We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kihei Akahi is a great place to stay”
Review of Kihei Akahi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kihei Akahi
Ranked #28 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Kihei Akahi is a great place to stay”
Reviewed April 4, 2006

We booked the Akahi as it is an affordable place to stay and the ratings on tripadvisor tended to be favourable. We knew staying in a condo would be a gamble but it definitely was one that paid off as our condo, Building D Suite D04 was fabulous. It was immaculate. The owners had beach towels, beach mats, boogey boards, beach chairs etc. all available for use. Not to mention guidebooks, novels, playing cards etc. We loved it! Building D is quite far back from the main road and therefore a ways from the beach across the road but it only takes a couple of minutes walk. I should mention Kihei Akahi is convenient as it is close to Internet cafes (Internet was available in condo for a fee), restaurants, convenience store, boat launch (for snorkelling and diving), beach. The location is great for getting to other areas of the island too.

Overall, a great place to stay. Next time though we would probably stay somewhere right on the ocean if we could afford to. If we couldn't afford a place on the beach we would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Albernfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    94
    50
    27
    25
See reviews for
82
123
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 18, 2006

We stayed in C-211 Feb 27-March 14, 2006 - it was perfect! No complaints here. Location - excellent...pools/bbq's - clean as a whistle....our condo - had everything, clean, updated, sunset views, quiet (other than those "wake-you-up birds"!)...you're in paradise - what can I say! Makena beach is awesome (south about 15 minutes), Cafe Ole - yummy & reasonable...this condo complex is great for all ages. Have fun - Aloha!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2006

We rented a studio, D401. When you rent a condo it is a hit or miss proposition, depending on the individual owner of the unit, and unfortunately ours was a miss. The unit was clean but very shabby, with stained carpets, closet door hanging off the hinges, and formica peeling off the kitchen cupboards. The furniture looked like Pier One Imports, circa 1980. On top of that, we had not been warned that the building exterior was being repainted, and there was a lot of noise starting at 8:30 a.m. every day. But the location was great, and the outdoor facilities such as pool and barbecue grills were nicely maintained. I would only consider renting at this complex in the future if I could find out more in advance about the condition of the unit, and about any scheduled renovation work.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank voyageuse416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2006

Stayed in C building second floor for spring break 2005 with kids aged 12, 10, 7. Had a one bedroom, and made do with a foam mattress supplied by the condo rental for the smallest child. Parents got the sofa bed. Left it late to book, so had to search hard for a place. The unit we had was in decent shape and clean, but was stocked with garage sale stuff. Didn't bother us as a fork is a fork. We would stay there again as the location is excellent for being close to the fine beaches to the south, but I would look for a private rental rather than an agency - much less $$. As well, the amenities of the place were suitable for us. It is an older crowd, but as long as your kids are respectful in the pool, you'll have no problem. We were mostly trying out the beaches anyway. I would be leary of A unit as it is right on the main road. Nuff said about the place.

Now some tips or the island. We went around both islands by rental car. Well worth it, but long days. You should be comfortable on a narrow one lane mountain (steep) road if you are going to go along the north side of North Maui, or down the east side of South Maui. You may also have to back up on such a road to let someone by. There are pullouts, but they are barely wide enough to let a car pass. Travel clock-wise for both - you will be going with the traffic flow. For South Maui, we were glad we went south from the Seven Sacred Pools rather than back on the Hana Highway. It was just as fast, hardly used, didn't make everyone as car sick, and the views were spectacular. Just check at the ranger station at Seven Sacred Pools to see if the road is open. If you can do it, try to stay a night in Hana. This would make the trip less of a marathon and give more time to see the sites. We couldn't do all the available sites. We did stop at the black sand beach in Hana for lunch. This was worth it.

Beaches: Hard to go wrong anywhere south of Kamaole II. The further south you go, the sooner the wind gets up. If you know what you are doing, and are headed that way, the boogie boarding looked awesome at Slaughterhouse beach on North Maui (we stopped here for lunch on our day around North Maui after shopping at the Lahaina Mall). All the kids got pretty good at boogie boarding on the south Kikei beaches. Good for beginners. Bought our boards at Wall Mart - check your unit though, a lot of them have boards.

Snorkelling: We walked into the snorkelling spot known as the Aquarium on La Perouse bay. About 45 min each way. Wear at least runners - the lava will cut you like glass if you stumble. Well worth it. Best snorkelling we were able to get to with kids who were beginners, and a nice hike as well. Go early to beat both any crowds and the wind. If I were going again, I would try some of the pools on the trail on the hike out to the Aquarium. Tried a snorkelling tour also, but the wind made them go to "Coral Gardens" - pretty lame there.

Volcano - well worth a trip up. Dress warm. We went up as the sunrise people were leaving and had the top to ourselves!

Food and shopping:
We stopped at Costco and Wall Mart on our way from the airport, then used a nearby Safeway for the rest of our two weeks. We only ate out twice - once at McDonald's on the way back from driving around South Maui, and once for a birthday. Go to the Farmer's Market to get fruit and vegetables (check the local paper or tourist info for times - was twice a week at the north end of Kihei when we were there). Try the pineapple salsa and the guacamole - stupendous.

Sun: Use a high level sun block and re-apply it often. Where a shirt when boogie boarding or the sand between your belly and the board will rub your skin off...

Enjoy the Lanai....

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
19 Thank Delltadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2005

We stayed on the second floor (c-210). Kids love going to the beach right across the street. We loved eating meals on the lanai and watching sunrises and sunsets. Nextime, we will book for two weeks.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank wjberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2005

We stayed in C518, privately owned. It was well supplied with everything needed and very clean. Great view of the sunset over the ocean from the balcony. Air conditioning and ceiling fans kept condo plenty cool when needed. Super convenient location, i.e. across the street from great beach, very near many fine restaurants and shaved ice shack (a must have while on Maui). Have the scoop of ice cream plus the coconut cream on top with your flavor/s of choice. While in Kihei be sure to visit Pupus Seafood Lounge & Grill and share the Pupus Platter for two, Pita Paradise and share the baklava ice cream cake, and Bada Bings and share a pizza. All of the aforementioned are in the Kalama Shopping Village within walking distance of the Kihei Akahi. Hit the Cinnamon Roll Fair very near the Kihie Akahi under Denny's for great gooey treat. Also, visit Peggy Sue's for fantastic shakes and good burgers/sandwiches in the Azeka Shopping Mall two miles from Kihei Akahi. Finally, you "must have" the book Maui Revealed to help plan your Maui visit. We purchased ours through overstock at a very reduced price & a free shipping offer.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary , Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2005

I was lucky enough to be the first visitor in DGO1 owned by a wonderful gal.She had a lovely gift basket set up for me and recommended some great restaurants and surfing company for lessons and even helped me find some great art. It was an extremely clean,safe and private place which was very important to me as I was a solo traveller. Having some of the best beaches in Maui just a short stroll across the road was awesome. Great coffee shop and restaurants all within a block. If you are looking for just one or two people on a budget (ie huge kitchen to cook, washer and dryer in suite,shower pressure good)and want to enjoy the entire island of Maui outdoors vs spending entire trip in a touristy resort hotel, this is a perfect home base. I also stayed upcountry for half of my stay (also lovely) but my next trip I'll definately stay the whole time in DGO1!

Helpful?
9 Thank Qidjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
3.1 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#13 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kihei Kai Nani
Kihei Kai Nani
#49 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Hale Kamaole
Hale Kamaole
#26 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#12 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Akahi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Akahi

Property: Kihei Akahi
Address: 2531 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8637
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Akahi 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across from Kamaole Beach Park II, this condominium complex is 1 mile from Wailea Golf Club's Blue Course, 2 miles from the Shops at Wailea, and 10 miles from the Maui Ocean Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kihei Akahi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Akahi Hotel Kihei
Kihei Akahi Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing