We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum, well most of the flavours...”
Review of Ono Gelato

Ono Gelato
Ranked #9 of 20 Dessert in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: ONO GELATO HAWAII featuring THE MAUI SANDWICH SHACK ONO GELATO HAWAII IS BORN IN 2015 Ono Gelato Company was established in 2010 on the North shore of Maui, with the goal of creating traditional Italian gelato with an Island Flair. Upon the success of this location, Ono Gelato opened additional locations including the current Kihei location. As of June 2015 Nicol and James Bradley are the new owners of Ono Gelato in Kihei. Under this new ownership in Kihei, ONO GELATO HAWAII is born. Ono Gelato Hawaii still has the same goal: producing the finest and freshest traditional Italian gelato with fresh, natural, local and organic ingredients on the beautiful Island of Maui. Ono Gelato Hawaii is still located in the Azeka Market at 1280 South Kihei Road. Nicol and James are committed to upholding the fine quality and styling of gelato making in Kihei and in July 2015 they introduced The Maui Sandwich Shack. NOW Two Great Cafe's in One Location. ONO GELATO HAWAII featuring THE MAUI SANDWICH SHACK
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yum, well most of the flavours...”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I went here as another reviewer mentioned, to cool off. They have many flavours and it always tastes very fresh. I had lilikoi (REALLY good) and another tropical flavour and my husband had a flavour that was supposed to be mixed with peach but tasted more like orange peel (not a fan). They do let you sample first to see if you like it and I suggest you do that because my husband was very disappointed although I was very happy. Will return here on future trips.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meldufski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    74
    25
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, Ca
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Ono”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Kihei can get hot - even in December! As an alternative to jumping in the water, Ono Gelato is a great way to cool down.

Its located on Kihei Road in Azeka Plaza (post office and Ace Hardware), right next to Taco Bell.

They have a nice selection of gelato and other goodies - so many that we had a hard time making a choice! Kids and I shared and it was all delicious!

Interior is bright and the staff is very friendly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You had me at peanut butter ice cream.”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Was hankering for some ice cream after our lunch at Coconuts and thanks to a quick google search, found Ono Gelato across the street. Didn't even have to sample the Sandy Beach (peanut butter, graham cracker, coconut candy) - just heard the description and went for it. Wife got the Coffee, Mac nut, chocolate flavor. Good consistency with nice balance of complimentary flavors.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cyclopseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place with pretty good Gelato.”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Went to the Kihei location.
Very nice personable employees there.
They encourage you to try the flavors before you pick.

They also have fat free "Gelato" which is a little better than italian ice.
Regular Gelato was just very good. Maybe jaded from having it in NY and Italy.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOEJAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“10 lbs.later”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We actually went to the Ono Gelato in Kihei several times in 2 weeks. Every time we'd try a different smoothie or waffle cone. So many different flavors to choose from we had to keep going back! My husband's favorites were seamist and lilikoi. My son loved the blood orange and raspberry. My favorites were coconut and macadamia nut. Better pre- diet for next vacation.Expensive like most of Hawaii.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ono Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Ono Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing