We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 night stay at Kihei Akahi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kihei Akahi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kihei Akahi
Ranked #26 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“10 night stay at Kihei Akahi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in unit D204 and couldn't have been happier with the condo. We really enjoyed having a full kitchen and in-room laundry. We could see the ocean from our lanai and even enjoyed the beautiful sunsets from it. There are two pools on the complex however we only used the one in front of our building, it would have been nice however if the pool had been heated as it was freezing all the time. One thing we did notice was that there was no else our age there (late 20's) in fact we did feel a little out of place at the pools so it would have been nice to see other couples closer to our age. The grounds and buildings were always extremely clean and well maintained. The complex was in the best possible location, it's right across from one of the best rated beaches in Kihei Kam Beach 2, and you can walk in minutes to tons of great restaurants, bars, and shops. We would definitely stay in this complex again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleandAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    92
    48
    27
    25
See reviews for
81
121
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seward, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent two nights at Kehei Akahi. The condo was nicely furnished, clean and easy to find. The location is perfect for a night o the town or a day at the beach. Highly recommended. Try to stay as far off the main road as possible for a more quiet evening

Room Tip: Three's Bar and grill has fantastic service, along with wonderful food. A bit pricy, but worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2louniks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed in D504 for 8 nights, would have taken more if available. Unit in great shape, lots of kitchen equipment, appliances above average brands. Easy access to beach, groceries and activities. The average age of clients here seems rather advanced, and we feel quite young while here but we thoroughly enjoy the quiet atmosphere. Were treated to a group of very noisy children in the pool below us one day but security soon put the brakes on that behavior. Saw one review that said this place wasn't kid friendly but if your kids don't know how to act in public then take them on a Disney cruise.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in D416 and as another reviewer mentioned, it was not clean. The floors were swept and it was tidy, but clean it was not. I will say that it is much cleaner upon our exit. The lanai furniture was filthy, note was. Bleach does wonders. I spent a good portion of this stay making it livable. It's the high season so didn't bother looking for another room. Would stay in the complex again, but never this room.
Oh by the way, don't forget to bring toilet paper, it is not supplied. We were directed by the front desk to go to Foodland and get some there.

Room Tip: Don't stay in D416.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cindy0297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of condo D416, which we manage. We take these complaints very seriously as we hire professional cleaning companies to clean the condos upon arrival and departure of each guest. Due to your comments we have now scheduled a “deep cleaning” of this condo to bleach bathrooms, scrub lanai furniture, wash windows, etc. , to assure future guests find this condo very comfortable.

I am not sure why you didn’t have any toilet paper in your condo, as all our condos come with a starter kit of three rolls of toilet paper.

We hope to see you again at the Kihei Akahi in the future.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in C-106 (reviewed negatively earlier), and couldn't have been happier with the cleanliness and amenities of the condo. We made use of the kitchen daily, the in-room laundry was a great plus for us, and we really enjoyed spending time enjoying the main floor lanai. Everything that we possibly could have needed was supplied, right down to the laundry soap from the main desk! The condo included a parking spot, as well as full access to the facilities of the complex. The check in process (which we ended up doing at 1am) was very easy and convenient, and the lock pad entry system was a great way to access the suite without having to worry about losing a key while at the beach. The location of the complex couldn't be better, across the street from the beach, and within a short walk to tons of restaurants, bars, and shops. Overall really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ride23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review of Kihei Akahi and unit C-106, which we manage. I am glad you found the condo to be very clean and had no problems checking in at 1 am through our 24-hour emergency phone line.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I searched high and low for a clean, budget friendly, hotel or condo with close beach access. I had almost given up when I stumbled upon Maui condo and car. I browsed through their selection of condos in Maui and found one that looked very promising. Unit c-405. The photos showed that it had been recently updated and looked very nice. Booking was very simple and straightforward. Once we got there we were in heaven! The condo was clean and the linens were high end. Granite countertops in the kitchen. There was even a patio with a view of the ocean. It was perfect!! There was a kitchen so we were able to prepare some of our own meals even. If we ever get a chance to go back to Maui we will definitely be staying here. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Kihei Akahi did have some redeeming qualities, so I'll start with those. 1) Great proximity to Kam II beach and a handful of shops and restaurants. 2) Rather than a key they have a code pad on the door and it was really convenient to not have to worry about a key or card, especially at the beach etc. 3) The gentleman in the office was friendly and easy to work with.
Otherwise, it was a pretty big disappointment. We booked through a third party and got a good price, but in the future I will gladly pay more to stay somewhere else. Not much in the way of a view except for a select few units.The pool areas were lacking - small, not very inviting, no hot tubs, underwhelming at best. We stayed in unit C-106. The screen door was broken which hardly made a great first impression, and we had to lift it up to close it without it catching the ground. Being on the first floor & with notices everywhere about locking your doors and window, it would have been nice to have a more reliable screen door. I would strongly recommend against a first floor unit - the bedrooms are right on the main walkway and because they almost all have slat windows there is no way to sound proof (or light proof, at least in our particular unit). Every day something new woke us up - conversations right outside, the walkway being swept, the watering system (sometime around 3am). It was SO NOISY. This particular unit wasn't filthy, but corners had obviously been cut with cleaning. I wish we had thought to run a load of dishes when we first got there - I can only assume that a prior guest had left the dishwasher dirty and the cleaning staff assumed it was clean. We pulled out dirty dish after dirty dish from the cupboards. The towels and linens have clearly been around awhile - one of the pillowcases had a massive tear in it, and some of the towels did too. Unless being near the beach is your ONLY concern, find another place to stay!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KristenLB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Mahalo for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the convenient location to the beach and nearby shops and restaurants. We usually hear positive reviews about this unit, but we have alerted the owners of your findings. We inspect all our condos regularly and did not see any concerns about the screen door during our last inspection a few months back. The owners will be staying in their condo in the next week and will examine the various issues you brought up, such as the screen door, pillow case, and towels to assure everything is perfect for future guests.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.3 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Kihei Kai Nani
Kihei Kai Nani
#50 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#9 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hale Kamaole
Hale Kamaole
#29 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Akahi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Akahi

Property: Kihei Akahi
Address: 2531 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8637
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kihei Akahi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across from Kamaole Beach Park II, this condominium complex is 1 mile from Wailea Golf Club's Blue Course, 2 miles from the Shops at Wailea, and 10 miles from the Maui Ocean Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kihei Akahi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Akahi Hotel Kihei
Kihei Akahi Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing