We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kihei Akahi
Nearby Hotels
Kamaole Sands(Kihei)(Great Value!)
$213
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$335
$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana Kai Maui(Kihei)
$570
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$294
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveler rating
118
102
53
30
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
102
53
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuilding cbeach chairsthe kitchenacross the streetwasher and dryerappliances worked wellliving roomkam ii beachwalking distanceboogie boardsocean viewthe security guardair conditioningparking spotparking passrice cookerparticular unit
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 330 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We love the resort and have stayed here MANY times. We rented this 2 bedroom and were very disappointed! There is dirty,stained shag carpet through out and one bathroom was disgusting with holes drilled in the bottom of the tub, hidden by a bathmat. Under the rubber mat was some disgusting black stuff that looked suspiciously like mold. The kitchen was updated & well equiped but little else has been done. Couldn't get the oven to work consistently and placed a service call; it should be replaced. There were holes in the sheets in the master bedroom, pillows are pancakes and tile in the bathroom was cracked and looked mildewed. Kitchen and living room furniture is very tired and worn out.We don't care if accomodations are dated, but this one is in serious need of remediation and the black stuff in the bathroom left us with health concerns. Be prepared to be very quiet as someone complained about our laughter on the lanai @ 9:30! Internet was additional $15 per day; would not rent again for this reason alone!

Room Tip: View in D building is great, but be careful to obtain pictures for any unit and inquire about renovations as there are some very dated, worn out units with beds that can not be slept in. WIFI is in the complex but it is up to the owner if it is included so if this is important, confirm if there are additional $.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Aloha,
I am glad to hear that you are frequent guest to Kihei Akahi and love the property. I agree it is a great place. I am sorry you did not enjoy your particular two bedroom condo. We take your comments very seriously. We have coordinated a convenient time with the guests that are currently in the condo to have the carpets cleaned throughout. The owners are also planning to renovate both bathrooms by the end of May at the latest. Our housekeeping staff is also checking the sheets and pillows to assure everything is up to par. Lastly, we have sent your comments on to the owner so they can review purchasing new furniture.
We hope you continue to return to the Kihei Akahi in the future.
Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed from Feb 8th until Feb 25th , 2013 in this wonderful unit. Renovations to the condo are recent and well maintained. We never had to run the air conditioning as opening the door to the lanai allowed for the cooler tradewinds to come through. The quiet time from 10pm to 8am (?) was never an issue as we were always too tired from sun and touring Maui for the day. The island birds will however wake you up every morning at first light - unless you are a sound sleeper. We didnt see alot of younger children in this complex but there are 2 pool areas as well as 2 bbq areas for use. It's also only a 2 min walk to Kam Beach II. Fred's Mexican restaurant and Moose McGillacuddy's are also right there for those days when you don't feel like cooking. Spending time in Maui was that much better coming back to this gem of a condo unit every day. Thanks Kathy at Mauivision!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have stayed at Kihei Akahi 7 separate times, in all 4 buildings and in 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and studio units and they have all had more redeeming qualities than problems. The studio units are spacious with lots of kitchen space. C601 has the best view of the whole complex and is newly renovated. The 2 bedroom units have either 2 or 1.5 baths.
Most suitable for us is the 1 bedroom units and this year we secured C603 which is the top floor. The view to the ocean is very good with some swaying palm branches blocking a perfect view but also providing shade for the afternoon. The view to the mountains is perfect for seeing the morning sunrise.
C603 was very clean and well equipted. Unfortunately, BBQ tools were missing but we managed. Tile floors make this unit very easy to keep clean and the all tile bathroom is great too. The bed and linens were great. A huge bonus is the security screen door and the keyless entry! Would definately stay here again (matter of fact have already booked). Reminder to renters-do not hesitate to contact the rental company or owner when you arrive if things are not acceptable- in our experience they will generally make things right!

Room Tip: Ground floor is great for access to outdoors, pool, parking and BBQ but generally you will be reluctant to leave doors and windows open. This is not a problem on upper floors and usually once you head outside you are going somewhere. A small hike to the BBQ is ok.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank murphyBcCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in D416 for 2 weeks. Wouldn't stay in this unit again. The mattress, sheets and towels were good but that was it! The duvet was lumpy and REAL old, as are the easy chair cushions. The bed pillow was stained, the table top was gummy and stained (I had to scrub it down), the lamp shade was dirty, the washer/dryer and fridge have rust on them and one of the lanai chairs was badly discolored. The kitchen needs work too. The faucet base was grungy ,the dish rack was disgusting, the toaster doesn't pop up and burns everything even at the lowest setting, only 3 mugs (we had a couple over for coffee and I had to drink mine out of a glass), only 3 sandwich plates, 4 dinner plates but one is cracked down the middle. This unit is old and well worn. Needs some serious updating and replacing of stuff!! Real nice view of the volcano, another condo complex, a parking garage......

Room Tip: Don't choose this one until some money is spent on it!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Bogunia55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for your review of unit D416. We have had a couple long back-to-back stays in this unit for the past month and a half (current guest will be in the unit for about a month), so we have not had the necessary two free days open to schedule an intensive deep clean. We have blocked off this room after the current guests depart to thoroughly go through the unit and clean the carpets, lanai, faucets, fixtures, etc. We will also run through an inventory of all items in the condo to assure that there are ample plates, cups, silverware, towels, etc. We also passed on your review to the owner and they are reviewing new items to purchase for the condo so future guests can have a great time on Maui and at Kihei Akahi.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in unit D204 and couldn't have been happier with the condo. We really enjoyed having a full kitchen and in-room laundry. We could see the ocean from our lanai and even enjoyed the beautiful sunsets from it. There are two pools on the complex however we only used the one in front of our building, it would have been nice however if the pool had been heated as it was freezing all the time. One thing we did notice was that there was no else our age there (late 20's) in fact we did feel a little out of place at the pools so it would have been nice to see other couples closer to our age. The grounds and buildings were always extremely clean and well maintained. The complex was in the best possible location, it's right across from one of the best rated beaches in Kihei Kam Beach 2, and you can walk in minutes to tons of great restaurants, bars, and shops. We would definitely stay in this complex again!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Meeshelleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews