We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Condo and great location, unit F109”
Review of Maui Kamaole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Kamaole
Ranked #4 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
150 Great Wolf Drive
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrific Condo and great location, unit F109”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We rented through a private party here on our first visit to Maui. Our host made us feel as if we were staying with a friend! The condo itself was extremely clean and we appreciated the beach equipment; cooler, chairs, etc made it so easy for us. We've VRBO'd before and this was one of our better picks although it is Maui so that helps! Good location for proximity to beaches, restaurants, drives around the island. In this unit just a few minor things that I would have wanted to know - bed was very very soft, carpeting was a bit dated and no wifi was tough for us smart phone types. The pools were both nice, the grounds lovely and well maintained. Loved our little feathered friends, Hawaii has great birds! We will come back to Maui and would definitely consider a condo in this complex! Aloha.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoyadocmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    174
    36
    22
    17
See reviews for
270
211
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary, ab
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here recently. And loved the condo. It was so great. Nice contemporary furniture. Previous guests left some boogie boards which we loved using! It was so cozy, I thought I was a hotel goer until this trip. I definitely preferred this, it was so nice to have a "home" and to get up and eat breakfast before we started on our day. SOOOO close to a great beach. And a short drive to big beach (best beach ever). I cannot wait to go back! Only complaint was that we ran out of garbage bags and toilet paper the second last and last day. Which really isn't much of a complaint! Paradise. If you've never been to Maui, you need to go, and you should stay in L208!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandysmear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Maui Kamaole, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Mahalo for your review of Maui Kamaole and condo L208, which we manage. We will be sure to pass on your kind words about the furniture to the owner. I am glad we have turned you into a “condo-goer” as opposed to a “hotel-goer”.

As for running out of supplies on your last day, I wish you would have let us know, as we would have run out some new supplies to you.

We hope to see you at the Maui Kamaole again in the future!

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent several days at this property, and would gladly go back or recommend it to friends and family. The rooms were generously spacious. Ours had a great view off the patio (picture attached). We had a little problem with tiny ants in the kitchen, but not a big deal, otherwise the room was clean. The grounds are kept up quite nicely. The pools are modest, but enjoyable.
The TVs are the old CRT type, but you don't fly to Hawaii to watch TV anyway.
We had birds on the grounds that look like miniature turkeys. They are friendly, but in the morning, they are astonishingly loud as they call to one another! : )
All in all, a relaxing stay, and a good value at a nice property, particularly I-116.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Maui Kamaole, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review of Maui Kamaole. We do not manage the exact unit you stayed in, but we are glad you enjoyed the tropical grounds, pools, and spacious layout of the one-bedroom units. They are over 1000 square feet! Hope to see you again at the Maui Kamaole.

Aloha,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed a week at this unit and we loved it! Great price, great location. Stocked with everything you could possibly need. Very nice furnishing. Can't say anything negative !!! The unit is on the second floor. No elevator. The master bedroom is the loft...also up stairs. Sure this is the configuration for all the units and just would note that it could be a problem for older people. Very close to great beaches and fab snorkeling. Beach chairs and beach mats as well as snorkel gear and toys provided at condo. Lots of towels. On site maintenance for any problems. Kehei great place to stay!!! Everything you need. Apx 45 minute drive to Lahaina for those activities. Condo very quiet. Not a party destination! Association has lots of rules but none were unreasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Maui Kamaole, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your great review of Maui Kamaole and unit M207, which our rental company manages. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the owner! Regarding your point about the two-bedroom units being upstairs, we do have some ground floor converted two-bedroom condos that are more accessible for elderly or handicapped guests.
We hope to see you again at Maui Kamaole in the future.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two weeks and had a great time. Unit was very clean. Bed was good. Washrooms were fine but starting to look a bit dated. Kitchen was good . Only issue was loud noise every time unit upstairs flushed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canuck1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Maui Kamaole, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for your review of the Maui Kamaole. As the rental management company we are glad to hear that you had a great experience at this condo and that it was clean and well equipped. We will be sure to look into the issue with the unit above. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Maui. Please contact us if we can be of service to you.
Mahalo Nui Loa, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We just returned from 10 days in Maui, our first family vacation and we enjoyed the condo very much. This was our first time away with our 10.5 month old baby and the amenities of the condo made it very comfortable. This was also our first rental direct from the owner, through vrbo, and everything went smoothly.

The condo is not on the beach but like all of the good condo complexes in Kihei it is just across S. Kihei Rd. The Maui Kamaole complex is one of the last complexes on the strip before you head into Weilea, so you have a lot of privacy but you are still close to many great beaches. We enjoyed Kamaole III a lot as it has a large grass area and picnic tables. The condo has all the beach equipement you need, including snorkeling gear.

The newly remodeled kitchen is great. Everything in the unit was clean. The patio over looking the Kihei Boat launch is ideal for morning coffee and sunset drinks. The condo has a small stereo unit that you can plug your iPod into so be sure to bring your cable.

The bedroom is spacious with plenty of room to unpack your bags. We had the baby playpen in there as well and still had ample room. The bed is soft and comfortable. The ensuite is set-up with a vanity outside the shower, which makes getting ready easier for multiple people. There is another separate powder room in the living area which also has a shower.

The complex has two pools - the "heated" one is just up the drive way from the unit next to the Registration / Information desk. It didn't feel any different from the non-heated pool. The second pool is a little deeper into the complex and has a nice rock / waterfall feature. Both offer lots of chairs and shade if required. We liked to use the pools in the afternoon when the wind picked up down at the beach. Remember to check-in at registration to get your parking pass.

The air conditioning unit in the living room did not work too well which did not bother us too much, as we preferred to have the sliding doors open to allow the ocean breeze to flow through the house. If you open the door in the bedroom at the same time, the breeze travels nicely through the unit. We passed this info to the owner and she is going to air conditioning unit looked at. The air conditioning unit in the bedroom works great and we did use this one to cool the room down before going to sleep.

All-in-all, the unit was as expected. Very comfortable with good amenities. Close to beaches and short walk / drive to restaurants and shopping. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Maui Kamaole, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your great detailed review of Maui Kamaole. Although you did not stay at one of the condos we manage at the complex, we appreciate your kind review and the note that you would stay here again on a future trip.

Mahalo and happy travels,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This condo was close to one of the pools which was fine with us. The condo had all the amenities that we needed. It was clean, spacious, had ac units in 3 of the rooms, utensils, beach towels, snorkel gear, all the appliances of your home. We liked the condo and the area. We did find that we kept driving to lahaina to do a lot of the tours. This area is for those that just want to hang out- if your more active you may want to stay in Lahaina.
This was a great condo and we did have ouu 7 month old with us. It suited us just fine but like I said we did drive alot to lahaina which is a short 20 minute drive..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank diamondgirllazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Maui Kamaole, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for your review of the Maui Kamaole. I am not sure if you book through us, but we a rental management company and we rent out units at the Maui Kamaole. I am glad to hear that you had a great experience at this condo and that it was clean and well equipped. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Maui. Please contact us if we can be of service to you.
Mahalo Nui Loa, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
23.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#6 of 62 in Kihei
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 62 in Kihei
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#2 of 62 in Kihei
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Kamaole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kamaole

Property: Maui Kamaole
Address: 2777 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9637
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kamaole 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct from the owner and Enjoy Luxury Vacation rental with a Wailea feel and Kihei pricing directly across from Kamaole III Beach. Our Maui Kamaole B114 is a large 1-bedroom, 2- bath. This family friendly South Maui Condo resort boasts just 13 clusters of low-rise buildings on 23+ acres. We invite you to share our personal getaway in the tropical sunny setting of south Maui. Our newly decorated luxury condo at the Maui Kamaole condominium Resort, has been furnished to provide you with every necessity to ensure your comfort and relaxation. Whether your interests are golfing, snorkeling, shopping or just pure escape, our ideally located retreat will allow you to immerse yourself in all the beauty and splendor Maui Hawaii has to offer. Gorgeous, colorful, tropical grounds are the setting for this premier vacation condominium resort located in Kihei, South Maui less than 1/4 mile from Wailea. Because the Maui Kamaole is a low-density low-rise property spread over 23 acres, the atmosphere is relaxed and ocean views abound throughout the residence. Our luxury condo is situated directly across from the magnificent blue Pacific, and is a "stone's throw" to nearly every activity Maui has to offer. Across the road, a short stroll down the path from our condo is the world famous Kamaole III Beach. Within minutes you can be soaking up the warm Maui sun and snorkeling with exotic fish and turtles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Kamaole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kamaole Hotel Kihei
Maui Kamaole Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing