks Maui, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Mahalo for your review! I'm so glad you guys had such a great time on your tour and I look forward to hosting you again and seeing what else we can find!

Aloha,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yyc
1 review
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

For the Makena Ocean tour off Makena Landing, our guide Peter was personable and very knowledgeable. He also took us to a great area for snorkeling. We come to find out that Aloha Kayaks Maui is operated by two guys making a go at a small business doing what they like. By the other reviews, you can see that these guys put all their effort into making their customers happy. Certainly glad I chose these guys!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ed l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Aloha Kayaks Maui, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review! We are certainly happy that you chose us as well and we would love to take you out again and see what else we could find out in the ocean!

Aloha,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aloha Kayaks Maui also viewed

 

Been to Aloha Kayaks Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing