We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice condo in South Kihei”
Review of Kihei Akahi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kihei Akahi
Ranked #30 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Kihei Akahi is a nice condo conveniently located along the South Kihei Road, in front of a Kamaole Park beach II.

The studios/flats are rented through their owners.
But the Kihei Akahi team is in charge of the maintenance, the gardening and the security, and they do a very good job.

We spent 2 weeks in C-601, a nice little studio, on the top floor, facing the West. Therefore, the Ocean views and the sunsets were fantastic (see the uploaded photo).

The studio was furnished and decorated with taste, and with convenience in mind. It had everything we could expect.
-A well equiped kitchen
-A big fridge
-A filtered water dispenser
-An ice-cube dispenser
-A washing machine and a tumble dryer
-A hair dryer
-A large LCD TV, with cable connection, DVD player and a few DVD's
-An air-con
-A large balcony
-A parking space
And a few extras, like beach towels, boogie board ... etc...

The people at reception are friendly.
It was clean and everything was in working condition.
The road is around 100 meters from building C, which means unit C-601 is very quiet.
One point for people staying in building A: it is in front of the road, and it can be noisy.

We booked trough [--] (#134494). The owner made it easy for us to book, confirm and pay and it ended up being a good bargain for the area at low season.

We would stay there again if we had any plan to go to Maui again, and we would make sure we get the same studio.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reureu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Kihei Akahi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 308 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2007

WOW! What a wonderful place to stay: DG14. The condo, a 1 plus 1, is located on the bottom floor so you can go from your lanai across a beautifully manicured garden to the pool and the BBQ. The pool is enclosed by plants so you can't 'see' it from the lanai, also keeping the noise to a minimum. But, I loved that we felt like we had a huge yard all to ourselves. Oh, on the lanai is a table and chairs so you can eat outside and enjoy the pretty evenings.
The condo was just newly decorated and looks like a home, not a hotel. The art, on the walls, is very pretty. There is a comfortable pull-out-sofa in the living room that sleeps two easily. It has everything you could possibly need or want: a fully stocked kitchen, including toaster, coffee maker, microwave, glasses, dishes and plenty of flatware. There are board games, puzzles, sand toys for the kids, and a DVD player. Internet is available for a fee, I recommend the weekly rental, it is a better value. Don't forget to bring your laptop. There is a washer and dryer in the unit. The bedroom has a king size bed that feels new and is great for relaxing after a long day at the beach. Speaking of beaches, the best ones are across the street from the complex. Kamole 2 is right across the street, but my favorite is Kamole 3 which is just south of the complex about 1/4 mile. It has a grassy area with lots of trees and an easy access beach with great snorkeling. We felt perfectly safe leaving our lounge chairs, towels, and ice chest (all found in the condo) on the grass and going in the ocean. All our things were still there when we returned.

All in all I highly recommend this condo and would love to go back when I can afford the airfare. The condo is a great value and an incredible place. One last thing, don't forget to sign the guest book. The owners have a note in there requesting ideas and they do do what is asked. They have recommended some great places to eat and visit, as have the other guests that have stayed there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank whaleloveralways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

There were cockroaches in the unit. We noticed them the first evening of our stay. When we reported this to Resortquest, they gave us 2 little roach traps and told us they had no other rooms to move us to. No apologies, no discounts, nothing.

There are dozens of other properties in the area - avoid this one.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank annabrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

We just returned from a 10 day stay at Kihei Akahi, building D, first floor. Great location, nice grounds and definitely economical but we were not too impressed with the level of cleanliness. All the linen smelled like it had been put back wet in the cupboard and we had to rewash it all. The bathroom tile hadn't been properly cleaned and there was mildew on the tiles. The plumbing in the shower and sink area was old and leaked. The bathroom sink drain was clogged with hair and and the garburator had plastic garbage stuck inside. The walls were filthy with food on the walls behind the kitchen table. Written condo rules stated that there would be a charge for extra housekeeping!

Not impressed with management company who handled our complaints - they consistently told us it was our fault for not asking for a different unit/complaining more!

We will likely try vrbo next time, use another management company or stay at the Maui Banyan next door.

My sister stayed at a vrbo rental at Ekolu at the same time and it was great!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank mauilover65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

This is very old and need update. We stayed in the C bldg and there was no A/C in the room plus the unit was really old and need update from the molded bathroom and nasty dirty stained on carpet. We talked to travelocity and the management there but there was no help except pay extra money and move to different place that will have A/C. We felt like had already cost us a lot of money thru travelocty...should not have to pay more.. Very disappointed.
Will never book thru Travelocity again and will never go back to stay at Kihei Akahi again and probably will not go back to Maui again. Very expensive with ugly reefs all destroyed...very disappointing for divers. Much cheaper to go Florida or Mexico with much nicer reefs and all A/C hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChillOutanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Arrived in Maui for our WEDDING. I had called in advance for air conditioning and mentioned OUR WEDDING DAY/NIGHT would be spent there- we got a ghetto 1st floor unit that was infested with bugs.(roaches). This was unit D208 <- this unit should NOT EVEN be rented out~~~ OMG. it was like [-] galore. My mother was staying in a different building. UNIT C507 (OH MY GOD what a palace. If you can request this room - it is awesome). White rugs and a great view of the ocean sunset!!!! I was so jealous of her room. This was the third room the put her in after many complaints. My fiance and I spent our first morning on Maui going from Room to Room to Room. We settled on C407 (not bad- but my mothers was better). AMAZING how each unit was night and day. The front desk can not help you, you have to go next door to compain and get new keys. In total my family saw 7 units before we could rest our heads at night knowing that there wouldnt be roaches to greet us in the morning.
I would return ONLY if I had the room my mother had UNIT C507. My husbands family stayed in a very kid friendly unit where his parents were given a room with two twin beds- be sure to specify!!! *even that wont always work cause I specified A/C and wasnt give it! Do settle for anything less - there are available units if you complain. I was even able to get our first night refunded because we didnt even use the room.
The location of the development is great. You are right next door to Fred's~ a great mexican restaurant that serves a mean breakfast!~~ Take advantage of the great beach that is a walk across the road, and the many shops and restaurants in walking distance~!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rsholtby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

We walked in our basement condo and walked out. We called the phone # on the key and asked for another place, so we went to Maui Vista. So much better there!! upgraded condo with AC and on the third floor so you get some mountain views w/breezes. We did not book a trip to Maui to stay in the basement of a bldg. this was our first time getting a condo instead of a hotel or resort to save $.

Stayed: May 2007
4  Thank jlblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.4 mi away
Hale Kamaole
Hale Kamaole
#25 of 62 in Kihei
191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#18 of 62 in Kihei
947 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#6 of 62 in Kihei
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kihei Kai Nani
Kihei Kai Nani
#47 of 62 in Kihei
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Akahi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Akahi

Address: 2531 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8637
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $157 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kihei Akahi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across from Kamaole Beach Park II, this condominium complex is 1 mile from Wailea Golf Club's Blue Course, 2 miles from the Shops at Wailea, and 10 miles from the Maui Ocean Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kihei Akahi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Akahi Hotel Kihei
Kihei Akahi Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing