We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at C-318!!”
Review of Kihei Akahi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kihei Akahi
Ranked #29 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Me and my new wife could not have been happier with our stay at Nicole's condo (c-318) in the Kihei Akahi. Great communication from the owner and a great condo as well. The unit was newly renovated and very clean. We definitely made use of the BBQs and pool areas and have nothing but great things to say about the complex and the unit we stayed in.
There are so many different condo complexes and different units to choose from but this one is a sure thing!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Reagan1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 319 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in Room 416 in building D and rented from CRH (Condominium Rentals Hawaii). The room size wise was okay (studio) for the two of us. The kitchen had plenty of utensils for what we would be cooking (mostly breakfast), and it was nice to have a washer and dryer while on holidays. The negatives about the room was that is was scummy. You could tell it was cleaned since the last person stayed, sheets were clean, floor swept, etc. However there was a build up of grime and dust that had been there for awhile. For example, the light fixtures were covered with dirt and dust, the bathtub was really grimy, the phone, knobs on the washer/dryer etc, were all the same. It all had a layer of dirt build up over the years. Because of this we would not return to this particular room. The complex's location was pretty good, you just have to cross the street to be on Kamaole 2 beach.
My rating of two stars is based mainly on the cleanliness of the room as this is the most important thing to me when I'm on a holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank NewfAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for staying with Condominium Rentals Hawaii and Kihei Akahi. I am sorry that you found some of the light fixtures, bathtub, and knobs on the washer/dryer dusty. I am glad you brought this to our attention. I am not sure if you contacted our company while you were here, as we would have sent out a cleaning crew to resolve your issues, or moved you into another condo that fit your needs, so that your trip to Maui was unforgettable. Regardless, we will send out our cleaning team to inspect these elements in 416D and make sure they are addressed for future guests.

Mahalo,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Found one of the Kihei Apartments via vrbo.com. Stayed in Unit D503 in the Haleakala Building and will definitely be booking again.

The Kihei Akahi location is awesome for the low key Maui getaway couple. Fantastic local restaurants within walking distance, very quiet away from the street traffic, and you can walk across the street and enjoy an unobstructed Maui sunset whenever you want.

We had a view of the water as well and the owners were very accommodating.

Room Tip: The Haleakala building was great and definitely the higher up gives you a better view. Also if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rjl3045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for the great review of Kihei Akahi! Although we don’t manage this exact condo you found on VRBO, we are glad you enjoyed the complex’s location and views of the famous Maui sunsets!

Happy travels,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in room 205 in Building C which faced a nice garden and had a bit of an ocean view from the second floor balcony. The unit was updated with new appliances (SS) and the furniture was new and comfortable. The bedroom could use some updating but good enough. Windows are above the closet in the bedroom so you don't get a nice breeze coming through nor can you see anything outside from them but there is air conditioning in this unit if need be. A bit noisy in the mornings when people are leaving in their cars. Nice to have 2 pools for one's use and a BBQ area as well as a tennis court, but the nicest part was being right across the beach (Kamaole II) from this complex and next door to some fine restaurants like Froggy's Mexican Restaurant. Would stay here again. We stayed in April 2012.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KokobeanCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Mahalo for your kind words about Kihei Akahi and unit C205, which we manage. We agree the location is perfect for walking to both the beach and popular restaurants. We are glad you would stay in this condo again, and we hope to host you again in the future.

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We rented a condo in this complex from a friend of a co-worker (not through a vacation rentals website). It came with a parking spot, and was only a 30 minute drive from the airport.

Kihei is a great central location in Maui to explore the rest of the island. Unless you really want to stay in a hotel and dine out 3 meals a day, then renting a condo is the best thing to do. We shopped at Costco by the airport, bought all our food for the week. Since we were staying in a private condo, the kitchen was already stocked with all dry goods we would need. The condo was also stocked with beach towels, beach toys for kids, beach gear (umbrella, chairs, snorkeling equipment, etc.).

The condo is clean, modern, new, and located directly across the street from Kamaole Beach Park II. If we were to go back to Maui, we would definitely stay here again! The birds can get a little loud in the morning, but we never got sick of them. It definately added to the ambiance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank RosaRosaRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Aloha and Mahalo (Thank you) for your review. I am with Maui Condo and Home and we are a vacation rental company that rents units at Kihei Akahi. You did state that you rented through an owner and you had a great experience. Renting through a vacation rental company is beneficial because our 24/7 on-island representatives can help you with any concern that you may have. The Kihei Akahi is in a great location to beaches, restaurants and shops. We hope you will return to Maui and choose to stay at Kihei Akahi. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.
Mahalo, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our condo was perfect. It had lots of extra amenities like beach mats, condiments, etc. It was recently renovated and had a flat screen tv and comfy king sized bed. It is right across the street from a nice beach and walking distance from restaurants, shops and more.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HawaiiLove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Aloha and Mahalo (Thank you) for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had such a great experience at Kihei Akahi. This property is in a great location because Kamaole 2 beach is across the street and there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance. Many of the amenities you have mentioned are standard in most of our units. Our website has a list of all of the units that we manage along with photos and descriptions so you can choose a specific unit of your liking. We hope you will return to Maui and choose to stay at Kihei Akahi. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.
Mahalo, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed in Kihei Akahi 501 for a week. It's very spacious for a studio but has everything you could want inside the apartment, and a nice view of the ocean from the balcony. It was very tidy and an amazing price too, and was so clean even when we moved the bed it was clean underneath.

The Akahi complex is really great. It has two swimming pools, both big and very well maintained. The pool areas also have large outdoor and under cover BBQ and eating areas which were almost never used, except by us! The kids loved eating outside in the warm evenings and jumping in the pool when they got bored of us.

The complex is just a hop across the road from Kamaole II, which we believe is the best family beach on Maui. It's also right next to the quaint little Kihei shopping complex with some restaurants (including Denny's) and little local stores good for the odd thing.

Overall this is a great place to stay, it has everything on hand and is such a good price for the Kihei area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We would definitely stay in C501 again as it offers a really nice view of the ocean and is high enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeremyCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for the kind review of Kihei Akahi. We do not manage C501 but agree with you on all your points about beaches, central location, and fabulous grounds. Kihei Akahi really is located in the heart of Kihei!

Glad you enjoyed your stay and trip to Maui.

Aloha,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
0.8 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#4 of 60 in Kihei
543 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hale Kamaole
Hale Kamaole
#22 of 60 in Kihei
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#12 of 60 in Kihei
972 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Akahi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Akahi

Address: 2531 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8637
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $171 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Akahi 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across from Kamaole Beach Park II, this condominium complex is 1 mile from Wailea Golf Club's Blue Course, 2 miles from the Shops at Wailea, and 10 miles from the Maui Ocean Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kihei Akahi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Akahi Hotel Kihei
Kihei Akahi Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing