We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location!”
Review of Kihei Akahi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kihei Akahi
Ranked #28 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in room 205 in Building C which faced a nice garden and had a bit of an ocean view from the second floor balcony. The unit was updated with new appliances (SS) and the furniture was new and comfortable. The bedroom could use some updating but good enough. Windows are above the closet in the bedroom so you don't get a nice breeze coming through nor can you see anything outside from them but there is air conditioning in this unit if need be. A bit noisy in the mornings when people are leaving in their cars. Nice to have 2 pools for one's use and a BBQ area as well as a tennis court, but the nicest part was being right across the beach (Kamaole II) from this complex and next door to some fine restaurants like Froggy's Mexican Restaurant. Would stay here again. We stayed in April 2012.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KokobeanCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Mahalo for your kind words about Kihei Akahi and unit C205, which we manage. We agree the location is perfect for walking to both the beach and popular restaurants. We are glad you would stay in this condo again, and we hope to host you again in the future.

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 322 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We rented a condo in this complex from a friend of a co-worker (not through a vacation rentals website). It came with a parking spot, and was only a 30 minute drive from the airport.

Kihei is a great central location in Maui to explore the rest of the island. Unless you really want to stay in a hotel and dine out 3 meals a day, then renting a condo is the best thing to do. We shopped at Costco by the airport, bought all our food for the week. Since we were staying in a private condo, the kitchen was already stocked with all dry goods we would need. The condo was also stocked with beach towels, beach toys for kids, beach gear (umbrella, chairs, snorkeling equipment, etc.).

The condo is clean, modern, new, and located directly across the street from Kamaole Beach Park II. If we were to go back to Maui, we would definitely stay here again! The birds can get a little loud in the morning, but we never got sick of them. It definately added to the ambiance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank RosaRosaRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Aloha and Mahalo (Thank you) for your review. I am with Maui Condo and Home and we are a vacation rental company that rents units at Kihei Akahi. You did state that you rented through an owner and you had a great experience. Renting through a vacation rental company is beneficial because our 24/7 on-island representatives can help you with any concern that you may have. The Kihei Akahi is in a great location to beaches, restaurants and shops. We hope you will return to Maui and choose to stay at Kihei Akahi. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.
Mahalo, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our condo was perfect. It had lots of extra amenities like beach mats, condiments, etc. It was recently renovated and had a flat screen tv and comfy king sized bed. It is right across the street from a nice beach and walking distance from restaurants, shops and more.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HawaiiLove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Aloha and Mahalo (Thank you) for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had such a great experience at Kihei Akahi. This property is in a great location because Kamaole 2 beach is across the street and there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance. Many of the amenities you have mentioned are standard in most of our units. Our website has a list of all of the units that we manage along with photos and descriptions so you can choose a specific unit of your liking. We hope you will return to Maui and choose to stay at Kihei Akahi. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.
Mahalo, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed in Kihei Akahi 501 for a week. It's very spacious for a studio but has everything you could want inside the apartment, and a nice view of the ocean from the balcony. It was very tidy and an amazing price too, and was so clean even when we moved the bed it was clean underneath.

The Akahi complex is really great. It has two swimming pools, both big and very well maintained. The pool areas also have large outdoor and under cover BBQ and eating areas which were almost never used, except by us! The kids loved eating outside in the warm evenings and jumping in the pool when they got bored of us.

The complex is just a hop across the road from Kamaole II, which we believe is the best family beach on Maui. It's also right next to the quaint little Kihei shopping complex with some restaurants (including Denny's) and little local stores good for the odd thing.

Overall this is a great place to stay, it has everything on hand and is such a good price for the Kihei area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We would definitely stay in C501 again as it offers a really nice view of the ocean and is high enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeremyCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for the kind review of Kihei Akahi. We do not manage C501 but agree with you on all your points about beaches, central location, and fabulous grounds. Kihei Akahi really is located in the heart of Kihei!

Glad you enjoyed your stay and trip to Maui.

Aloha,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in D408 and absolutely loved it. It has been totally updated so everything is like brand new. The furnishings are gorgeous and anything that you could think that you needed is there. The condo owners made it very easy to rent and to get into the condo, as we arrived at midnight. It is not right on the beach, but is walking distance to 3 beautiful Kam beaches. We were closer to the beaches than some all-inclusives we have been on. The grounds, pools, and barbecues are kept in top notch conditions and we loved the location. It is walking distance to some great reataraunts and shopping areas. It was our first trip to Maui and as soon as we returned to Canada, we rebooked this unit for 2013.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albertansalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your great review of Kihei Akahi and the grounds. We agree that it is located in the heart of Kihei where you can walk to great beaches, popular restaurants, and other shopping options.
Glad to hear you will be coming back to Kihei Akahi again next year!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband returned yesterday from a week stay at Kihei Akahi. We stayed in C420. It is a studio condo, so it had a queen size bed, sofa bed, kitchen, bathroom, washer/dryer and lanai. My husband and I have never been to Hawaii and were looking to try many excursions. When looking for a place to stay in Hawaii we were looking for low cost but high value for our money. We found the condo on vrbo.com. It was a bit odd, in comparison to a hotel, in that we had to send a money order instead of paying over the internet. When we arrived we found the complex very easily and the beach across the street looked perfect! Our condo was very clean when we arrived and was in great condition. We had a mountain view, which for the two of us was completely okay. We rarely sat on the lanai other than to eat a quick breakfast a couple mornings. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we would have needed. The bathroom was very clean and updated. The only problem we had with the unit was that the washer is loud and the water in the shower does frequently change from hot to cold or vice versa. I do realize these issues are hard to manage in a condo. We will definetely recommend staying here to our family and friends. We did not use the pools at all, but did frequent many of the area beaches. Our rental had snorkel gear, boogie board, beach towels, beach mats, umbrella, and beach chairs that we could use, which was an awesome feature! Thanks so much for the great trip! Mahalo!

Room Tip: Go through www.vrbo.com so you can view photos of your condo and read reviews by others. Also, this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ktmatv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Aloha and Mahalo (Thank you) for your review. We are not the rental management company for this rental, but we do manage other units at Kihei Akahi. It is Not our policy to ask for a money order. This must have been because you were dealing with the owner directly from VRBO. This is not an industry standard and I would avoid doing such transactions in the future. I am very happy to hear that everything worked out fine and that you and your husband had a great vacation here on Maui. Kamaole Beach 2, across the street, is a great beach and it is great that the owner provided the beach gear. We hope you will return to Maui and choose to stay at Kihei Akahi. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.
Mahalo, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our second trip to Kihei, Akahi is located directly across the street from Kam beach 2 A perfect location Grounds to the resort in very nice shape kept clean and groomed
This where it stops. The room we were in c305 was very filthy. I had to go buy cleaners. The bathtub GROSS !! major scrubbing. Had to rewash all dishes being used most pot and frying pans totally worn out.. Cleaning the floor and mopping was also needed All cupboards , base boards -dirty dirty . After 2 days finally got the place semi cleaned. Every thing in the condo worked fine . I feel the owners of this unit is getting totally riped off of the condo fees. blinds also broken so no night time privacy I would stay here again only if they hired some one properly to the clean the units

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Aloha Rudi2go,
Thank you for the kind review of the property grounds and location. Your complaints about the room are understandable. The Kihei Akahi property has 240 privately owned condos that are either rented out through condo management companies or private owners. We do not manage unit C305, but I hope your experience with this particular owner and room quality does not sway you from returning to Kihei Akahi for a future trip. I can assure you the condos we manage are professionally cleaned before and after each guest arrives and we provide immediate assistance with any guest issues.

Allan
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
0.8 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#15 of 60 in Kihei
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maui Vista Resort
Maui Vista Resort
#26 of 60 in Kihei
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hale Kamaole
Hale Kamaole
#21 of 60 in Kihei
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maui Banyan Vacation Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Akahi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Akahi

Address: 2531 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8637
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $169 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Akahi 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across from Kamaole Beach Park II, this condominium complex is 1 mile from Wailea Golf Club's Blue Course, 2 miles from the Shops at Wailea, and 10 miles from the Maui Ocean Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kihei Akahi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Akahi Hotel Kihei
Kihei Akahi Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing