We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit Warren and Annabelle's Theater” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Kamaole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Kamaole
Ranked #4 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Must visit Warren and Annabelle's Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2005

We loved our stay at Maui Kamoale B114. The grounds were beautiful and the condo was perfect. We found the Kihei area to be a wonderful location for touring Maui. We made an all day trip down the road to Hana, snorkled on the Fair Winds II and attended the Old Lahanina Luau. These were all wonderful choices; however, the most entertaining night we had in Maui was at the Warren and Annabelle show in Lahanina. We got the "full package" which included food, drinks and the show. Don't let the fact that it is billed as a magic show keep you away because it is first class entertainment. The owners of our condo were very helpful. They suggested the book Maui Revealed and we found it to be a priceless tool in planning our trip, especially the trip to Hana. Plan at least a week to truly discover the jewels of Maui.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    167
    34
    22
    16
See reviews for
257
209
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2005

We just returned from a fantastic vacation in Maui. We loved our condo! It made our trip so........much more pleasurable!

The furnishings and decorations were very beautiful. The condo was immacuately clean (no musty smell that I read in other reviews). Just a little hint, I called 2 months before our arrival and requested that we get a newer updated condo. I guess that did the trick because ours was gorgeous. I got a chance to peek in our neighbors unit and it was still very nice, but the furnishings were not as up to scale as ours. I also checked out an open house for a unit that was for sale, and it was also very beautiful.

We still ate out everyday (after all we were on vacation), but it was nice to wake up and make breakfast in a beautiful kitchen (with all...of the essentials you need down to the dishwasher soap), everyday before we went out for the days adventure.

Our unit also had a closet full of boogie boards, beach chairs, beach towels, kids toys and books, and more. These owners went above and beyond!!

I could go on and on.........!!!We are planning on going back in 3 or 4 months and I hope we get to stay there again!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank sarahj1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2005

Our group arrived in June and we had two ocean view condo's. What a nice place!! The complex was not really near the ocean, but, the sunset and view of other islands made up for it. I stayed in J-214 and it was very nice, with nice furniture and appliances. My sisters group had the same view, but, they didnt have quite the nice furnishings that we had. [I-212]
The check in was simple and people were very friendly. One important note* if you have more than one vehicle, it costs extra for parking and the spots are hard to find. I recommend this place very highly.
There was one downside, but, it didnt actually affect me, but it did the other people in my group. The people who actually reside in the complex are rude, bossy, and prone to worry about the weekly guests more than the fact that they live in Maui. If children get a little too loud in the pool areas, residents come out and harrass them. This was at 2pm that I witnessed it, and I believe thats rediculous. If you left your bathroom vent running, people would come to your door and tell you to turn it off. The owners charge a lot of money for people to stay here. People on vacation tend to party and play hard, it should be allowed for. B. Allen Texas

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2005

The Maui Kamaloe was a good place to stay but would rather stay at a hotel as we did not use the condo facilities. The condo unit was good a little dated and had a musty smell but it was clean, well kept and the grounds very well taken care of. Would recommend it as condos go but think twice if you want of need a condo, as it is more work then you think. Do you want to be at Safeway or cooking on your holidays even renting beach chairs and hauling them down to the beach park it was work. If you are like us and go to All Inclusive resorts for holidays it is a bit of a different holiday and for the price could have stayed at a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank tmac30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2005

My husband, sister, and I stayed at the Maui Kamaole for a week (5/31-6/06) and loved it! Having read all the reviews on this web site, we asked in advance for a newly remodeled unit (the higher the letter, the newer the unit) and ended up in M-building. The condo was clean, spacious, updated, and had more amenities than we could use in a week.

***NEW INFO on Maui Kamaole*** I read every review and even went to the hotel website and couldn't find the following information, so here it is: All bath, kitchen, and beach towels were provided (although we were glad we had a set b/c we had to check out at 10 a.m. but didn't fly out until 8 p.m.), as well as all bedding. There is no daily maid service included in the price. There were no condiments in the fridge (we dated and left ours, however) but there were basic things like cooking oil and seasonings. Our condo had a sun umbrella, mats, chairs, two coolers, (broken) boogie boards and basic snorkeling equipment. We also had a DVD and VCR player. We tried to check in early and check out late - but the management would not allow either. Lastly, the sofa bed was okay for one, but two would have been unbearable.

Basic Maui tips: I can't imagine not having a car. Kam III, across from the condo, is a fine beach, but there are so many and they are so different! Drive to Kapalua for swimming, Polo Beach in Wailea for boogie boarding, Ulua Beach (as well as others) for snorkeling, and Black Rock for jumping off cliffs into the ocean! The food in grocery stores is expensive but not THAT bad. For those of you who want to sail your own catamaran - we did lots of research and thought this was impossible in Maui but it's not! Go to the Renaissance Wailea and they rent them for $50/hour. The LUAU at the MAUI PRINCE was a colossal waste of money - it was so bad! For $75/person my expectations were something authenic, great food - it was cheesy and the food was sub par. It was the one disappointment in our trip. Take yourself out for an expensive dinner or two instead.

Helpful?
20 Thank marinsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2005

We liked the complex, beautiful landscape and nice pools. However, our condo was not attractive at all. It came with all the necessary amenities but everything in the condo was old, items such as towels, knives, and bedding should have been replaced years ago. We had to empty the dishwasher when we arrived (am not happy about that). I was a little grossed out by the kitchen utensils. You can get better looking pots and pans from a garage sale. However, living in the condo made us feel like residents rather than tourists. It was a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank portdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2005

Ok, so its been a few years since my last visit but I can tell you that the Maui Kamaole was truely a nice place to stay. Understand that all the condos are individually owned so the interiors vary from unit to unit. We stayed in the Anthurium cluster, #115, just as you drive in. We had an ocean view off the front lanai. Table, chairs, lounges and a perfect view. Ours was clean and nicely furnished including all the needs in the kitchen. One bedroom, two full baths and a private patio in back as well.
Staying in Kihei is cheaper than staying in Wailea with the resort rates. In the past I have stayed at the Rennaissance Wailea and absolutely loved it but it can be very pricey compared to the Maui Kamaole. The nice thing about having a condo compared to a hotel room is the kitchen. You can save much $ cooking your own breakfast/lunch and then go out for a nice dinner in the resorts or any of the many places along Kihei Road. Maui Tacos and Alexanders are two of my favorites for lunch or an inexpensive dinner.
You are on the edge of Kihei with a short drive into Wailea to use the beaches. We parked at the Renaissance and walked through the lobby as if we were guests and never had a problem.
As for the Luas, once youve been to one, youve been to them all. I dont bother anymore. Check to find where Jamie Lawrence is playing in Wailea. Beautiful acoustic Hawiian music to enjoy with a cocktail and sunset. Very romantic. Dont bother with the snorkle rentals at the resorts either. Check into Snorkle Bobs or some of the other dive shops. Rentals for the week are inexpensive.

Bugs? All my trips to the islands and I remember seeing one bug...and that was on Front St. Yes it was big!...but its the tropics. Bugs are part of the deal.

If you want to stay in a great location and save some money, I recommend the Maui Kamaole. Ust the cash to upgrade your rental car to a convertable! Its worth it.

  • Stayed April 2001
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#10 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.1 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Kamaole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kamaole

Property: Maui Kamaole
Address: 2777 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9637
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Kamaole 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct from the owner and Enjoy Luxury Vacation rental with a Wailea feel and Kihei pricing directly across from Kamaole III Beach. Our Maui Kamaole B114 is a large 1-bedroom, 2- bath. This family friendly South Maui Condo resort boasts just 13 clusters of low-rise buildings on 23+ acres. We invite you to share our personal getaway in the tropical sunny setting of south Maui. Our newly decorated luxury condo at the Maui Kamaole condominium Resort, has been furnished to provide you with every necessity to ensure your comfort and relaxation. Whether your interests are golfing, snorkeling, shopping or just pure escape, our ideally located retreat will allow you to immerse yourself in all the beauty and splendor Maui Hawaii has to offer. Gorgeous, colorful, tropical grounds are the setting for this premier vacation condominium resort located in Kihei, South Maui less than 1/4 mile from Wailea. Because the Maui Kamaole is a low-density low-rise property spread over 23 acres, the atmosphere is relaxed and ocean views abound throughout the residence. Our luxury condo is situated directly across from the magnificent blue Pacific, and is a "stone's throw" to nearly every activity Maui has to offer. Across the road, a short stroll down the path from our condo is the world famous Kamaole III Beach. Within minutes you can be soaking up the warm Maui sun and snorkeling with exotic fish and turtles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Maui Kamaole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kamaole Hotel Kihei
Maui Kamaole Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing