We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so yummy!”

Surfing Monkey Shave Ice
Ranked #11 of 20 Dessert in Kihei
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Description: Located right next to FoodlandShave Ice Flavors:Wild Cherry * Pineapple * Tigers Blood * Blue Rasberry * Coconut * Root BeerStrawberry * Mango * Pink Bubble Gum * Banana * Guava * Blue VanillaGrape * Passionfruit * Malona * Lemon Lime * Pina Colada * Lychee * Watermelon * Li Hing Mui Small $4.00Large $6.00All syrups are made locally using raw sugar canefreeEXTRAS:Vanilla Ice Cream * Azuki Beans * Sweet Cream * Li Hing Powder * Chocolate Syrup
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“so yummy!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Tucked away in a strip mall, very unassuming but soooooo good.
I highly suggest their featured flavor combos--- otherwise it could take you all day to make a decision

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    18
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best shave ice we tried! Love the ice cream and gummy worms!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Our 5 year old became a shave ice conasour and he swears this is the best shave ice ever!! :) decent price and great location too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best cold treat on a hot day...”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Surfing Monkey uses locally grown sugar cane in their syrups, for a scrumptious naturally sweet flavour & extras like ice cream or chocolate are free!

The island search for the best shave ice stopped here! Easy to find & located near the Kihei police station, the area is really safe. Paul & Nancy are super friendly hosts, who really seem to enjoy what they do.

Fave combinations? Grape/Root Beer and Strawberry/Blue Raspberry/Grape... yummm...

Miss Surfing Monkey almost as much as the 37° weather!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank applbttmcomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Shave Ice and Friendly Owner”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Surfing monkey Shave Ice has some of the best shave ice I've ever had. The syrups are all made with real cane sugar and there are a wide variety of flavors. A small is only $4, and is huge — can't imagine eating a large!

The owner is an extremely friendly guy. As we sat and ate our shave ice, we asked him for dinner suggestions... He suggested Coconuts down the street, which was great.

We'll definitely go back for more, this trip and in the future!

Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious shave ice in Kihei”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were staying in Wailea and everyday after the beach, we would stop by Surfing Monkey Shave Ice. Paul, the owner was very nice and we enjoyed chatting with him each day. The key to great shave ice is the syrups and theirs are delicious. We tried a number of flavors, including wild cherry, passion fruit, lemon-lime, blueberry and coconut, root beer, lee hing mui and strawberry. All were really good. The place is actually better than the famous Matumoto's Shave Ice on Oahu! Plus, every fifth shave ice is free!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azdodgerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfing Monkey Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Surfing Monkey Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing