We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Kamoale M102 - Perfect Retreat”
Review of Maui Kamaole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Kamaole
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Maui Kamoale M102 - Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in M102 so much last year that we chose to return again this year for a relaxing vacation and are certainly thrilled that we did. It has now become our "go to" property to book as the ammenities and location can't be beat. The unit is beautifully renovated inside, the master bedroom peaceful and quiet, and the lanai is very private yet only a few steps to the tropical pool and BBQ deck. There is absolutely nothing lacking in terms of ammenities. The unit is fully equipped with all the necessary kitchen essentials as well as beach chairs, coolers, and water sports gear. The location is awesome as it is only a very short walk to numerous beautiful beaches, the dive boat ramp, and the Kihei strip of shops, restuarants and bars. The owners of the unit are wonderful people to deal with and have been very accomodating in booking our reservations through their VRBO site as well as providing helpful information on things to do and places to go on the island of Maui. We have recommended this unit as the place to stay to all of our friends as it is the "perfect retreat" while vacationing in paradise. We plan to return this fall and will certainly book this unit if it is available.

Mahalo B&D -

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NVexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    170
    36
    22
    17
See reviews for
269
211
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I deeply regret booking our stay at the Maui Kameole. The 2nd floor unit we checked into had ants, cockroach traps and a dead cockroach in the kitchen. We could tolerate the ants, but the cockroaches were disgusting. At first, we thought we were mistaken about the dead cockroach - surely a nice condo like this would not be in this condition? Then I spotted cockroaches crawling on the ceiling shortly after and there was no doubt about it. We had to throw out our opened boxes of cereal, pasta, bananas, etc. I called the company in charge of managing the unit, listed by the front desk as condominium rental company (CRH, condominium rentals hawaii), and they were extremely unhelpful. The rude assistant manager told me that they are aware of the cockroaches and acknowledged the issue, but that "this is a tropical island and roaches are expected." Really? I should expect cockroaches when i book here? i was shocked that they did not feel any urgency to resolve the problem. She told me that there were no other 2 bedroom condos with an ocean view available to move us into but could move us to a downgraded room, but would not give me any information about how much of a refund I would get for accepting the downgrade. Both agents I talked to gave me a runaround - insisting that I talk to hotels.com (who I booked the condo with) to find out how much of a refund I would get. After being on hold for 45 minutes with hotels.com with 3 different agents, I was told that CRH were the ones to determine the refund. I again called CRH and overall it was a nightmare. The people at CRH are trained to be deceptive and do their best to put off resolviing problems by claiming they have no control or knowledge of refunds if you book via a third party site like hotels. The customer service is appalling and unethical but also their lack of concern for guests having to deal with cockroaches. I have visited Hawaii several times and have never seen a cockroach in any of the rooms I have booked. My guess is that the condos at Maui Kameloe have ongoing cockroach problems and this condo rental property is trained to give you a runaround to avoid resolving this problem. They will lie to you and you won't get any refund, and they wont even do the bare minimum of moving you to a comparable room. In the end, Expedia (the company behind my hotels.com transaction) told CRH to move us to a different 2 bedroom condo with an ocean view. How funny CRH, didn't you tell me that you didn't have ANY available? So basically, the kind people at CRH lied to me. Totally unethical and unprofessional. By the way, the new unit we moved to has a big can of cockroach spray stored under the kitchen sink. Beware, beware, beware. Book elsewhere or accept that you will have cockroaches living with you. Now I have to wash everything and disinfect out luggage in hopes that we won't bring home cockroach eggs. Ugh.

Room Tip: We stayed in A208 and then A207, but I suspect that the cockroach problem is widespread. Avoid this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 336jl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Maui Kamaole, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at Maui Kamaole and I am sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience. A vast majority of our guests over the last 30+ years have recommended our services to friends and family and also praised Maui Kamaole as a great property, so we are saddened to hear that you disagree. Unfortunately we were not able to schedule an immediate bug spraying because you were pregnant, so we quickly offered to move you into another nice two-bedroom condo that was available. Having booked your stay through Hotels.com/Expedia, our hands were somewhat tied as far as refunding you any money because they must approve the refund since they are the agent that has collected money from the guest (we do not receive any payment until the guest departs). They had informed us that they would not honor any sort of discount for a downgraded room, so we worked with another guest that booked directly with us and offered them a deal if they would move rooms so that you could remain in a two bedroom ocean view.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocklington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in the gorgeous condo L107 which was well-decorated, sophisticated and cosy. The location is super as it is right next to Kamaole Beach Park Three where you can sit on the grass and watch the wonderful sunsets on an evening and it is a great beach for the day time. The grounds are stunning with well-kept beautiful gardens making a very pleasant walk to and from our condo. The condo itself had everything we could need for a week's stay as part of our honeymoon to California and Maui. The lady at the main reception was so friendly and helpful - she really made our stay in Maui excellent as she had so much advice for us. We were concerned because we had not booked the condo directly so did not know which one we would get, but this was perfect for us and we needn't have worried. We had a wonderful week here and would highly recommend Maui Kamaole!

Room Tip: Tell them if you are staying for a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLTravels84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Maui Kamaole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of Maui Kamaole and condo L107, which we manage. I am glad you found the condo sophisticated and cozy! We will be sure to pass your kind words on to the owner. We hope to see you at the Maui Kamaole again in the future.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked directly from the owner thru VRBO site and saved ~50%. Our unit H105 is in the perfect location: easy walk to the beach across the street, awesome ocean view from the huge private patio and from the living room and the Kitchen! We enjoyed the sunset "ritual" on the lawn in front of our patio with a handful of friendly folks staying in the neighboring units every night!

We slept much better than at home thanks to the super comfortable California King Bed, the efficient ACs, quite ceiling fans, high quality bedding and romantic walk on the beach every night.

The kitchen has everything we need to cook. The washer and dryer inside the unit is very helpful. The unit comes with all the beach supplies, tons of clean beach towels, a cooler, beach chairs, beach umbrella, boogie boards. There is a beautiful beach right across the street for body surfing, snorkeling, walking on the beach and/or watching the sunset.

The complex is beautifully landscaped. The 2 pools and 2 jacuzzis are never very crowded, we are able to get on the tennis court any time we want (yes, there are tennis rackets in this unit)... we think it is the nicest condo complex in South Kihei.

The condo is perfect in every way - the ocean view, location, quality furnishing, supplies, sightseeing tips from the owner, and one parking stall close to the unit... We hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: An ocean view condo at the front costs slightly more, but it is definitely worth it. Many renters st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Jasmine 217 is better than what Stanley advertises. Everything is provided for a wonderful vacation. My family and I spent 12 wonderful nights in Jasmine 217. The condo is in great condition, well maintained and very clean. The grounds are well groomed and the swimming pools are wonderful. This is a very quite condo complex with very few tourists. All appliances, TV’s, and carpet are top of the line. And the view, it is spectacular. We watched the sunset off the lanai every night.

This is a spectacular condo in a wonderful, lush tropical setting; the price for all this is Very reasonable (the best in the area). The condo is very close to the beach and businesses in Kihei. The owner, Stanley, is very responsive and great to do business with. We will definitely be planning another trip back to Maui/Jasmine 217. Mahalo, Stanley for making our Maui vacation so nice.

Room Tip: If the other condos are half as good as Jasmine217, then any condo at Maui Kamaole will be great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Maui Kamaole K109 is the best property we have stayed at on Maui. This is our third trip to Maui and each time we have tried a different complex. Maui Kamaole is one of newest properties in Kehei, built in 2001, with the third filing completed in 2004. Mark and Susan have 2 condos K103 and K109. We spent 8 nights and 9 days in K109. The condo is close to your reserved parking spot and the upper pool. At first I was concerned that there may be a lot of noise being so close to the pool, but it was exceptionally quiet. There are several propane gas BBQ grills available by the pool and the complex for your use. We cooked most of our breakfasts and lunches in and ventured out for dinner. Susan has equipped the kitchen with everything, even spices. There is even dishwasher detergent, laundry detergent and fabric softener sheets for your use. So before venturing to the supermarket, I would recommend Wal-Mart for staples (need to provide your own shopping bags, but several are kept in the condo) and Safeway for your fresh fruits and vegetables (get a customer discount card from customer service before you check out), check out what is provided before buying more. Susan and Mark provide beach activity items including boogie boards, an umbrella, chairs, coolers, and rice mats. Everything is kept neatly in the closet for your use. The other thing I must say is that Susan and Mark provide ample quality toilet paper and paper towels. Most owners only provide the cheap stuff, not quality names, and then only enough to get you started. Not Mark and Susan. There is additional supply, if you need it, available in the closet. An finally, Susan and Mark take their responsibility as a landlord seriously. Susan called us the day after we arrived to be sure everything was acceptable to us. She also returned our damage deposit promptly and responded to email communication within 1 calendar day. You cannot go wrong with this condo. We will certainly be back!!!

Room Tip: You will work directly with Susan and Mark, not a management company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susandns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Maui Kamaole, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Maui Kamaole and condo K109. We are very fortunate to have owners like Mark and Susan and so many others like them in our rental program that go the extra yard to make sure their condo and guest is taken car of. We hope to see you at the Maui Kamaole again in the future.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent our 40th Wedding Anniversary in Maui and stayed at the Maui Kamaole in Unit M102. What an incredible choice we made! The condo was absolutely perfect in every way, amenities, location, supplies, quality furnishings. We could not imaging finding a better condo to enjoy our vacation.

The most impressive thing to us was the quality of the bedding in the master bedroom. It is the first time, and we travel a lot, that we found a bed that was more comfortable than the one we have at home. Every night we slept wonderfully.

Everything we needed to enjoy the beach was supplied in the condo. And we made good use of it. We tried many beaches on Maui, but ended up deciding that the Kamaole beach across from the condos was the best of all of them. It was just wonderful going in the morning and sitting on the beach.

If you are planning a trip to Maui, forego the overpriced stuffy resorts and choose a condo instead. It will make your trip much more pleasurable.

Room Tip: Condo M102 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#13 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.1 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#2 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Kamaole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kamaole

Property: Maui Kamaole
Address: 2777 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9637
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Kamaole 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct from the owner and Enjoy Luxury Vacation rental with a Wailea feel and Kihei pricing directly across from Kamaole III Beach. Our Maui Kamaole B114 is a large 1-bedroom, 2- bath. This family friendly South Maui Condo resort boasts just 13 clusters of low-rise buildings on 23+ acres. We invite you to share our personal getaway in the tropical sunny setting of south Maui. Our newly decorated luxury condo at the Maui Kamaole condominium Resort, has been furnished to provide you with every necessity to ensure your comfort and relaxation. Whether your interests are golfing, snorkeling, shopping or just pure escape, our ideally located retreat will allow you to immerse yourself in all the beauty and splendor Maui Hawaii has to offer. Gorgeous, colorful, tropical grounds are the setting for this premier vacation condominium resort located in Kihei, South Maui less than 1/4 mile from Wailea. Because the Maui Kamaole is a low-density low-rise property spread over 23 acres, the atmosphere is relaxed and ocean views abound throughout the residence. Our luxury condo is situated directly across from the magnificent blue Pacific, and is a "stone's throw" to nearly every activity Maui has to offer. Across the road, a short stroll down the path from our condo is the world famous Kamaole III Beach. Within minutes you can be soaking up the warm Maui sun and snorkeling with exotic fish and turtles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Vacatia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Maui Kamaole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kamaole Hotel Kihei
Maui Kamaole Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing