We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamaole Beach Park 3

Kamaole Beach Park 3
Ranked #3 of 55 things to do in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Iowa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This beach was right across the street from our condo. It has walking paths adjacent to it and a beautiful setting. The beach was never crowded during a two week stay we just completed.

Snorkeling was decent at this beach as you got a little further out. Saw sea turtles here several times, especially up against the large formation of rocks at the far end of this beach. Great sunset views here, too. Be sure to stay for a few minutes after sunset for the most beautiful colors.

I did not fully appreciate this until we got there but if you are fair skinned, get a high SPF and reapply it every hour you are out on beach activity. Your skin will thank you!

A couple things to be aware of as you get in the water:
1. Be careful for significant sand drop offs.
2. Be careful for rocks. Depending on the tides, there were different rocks exposed in different places.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank IowaTraveler925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    243
    27
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First attempt at snorkling here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Love this spot. The grassy, treed area was lovely... nice washrooms... nice beach area. The rocks along the one side gave for some great opportunity to see fish. Loved this beach. There are no stores nearby to pick up a few snacks. You would have to drive down S. Kihei a few miles. Only drawback!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jxtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our stay was directly across the street from this beach. We loved the grassy area and the easy beach access. In the water we snorkeled with a couple of giant turtles each day and another snorkeler shared an octopus. Beautiful sunsets and great place to meet friends and family.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mammo516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“This beach is the best in Kihei”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Kam Beach III was right across from our condo on our recent visit. We tried all 3 "Kam" beaches and the Kalama beach park during our visit and I'll say this one is the best. There is a huge grassy area for watching the sunset, a nice bathroom, a shower station and a life guard on duty. My wife and I loved the snorkeling on the North end of the beach in and around the rock outcrop all the way over to the Kam II beach side. You are guaranteed to see a Turtle or two.

The beach seemed to be the least populated and the cleanest. Will spend more time here in the future!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mattster03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Give the third Kamaole a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The guidebooks we consulted about Kihei talked about the three Kamaoles (not a Latin rock band, as one put it.) Being close to two of the three, we decided to try the third, which was the longest. Lots of nice fine sand, shade from the trees lining the beach and nice water to swim, it was as described in the guides. It was also close to a bunch of bars, eateries and shops. (Seeing Chicago Bears and Green Bay Packers banners in front of a sports bar, just feet from the beach, was priceless).

Good parking along the street, as long as one gets there before 9 am.

Overall, a good location for spending a day at the beach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paokara1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamaole Beach Park 3 also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Kamaole Beach Park 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing