We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird Location--Good Shave Ice”

Surfing Monkey Shave Ice
Ranked #10 of 20 Dessert in Kihei
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Description: Located right next to FoodlandShave Ice Flavors:Wild Cherry * Pineapple * Tigers Blood * Blue Rasberry * Coconut * Root BeerStrawberry * Mango * Pink Bubble Gum * Banana * Guava * Blue VanillaGrape * Passionfruit * Malona * Lemon Lime * Pina Colada * Lychee * Watermelon * Li Hing Mui Small $4.00Large $6.00All syrups are made locally using raw sugar canefreeEXTRAS:Vanilla Ice Cream * Azuki Beans * Sweet Cream * Li Hing Powder * Chocolate Syrup
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
137 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Weird Location--Good Shave Ice”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Surfing Monkey is located in a busy shopping plaza. Surprisingly, they have good shave ice with syrup made from real sugar. Worth the effort!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CincyTravelBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    18
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“kids loved it but us adults weren't impressed”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I guess if you like sugar and color you'll like shaved ice, but it was not my cup of tea. I would have preferred a cup of tea. very sweet and artificial tasting.
the kids of course love it!
the place itself was nice and clean with nice outdoor seating, although full, and after waiting for a while we gave up and walked to the beach to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So good...”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Never having had this before I thought it would be like a sno-cone but this is so much better. They put a bit of ice cream on the bottom but the shaved ice is light and fluffy. We will go back every night we are here.

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Decided to try Surfing Monkey because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor. Was not disappointed! The owner was very friendly as well, even gave us dinner suggestions. Went back a few times during our stay. Delicious! Thank you!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tofi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Monsterous”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you finish the whole thing you will probably be lying down with a belly ache. Great treat for those hot days

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Xtremejms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfing Monkey Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Surfing Monkey Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing