We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great gelato” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ono Gelato

Ono Gelato
Ranked #8 of 18 Dessert in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ONO GELATO HAWAII featuring THE MAUI SANDWICH SHACK ONO GELATO HAWAII IS BORN IN 2015 Ono Gelato Company was established in 2010 on the North shore of Maui, with the goal of creating traditional Italian gelato with an Island Flair. Upon the success of this location, Ono Gelato opened additional locations including the current Kihei location. As of June 2015 Nicol and James Bradley are the new owners of Ono Gelato in Kihei. Under this new ownership in Kihei, ONO GELATO HAWAII is born. Ono Gelato Hawaii still has the same goal: producing the finest and freshest traditional Italian gelato with fresh, natural, local and organic ingredients on the beautiful Island of Maui. Ono Gelato Hawaii is still located in the Azeka Market at 1280 South Kihei Road. Nicol and James are committed to upholding the fine quality and styling of gelato making in Kihei and in July 2015 they introduced The Maui Sandwich Shack. NOW Two Great Cafe's in One Location. ONO GELATO HAWAII featuring THE MAUI SANDWICH SHACK
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stopped here for a scoop and had a hard time deciding what flavor story have. My wife had the sorbet and I had the coffee and both were great. The place was clean and the server was very nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank albuquerquebigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    63
    19
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Glad we visited. It was a little hard to find, but worth it. I enjoyed it for the unique favors offered, not the mainstream you find on every corner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Was just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Gelato was good however atmosphere and and staff not so much.
Service was descent but very unfriendly for Hawaii. nearly every place we went we were always at least greeted with a smile and an Aloha....not here. Server seemed not happy we stopped in late on Sunday.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Remlec464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Three of us had good gelato offered with hospitality and warmth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Three of us had good gelato offered with hospitality and warmth. And our server over-filled the containers! Awesome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChutzpahFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Rating the Restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

OK so it's take away.

1 + 2.Name, Decor, ....average
3.Menu: A very good selection of two main desserts. 8/10
4. Service:Every time we went in they were very courteous and prompt to greet you. Samples were available too! 9/10
5. Presentation: They seemed to make sure that there sizes were consistent, and offered it in cones or a cup. 7/10
6. Freshness: Made daily, really, really good. 9/10
7. Flavor: Outstanding 8.5/10
8. Palate: No problem here, although the portions were filling. 8/10
9. Value: Not inexpensive , but most restaurants now are in the $7 - $9 range it seems. 5/10

TOTAL 7.8

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Britishcanadianeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ono Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing