We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gelato and waffles!”
Review of Maui Gelato

Maui Gelato
Ranked #6 of 20 Dessert in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic gelato and waffles!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We just ate there and waffles were some of the best my husband has ever had! I had to have the gelato! They have non dairy as well and it's amazing. Owner makes gelato all herself! Definitely worth eating here again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klfnjhrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    42
    21
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wish we'd found this on day one instead of our last day!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

we tasted 6 flavours of ice cream and gelato between the three of us in our generous two-scoop cones, and all were wonderful. super-citrus-y lemon, a coconut melange, peanut butter cup, etc - wonderful taste and texture. bonus - there are nice tables out front, where we sat to enjoy our treats. i wish we'd found this shop (a short walk from our condo!) on our first day instead of our last day.

we had a couple of their soft pretzels and they were warm and perfect. we tried a "mochi" too, that wasn't a hit with our family. i sure wish we'd had time to go for the waffle breakfast! staff were friendly and efficient. you should go!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Gelato, and Wonderful Waffles”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Visited Maui Gelato several times during our stay either for a Gelato treat in the evening, or wonderful waffles in the morning with fresh fruit, whipping cream, and coconut syrup as a choice over maple syrup. You must try it...it's light and delicious. Shannon, who we think was the owner, was there everytime we visited, and was as friendly as the food was good. A definite place to try.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank treberb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not just a gelato shop”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Wish they could change their name but then what would you call it?? Ice Cream shop? Belgian Waffle shop? Soft pretzel shop? Since the new owners took over in December, they have brought life to this little shop. It is clean, cheerful and family friendly. There is a chalk board in the back of the shop where visitors have written their messages. You can eat in the shop or outside where they have tables and chairs. They are open at 8 am and stay late at night. When they are cooking the waffles for the ice cream and gelato cones, and the Belgian waffles and the pretzels at the same time you can't get out of there without at least two items. I had the Belgian waffle for brunch with the sliced bananas and some of the Rosalani banana mac nut ice cream....Unbelievably delightful. Reasonably priced for the value. These folks don't skimp on portions.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Maui Gelato - nice place with friendly people”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Maui Gelato was a short walk from our condo down Kihei road so we knew we wanted to go there after we checked in. They had a good selection with enticing options. I opted for the Hawaiian Breeze and Likikoi (passion fruit). Loved it. Pricey though! But no more than other places on the island and portions were generous. Overall would recommend. Kids loved it too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecbatana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing